Plate Tectonics

What are the different types of volcanoes?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2015-01-26 17:17:42

Volcanoes are grouped into four types: cinder cones, composite

volcanoes, shield volcanoes and lava volcanoes. They are:

Cinder Cones: They are circular or oval cones made up of small

fragments of lava from a single vent. They have been blown into the

air, cooled, and fallen around the vent.

Composite: They are steel-sides and composed of many layers of

volcanic rocks. Mt. Rainier and Mount St. Helens are examples of

this type of volcano.

Shield: Shaped like a bowl or shield in the middle, they have

long gentle slopes made of basaltic lava flows. The volcanoes that

formed the basalt of the Columbia Plateau were shield


Lava Volcanoes: Deep sided mound formed by lava that is too

thick to flow. The lava piles up near the vent.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.