What can you eat during Passover?
Sugar, Nuts and Lamb are 3 things Jews Eat.
Anything that doesn't contain leavening. This includes fruits, vegetables, fish, meats, and more. Processed foods, of any type, should be labeled as kosher for Passover.
It depends. If you are Ashkenaz, then you can't eat popcorn on Passover (Ashkenazim don't eat legumes on passover, and corn is a legume). If you are of a Sefard (who do eat legumes on Passover) origin, then you technically can eat popcorn on Passover, but it must have a reliable kosher for Passover certification. Correction: Corn is not a legume. The reason that corn isn't eaten during Passover is because of a naming error…
You can eat meat on Passover - as long as you don't roast it. If it's not at the Seder, you can even roast it! _________ Most people who eat meat tend to eat more meat than usual during Passover. Three is no prohibition against roasting meat during Pesach (Passover) Also, during Shabbat and other holy days there is a tradition of eating at least 2 types of meat during the main meal.
Generally, most scones are not allowed to be eaten during Passover because they are typically made with regular flour or cake flour. However, if the scones were especially baked with only Kosher for Passover ingredients (like matzoh cake flour or coconut flour), a Jew may eat those scones during Passover.
The prohibition against rice is a stringency, not an actual Biblical law. It was adopted by Ashkenazim (European Jews), not by Sephardim. So, yes. Sephardi and Mizrahi Jews eat rice during Passover. Rice fall into the category of items called "kitniot", just like beans and lentils. While Ashkenazim do not eat kitniot during Passover, Sephardi and Mizrahi Jews do eat kitniot.
Only certain groups of Jews will eat lamb during Passover. Those who do eat lamb, do so because when the Temple stood, every family was supposed to slaughter a lamb as a sacrifice of thanks to HaShem at which point the lamb was roasted and eaten on the first day of Passover. The majority of Ashkenazi Jews will not eat lamb during Passover because we don't have the Temple. Most Sephardi and Mizrachi Jews will…
The special Jewish food for Passover is "Matza," unleavened bread baked carefully and within 18 minutes. Jews specifically do NOT eat "chametz" on Passover. Chametz is food that contains wheat that was allowed to rise, such as bread, pasta, etc. "Ashkenazi" Jews (Jews from Europe) also don't eat legumes (rice, corn, beans) on Passover. Other foods are permissible during Passover, but Jews, even many of those that do not keep Kosher during the rest of…