Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2011-12-27 23:29:25

The criteria used to distinguish between the Jovian and terrestrial planets are size, density, com­­posi­tion, and rate of rotation.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

Size, density, composition, and the rate of the rotation are used to place the planets in either Jovian or Terrestrial.

Earth us a terrestrial planet. Jovian planets are gas giants with no solid surface.

There are 7 main classification of Planets. They are classified into the following groups; * Inferior Planets * Superior Planets * Inner Planets * Outer Planets * Terrestial Planets, * Jovian Planets * Gas Giants

The planets jupiter, saturn, uranus and neptune are not terrestial planets because they are made of gas and they are called jovian/giant planets.

if your talking about the two groups of planets it would be the Jovian planets which are all of the gas giants (Jupiter, Saturn, and Uranus) and then the inner rocky planets which I'm pretty sure are classified as terrestial planets. (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.)

Jupiter is a Jovian planet. The word "Jovian" comes from "Jove," which is another name for Jupiter.

That's because they are beyond the asteroid belt which means they are already far from the sun, unlike the inner planets (also known as terrestial planets).

Pluto, for example, did not fall into the jovian planets catergory or the terrestial planets. it is also too small for a palnet, and too far from the sun.

The asteroid belt separates the two groups of planets.(Which are Terrestrial,rocky, and Jovian,gas.)

The gas giants ("Jovian planets") are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. Unlike the terrestrial planets, these planets:Are quite a bit largerConsist mainly of gasDon't have a surface on which you might standContain more hydrogen and helium, and less of the heavier elementsHave a lower density

No, Pluto is not Jovian.

Jovian means related to Jupiter. There was also a Roman emperor called Jovian.

Yes, it is a Jovian planet.

it is a Jovian planet. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are all Jovian, while Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars are terrestrial planets.

Jovian Planets do not have a solid surface to stand on.

Ganymede is the largest Jovian Moon.

Saturn is a Jovian planet.

The Jovian Planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.... Jovian means Made of Gas.

Neptune is Jovian because it is a gas planet.

Yes, all the Jovian planets have moons.

Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.