Flag of Australia

What do the five stars on the Australian flag stand for?

User Avatar
Wiki User
2011-09-16 07:44:58

There are actually six stars. Five of them form the

constellation of the Southern cross, which is seen only in the

southern hemisphere and south of latitude 30 degrees in the

northern hemisphere.

The other star with its seven points represents the six states

and all the territories (mainland and offshore) which make up the

Commonwealth of Australia.

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.