Asked in
Law & Legal Issues
Founding Fathers
American Revolution
Declaration of Independence

What future president was the main author of the Declaration of Independence?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 18, 2013 5:08AM

In 1776, Thomas Jefferson was one of the main authors of the Declaration.

Jefferson, who became the third president of the US (from 1801 to 1809), was the principal author of the famous document. He was a member of the five-man committee charged with preparing the declaration, along with Benjamin Franklin, Robert R. Livingston, Roger Sherman, and future president John Adams.