What is deemed kosher?

Updated: 10/6/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Best Answer

Religiously observant Jews will not eat any food that is not kosher. The core rules of kashrut (dietary laws) are:

* Land animals must have split hooves and chew their cud.

* Fish have to have scales and fins.

* Birds cannot be amongst those listed as forbidden in the Torah and cannot be hunters/scavengers

* Animals must be killed in a specific manner and must be free of all disease

* As much blood as possible must be removed from meat as consumption of blood is forbidden

* Dairy and meat cannot be combined in the same meal and there's a waiting period between eating one then the other.

* Orthodox Jews and some Conservative Jews will not eat certain fruits and vegetables because it's too difficult to guarantee that all bugs have been washed away (cauliflower, asparagus, and the like).

Additionally, food must be prepared and handled following kashrut. Any food that does not meet these requirements cannot be eaten by those who are religiously observant.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

It just means that the product in question is kosher but since Jews don't eat meat and dairy together they put a marking on the kosher symbol to indicate it's dairy

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Any food that is prepared according to the rules of kashrut. Kosher can also be applied to non-food items including clothing.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

'Kosher dairy' means that the food product in question is kosher and contains dairy or dairy byproducts.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is deemed kosher?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is monk fish deemed kosher food?


Are any preservatives prohibited for kosher foods?

Yes, there are food preservatives that are deemed non-kosher as they are derived from non-kosher animals or foods. Other preservatives may be deemed non-kosher if they are combined with certain foods, lactic acid being such an example. This is why it is especially important to check for valid hechshers on processed foods.

What is koshering?

"Kosher" refers to the dietary laws prescribed by the Torah (the first five books of the Jewish Bible, which contain the 613 commandments which the Jewish people are required to observe). Kosher foods are those foods which comply with those commandments. Kosher-certified foods are those foods which are certified kosher by a reliable kosher supervision agency or reliable rabbi.Kosher foods are those that conform to the regulations of the Jewish halakhic law framework. These rules form the main aspect of kashrut, Jewish dietary laws.A list of some Kosher foods are found in the book of leviticus. There are also certain Kosher rules which are found there.Reasons for food being non-kosher include the presence of ingredients derived from non-kosher animals or from kosher animals that were not properly slaughtered, a mixture of meat and milk, wine or Grape Juice (or their derivatives) produced without supervision, the use of produce from Israel that has not been tithed, or even the use of cooking utensils and machinery which had previously been used . In addition, foods deemed by the rabbis to be "fit for a kings table" must have their cooking supervised by a Jew in order to be kosher.

Why is a kosher sign needed on Israeli products?

The kosher sign is known as a hechsher stamp and is intended to show that the food marked with it is suitable for consumption by observant Jews. It's not needed, but you will see it on many Israeli products nevertheless. This is because the majority of foods originating in Israel will be marketed to Jewish people around the world, and many Jews eat only kosher or parve foods - kosher being those foods produced strictly according to the laws of kashrut and parve being those foods such as fruit and vegetables to which kosher laws do not apply. Palestinians in israel, many of whom are Muslim and will only eat halal food - halal being food approved by Islamic law - benefit from the kosher signs too, because any food deemed kosher is also halal.

When did God purify the unclean foods?

As far as I know, according to Kosher law God has not purified the unclean foods. I don't agree with any New Testament verses that God would purify anything He has deemed unclean.

Is soybean oil kosher?

It is kosher so long as it is certified kosher.

Are foxes kosher?

Fox meat is not kosher. See:More about what is and isn't kosher

Is tortellini kosher?

It needs to be cooked in a kosher vessel and have kosher ingredients. If purchased, it (or the bakery) should have kosher-certification.

Do you need to buy kosher cookbooks if you keep kosher?

Yes and no. There are many recipes that can be made kosher with kosher substitutes.

At one time I was told that during Passover Coke changes their ingredients Does anyone know anything about this?

Yes, during the passover season the Cokes labeled "kosher for passover" have different ingredients. The regular coke uses sugar rather than corn syrup and the diet coke uses a specific type of aspartame that has been deemed "kosher for passover"

Is deli the same of kosher food?

Delicatessen places serve kosher food. And if you are talking about 'deli' food, it is usually kosher. _______ Delis are only kosher if they're kosher certified. Most delis aren't kosher.

Can you kosher a non-kosher recipe?

Yes! You don't need a kosher cookbook. Just remove the non-kosher ingredients.