Best Answer

Non-ruminants are considered monogastrics because they have a simple stomach. They cannot regurgitate partly-digested matter and rechew it because it is not necessary; they do not have a large rumen nor are many such animals herbivorous (except hippos, rhinos, rabbits/hares and equines, for example). Almost all non-ruminant animals are omnivorous or carnivorous. Animals that are herbivorous and are non-ruminants have a functional cecum that is used to ferment the food that they have eaten once it passes through the stomach and small intestine. Such animals are called "hind-gut fermentors," and yet are still considered non-ruminants. Non-ruminants that are not hind-gut fermentors include all primates, canines, felines, bears, weasels, skunks, pigs, and a number of rodents.

Ruminants are animals which have a four-chambered stomach specially designed for digesting plant matter. No ruminant animals are carnivorous or omnivorous by nature because their stomachs are designed to digest coarse hard-to-break-down material being plants like grass, not protein, (which makes up meat) which is much easier to digest for the average animal, ruminant and non-ruminant alike. The names of the four chambers of a ruminant are called the Rumen, Reticulum, Omasum and Abomasum, each with a different "job," if you will, that is responsible for the complete digestion of coarse plant material. They regurgitate food--called "chewing the cud" The rumen acts tile a huge fermentation vat where additional essential amino acids and proteins are made by the bacteria in the rumen from the basic forages the animal has consumed. Ruminant animals are much more efficient in turning plant matter in to high-quality meat. Animals which are ruminants include all bovines, cervids (deer, moose, elk, etc,) goats, sheep, antelope, wildebeest and giraffes.

Camelids (camels, llamas and alpacas) do not fall into either categories because they do not have a four-chambered stomach, but are still fore-gut fermentors. They are not non-ruminants either because they are still capable of "chewing the cud" just like true ruminants are. These animals are called Pseudo-ruminants because they are, essentially "false ruminants" due to the fact that they lack the rumen, only having the reticulum, omasum and abomasum.
Ruminants have 4 stomachs - rumen, reticulum, omasum and abomasum. Non-ruminants just have 1. The main difference is that the 4 stomachs allow the organism to digest cellulose (grass).

correction- ruminants only have one stomach but they have 4 compartments....

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2017-09-26 08:01:38
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the difference between non-ruminant animals and ruminant animals?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is the similarity and different between ruminant and non ruminant in animals in digestion of protein?


What is the difference between non ruminant animals from ruminant animals?

Ruminants, such as cows, have a four chambered stomach. Non ruminants, such as pigs only have a single chambered stomach. Also, ruminants regurgitate their food and chew it again.

Differences between rumminant and non rumminant animals?

Ruminant animals are those that have hooved feet and four stomachs. Non-ruminant animals have feet or paws, and they do not have this number of stomachs.

What is the difference between a ruminant andthe monogastric digestive system in an aminal?


What are the similarities of ruminant and non-ruminant digestive system?

The similarities of a ruminant and a non-ruminant digestive system is that they all have only one stomach, and the same organs that make up the whole digestive system complex. The difference between a ruminant and a non-ruminant is that a ruminant has four chambers in that stomach and a non-ruminant has a simple stomach (one stomach comprising of one chamber).

What is the similarities between non-ruminant animals from ruminant animals?

They both have only one stomach, and primarily pertain to the differences in digestive systems between mammals, not avians, reptiles or amphibians. Ruminants have a four-chambered stomach, whereas non-ruminants have a simple stomach.

What is the difference between a monogastric and a ruminant?

A monogastric has one stomach eg horse or pig and a ruminant eg cow, sheep and goat, has four compartments to its stomach and chews its cud.

What is the difference between a ruminant and the monogastric digestive system?

A monogastric has only one stomach whereas with the ruminant its stomach is made up of four compartments - the rumen, reticulum, omasum and abomasum.

What is the difference between eukaryote and prokaryote and animals and plants?

What's the difference between eukaryote and prokaryote and animals and plants ?

What is difference between goat and ram?

A goat is ruminant and can be a kid, doe, buck or wether. A ram is an entire male adult sheep

What is the difference between amphibians and animals?

You cannot differentiate between animals and amphibians because amphibians ARE animals.

What is the primary difference between protozoans and animals?

The ONLY difference is that Protozoans are unicellular and animals multicellular

People also asked