History, Politics & Society
US Presidents

What is the first word in the presidential oath?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2008-09-25 17:44:16
2008-09-25 17:44:16

According to Article 2, Section 1, Clause 7 of the US Constitution, the first word is "I".


Related Questions

George Washington was sworn in for the first time in New York City,

what is trinidad and tobago presidental oath

Harry Truman in 1949 was the first to have his inauguration televised.

The presidential oath of the United States is in the original Constitution (Article 2, Section 1, Clause 8).

The first time the presidential oath of office was taken in January was at the beginning of Franklin D. Roosevelt's second term on January 20, 1937.

United States President Herbert Hoover took the Presidential Oath on March 4th, 1929 in the United States Capital. This oath was administered by William H. Taft.

Pierce took the oath on March 4, 1853.

No - the Presidential Oath is usually administered by the Chief Justice of the US.

Promise is another word for oath. Affirmation is another synonym for oath.

1963, immediately following the death of President Kennedy.

The first President to say the words "so help me God" as the end of his Presidential oath was President Chester A. Arthur in 1881. Each President since then has used those words.

The inaugural oath of office. Before the President-Elect takes the oath, he is not the President. After he takes the oath, he is President.

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court

The person that administers the presidential oath may be any judge as far as I know, but usually the person is the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States of America.

The oath to which President Kennedy referred in his inaugural address was the Presidential Oath of Office. It was administered just before his speech.

Presidential Oath of Office required to be sworn by every US President."I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of presidential of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect, and defend the constitution of the United States"

The Oath of Office was administered by the Chief Justice of the United States, John G. Roberts.

A 3 letter word for oath is "vow"

The presidential oath is given at approximately noon on Inauguration Day, January 20 of the year following the election in November.

Oath = shvu'á (שבועה) or néder (נדר)

Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.