The Bible

What is the order of the seven deadly sins?

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2011-06-17 13:43:11
The Seven Deadly Sins
  1. Lust
  2. Gluttony
  3. Greed
  4. Sloth
  5. Wrath
  6. Envy
  7. Pride

Note that these sins do not have an origin in The Bible. Although they are all condemned at one point or another, the list of seven deadly sins emerged as Christian tradition in the 4th through 6th centuries, and in 590AD, Pope Gregory solidified the order given above.

User Avatar

User Avatar
Answered 2020-05-16 05:27:35


User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

The seven deadly sins are not Methodist in origin.

The combinations of the words: "seven deadly sins" is not in the Bible.

The Magnificent Seven Deadly Sins was created in 1971.

The duration of The Magnificent Seven Deadly Sins is 1.78 hours.

The Seven Deadly Sins of Modern Times was created in 1993.

You cannot find the "seven deadly sins" listed as such in the Bible, the seven deadly sins are a catechetical formula of the early Church used to teach Catechumens who were getting ready for confession.

role of seven deadly sins in the play of doctor Faustus

I think the deadly sins should just be seven because there ain't no more to do bad to!

pride (although the idea of seven deadly sins is not Biblical - see related link)

Seven Deadly Sins - 2008 is rated/received certificates of: Australia:PG

Seven Deadly Sins - 2010 is rated/received certificates of: Australia:M

The Seven Deadly Sins - ballet chanté - was created in 1933.

The cast of The Seven Deadly Sins - 2002 includes: Maria Beatty

The cast of The Seven Deadly Sins - 2011 includes: Don King as himself

"seven deadly sins" in Chinese is "七宗罪" ( qī zōng zuì ).

Obviously they are not called deadly for nothing.

PrideVanityWrathGreed/ GluttonyEnvySlothLustRoman Catholic AnswerAlthough one can find each of the seven deadly sins mentioned in the Bible, at one point or another, the Bible does not contain a list of "the seven deadly sins" as such, it is a medieval catechetical formulation. The seven deadly sins, listed above, are "mother sins" so to speak. All other sins can be put into one of these categories.

There are seven deadly sins! Pride, covetousness, envy, gluttony, anger, sloth and, lust.

Disobedience to parents, lying, stealing.

There is not a direct comparison between the dwarves and the seven deadly sins. And considering there were 13 dwarves, it would be even more difficult.

Roman Catholic AnswerClassically, there have been seven deadly sins, not eight. They are known as the deadly sins as they are the root of all the others. They are: Pride,Greed,Lust,Anger,Gluttony,Envy,Sloth

Roman Catholic AnswerThe seven deadly sins, as we now have them, were drawn up by catechists in the early church (before the seventh century) to help people sort them out. The sins themselves are in opposition to the seven virtues, which are from God. God did not, and being All-Good, could not have made up the seven deadly sins.

apparently not, it is one of the seven deadly sins!

Envy is one of the seven deadly sins.

Copyright ยฉ 2021 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.