Best Answer

The code of chivalry was a type of honor for a knight.

there are 17 rules of chivalry

To fear god and protect the church

To serve the liege lord in valor and faith

To protect the weak and defensless

To give succour to widows and orphans

To refrain from the giving of offense

To live by honor and glory

To despise pecaniary award

To fight for the welfare of all

To obey those placed in authory

To guard the honor of fellow knights

To eschew unfairness, meanness and deceit

To keep faith

Always tell the truth

To respect the honor of women

Never refuse a challenge from an equal

Never turn the back on the foe

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar


1mo ago

The Code of Chivalry was a set of moral and social codes followed by knights during the medieval period. It emphasized qualities such as honor, loyalty, bravery, and courtesy. Its purpose was to guide the behavior of knights in their interactions with others, particularly in warfare, to promote a more civilized and honorable society.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What was the code of Chivalry and what was its purpose?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass