Yes, face down cards on the field count.
You would miss the timing to activate the card as the monster sent to the Graveyard must be last thing to happen. During a Tribute Summon, the monsters are sent to the Graveyard, but the last thing to happen is no monster being Tribute Summoned.
Yes. Face-down monsters can be tributed for tribute summons, card effects, etc.
Well from 9-12 yes, but level 4 or lower monsters don't require a tribute so unless stated on the card they cannot.
No, you cannot tribute a card from your hand in Yu-Gi-Oh! You must tribute monsters that are on your side of the field. The rules state that a tribute must be made from the monsters you control to summon a higher-level monster. However, you can use cards or effects that allow you to summon or manipulate cards from your hand indirectly.
You need to tribute one monster for the tribute summon of a Lv5 or 6 monster, and two tributes for any that are Lv7 or higher, even Lv10 ones like Yubel. Additionally, some monsters require three tributes (Obelisk the Tormentor, for example), but that is stated on the card, and it not related to the level.
The only time you can ever tribute something you do not control, is if a card specifically says so. Lava Golem lets you tribute the opponent's monsters, and Soul Exchange can let you do so too. However if there is no text like this, then the tribute must come from amongst monsters you control.
Yes, you can tribute monsters for card effects and Tribute Summon the same turn you summon a monster. However, you cannot Normal Summon a monster and Tribute Summon on the same turn because you can only Normal Summon once per turn. Cards such as Double Summon and Ultimate Offering will let you do that.
A Tribute Summon is the "Normal Summon" of Level 5 or higher monsters. To Normal Summon these cards, you must first Tribute monsters on your side of the field. To Tribute Summon a Level 5 or 6 monster, you must Tribute one monster. To Tribute Summon a Level 5-12 monster, you must Tribute two monsters.To Set a Level 5 or higher monster, you must still follow the same guidelines concerning Tributes as stated above.A Tribute Summon is treated as a Normal Summon (however, some monsters state specific ones, such as the Monarch series). Therefore, you can generally only Tribute Summon or Tribute Set once during each turn (it also counts towards your Normal Summon limit). It is also important to note that Tributing a monster is considered a Cost for a Tribute Summon or Tribute Set. Because it is a Cost, if the Tribute Summon is negated by a card effect, the Tributed monster does not return to the field.For more information regarding Tribute Summoning and Tribute Sets, click on the appropriate "Related Links" below.
A 'tribute' is when you send one monster from your side of the field to the graveyard, as a cost for a summon, or a card effect. For example, to Normal Summon a level 5 or 6 monster, you must tribute summon it by sending on of your monsters to the graveyard. Level 7+ monsters need two tributes, unless specified otherwise. Note that unless specifically said otherwise, a tribute can only be something you control, ie, on your side of the field. That normally means your own monsters, but if you took control of an opponent's monster, that can be tributed too. Some effects that let you tribute the opponent's monsters while on their side of the field, are Soul Exchange, and Lava Golem. Lastly, Ritual Summons require tribute too, but this time it's down to the levels of the tributed monsters. Monsters can be tributed from hand for this, they cannot come from hand for other kinds of tribute.
Obelisk the Tormentor (Effect Monster) is not Ritual Summoned nor does it require a ritual. To summon Obelisk the Tormentor, you must Tribute 3 monsters (it is treated as a Tribute Summon).
The effect of the legal version: You must Tribute 3 monsters to Normal Summon this card (you cannot Set this card). The Normal Summon of this card cannot be negated. When this card is Normal Summoned, cards and effects cannot be activated. This card cannot be targeted by Spells, Traps, Spell/Trap effects, or Effect Monster effects. If this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. You can Tribute 2 monsters to destroy all monsters your opponent controls. This card cannot declare an attack the turn this effect is activated.
Obelisk the Tormentor (Effect Monster)JUMP-EN037DIVINE/ Divine-Beast/Effect/10ATK/4000 DEF/4000You must Tribute 3 monsters you control to Normal Summon this card (you cannot Set this card). The Normal Summon of this card cannot be negated. When this card is Normal Summoned, Spells, Traps, and Effect Monster effects cannot be activated. This card cannot be targeted by the effects of Spells, Traps or Effect Monsters. If this card is Special Summoned, it is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase. You can Tribute 2 monsters to destroy all monsters your opponent controls. This card cannot declare an attack the turn this effect is activated.