Best Answer

Manitoba did not 'join' Confederation. On July 15, 1871, the North West Territories (a.k.a. Rupert's Land) was acquired by Canada from Britain. On the same date, the Province of Manitoba was created out of the North West Territories. British Columbia was the first province to 'join' Confederation, thereby becoming the sixth province. That was on July 20, 1871.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-12-18 04:24:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Who are the most important officials in the executive branch

What argument for keeping or eliminating the electoral college did you find most compelling

What is one major factor that can result in biased news stories

What are two common strategies that interest groups use to shape public policy

See all cards
20 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When the Province of Manitoba and British Columbia joined the confederation?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When did Manitoba and British Columbia join Confederation?

Manitoba joined Confederation July 15, 1870. British Columbia joined Confederation July 20, 1871.

When did Manitoba and British Columbia become a part of Canada?

Manitoba became a province of Canada in 1870. British Columbia followed in 1873.

Which is not a province in Canada british Columbia Ontario Edmonton or Manitoba?

Edmonton is not a province, it is the capital city of Alberta.

When did British Columbia become a province?

British Columbia joined the Confederation of Canada on July 20th, 1871. hey Taz.J

What was the 7 province to join confederation?

The seventh province to join confederation was British Columbia. There are 13 provinces that joined confederation; Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Northwest Territories, Brittish Columbia, Prince Edward Island, Yukon, Saskatchewan, Alberta, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut. I hope i helped you =D

When the provinces of Manitoba and BC Joined the Confederation?

The fifth province, Manitoba, was created out of the North-western Territory by the Government of Canada on July 15, 1870 (the same day that the North-western Territory was transferred from Britain to Canada). The colony of British Columbia joined Confederation on July 20, 1871, becoming the sixth province.

What was the sixth province to join confederation?

British Columbia, in 1871. Please see the link.

Where is British Columbia geographically located?

British Columbia is the sixth province to joind the Canadian confederation located in the most westernmost of Canada's provinces.

In which country is the province of British Columbia?

The province British Columbia is in Canada

In what year did BC join the Confederation?

British Columbia joined Confederation and became Canada's sixth province on July 20, 1871.

What Canadian province does Montana border?

It borders Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan Saskatchewan and Quebec border manitoba

What province almost left confederation when progress on the Canadian pacific railway slowed down?

British Columbia.

People also asked