Asked in

Where are the ribosomal subunits formed?


User Avatar
Wiki User
January 13, 2010 7:01PM

In eukaryotic cells, ribosomes have 2 subunits that are formed in the nucleus and then exit the nucleus to form the ribosome. These subunits are formed of 4 rRNA strands of which 3(5.8S,5S,28S) are produced in the nucleolus of the nucleus and 1(5S) is produced outside the nucleolus in the nucleus. The 2 subunits are formed before they exit the nucleus creating a small subunit(18s and 33proteins) and the large subunit (5S,5.8S,28S and 49proteins). These subunits exit the nucleus and when an mRNA is to be translated it attaches itself to the small subunit and the large subunit then locks into the small subunit like a cup and the process begins.