Asked in Taekwondo

Who is in the Official Tae Kwon Do Hall of Fame?


Wiki User

The official Tae Kwon Do Hall of Fame ® Ceremony held in East Rutherford, New Jersey USA on April 6th, 2007 was the most prestigious Taekwondo related event held in modern times. In addition to the greatest pioneer champions being inducted, Great Grandmaster Nam Tae Hi was also present and inducted into the Tae kwondo Hall of Fame along with Tae kwon-Do early pioneers GM Rhee KI Ha, GM CK Choi, GM Cho Sang Min, GM Kong Young II,and GM Kim Bok Man. Those pioneers were hand picked by General Choi Hong Hi to introduce Tae kwon-do to 127 countrties. Other Grandmasters that were inducted included Kim Pyung Soo, Jhoon Rhee,and Dong Keun Park, Korea's 6 time undefeated national champion. Pioneer champions Ramiro Guzman (Mexico), Mike Warren (USA), Allen Steen (USA),Alejandro Chacon (Costa Rica), Ray Nikiel (Canada), Jeff Smith USA) Joe Corley (USA), Mitchell Bobrow (USA) Chuck Stepan (USA), and others. Olympic Champions Nia Abdallah and Arlene Limas were inducted as well. USA's John Holloway received a lifetime Acheivement award. A highlight of the event was the induction of the first USA team which competed in the 1st World Taekwondo Championships in 1973 in Korea. The event was MCed by Joe Corley and Mitchell Bobrow who kept things moving smoothly. The historic event marks the first time that senior members of the World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) and International Taekwon-Do Federation (ITF) gathered to be honored together. Hoss Rafaty of the World Taekwondo Alliance and George Vitale played a key role in bringing members of both organizations together for the capacity crowd event.

To see the historic photos go to