History, Politics & Society
History of the United States
Political Office Holders

Who was the first Secretary of War?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2008-05-04 20:52:15
2008-05-04 20:52:15

Henry Knox

Henry Knox (1750-1806) Was a bookseller in Boston and a witness to the Boston Massacre. He later rose to become general in charge of George Washington's artillery and became one of his most trusted aides. Nicknamed "Ox" both because of his size, six foot three, appx 280 pounds and because during the winter of 1776, he transported the British cannon captured at Fort Ticonderoga by oxcart back to Boston. During Washington's first engagement with the British, these cannons were strategically placed on Dorcester Heights. This placement forced General Howe to evacuate the city of Boston without a shot being fired. At Yorktown, Knox commanded the artillery bombardment of General Cornwallis's and after the war served in Congress. After Washington was elected president, Knox became the country's first War Secretary


Related Questions

The first secretary of war appointed by George Washington was Henry Knox.

Washington's first Secretary of State was Thomas Jefferson. His first Secretary of Treasury was Alexander Hamilton. His first Secretary of War was Henry Knox.

The first secretary of war

James Monroe served as Secretary of War during part of Madison's administration.

From 1861-1862 Lincoln's Secretary of War was Simon Cameron. From 1862-1865 Lincoln's Secretary of War was Edwin M. Stanton.

General Henry Knox under President George Washington and was first known as the Secretary of War

source: The Secretary of War used to be a member of the President's Cabinet. However in 1947 the departments were reorganized and the Secretary of War was replaced by the Secretary of the Army and the Secretary of the Air Force, non-Cabinet positions under the Secretary of Defense. ****The first Secretary of War was Henry Knox when George Washington was President. ---YOU'RE WELCOME!! :)

The Secretary of War was changed into the Secretary of Defense.

There were five. They were Secretary of State, Secretary of Treasury, Secretary of War, Postmaster General, and Attorney General.

First Secretary: Thomas Jefferson Secretary of Treasury: Alexander Hamilton Secretary of War: Henry Knox President: George Washington

The first secretary of the US was the later president Thomas Jefferson.----The first cabinet secretaries (for President George Washington) were:Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson (duties of former Secretary of Foreign Affairs)Secretary of the Treasury Alexander HamiltonSecretary of War Henry KnoxAttorney General Edmund Randolph

Simple: The Secretary of War

The Secretary of War was the head of the old War Department. In 1947 the name was changed to Defense Department, and the Secretary became the Secretary of Defense.

During World War II, the secretary of war was re-named as the secretary of defense. Robert Gates is currently serving as the defense secretary.

The Secretary of Defense replaced the Secretary of War as well as the Secretary of the Navy.

Washington's administration had four cabinet members. The current title, Secretary of Defense, was then known as the Secretary of War. General Henry Knox.

The first president, George Washington had the first cabinet. His cabinet consisted of Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of the Treasury Alexander Hamilton, Secretary of War Henry Knox, and Attorney General Edmund Randolph.

In 1949 the US Department of Defense was established and the War Department, over which the Secretary of War was director became the Department of the Army, a branch of the DoD. The Secretary of War then became the Secretary of the Army.

Dean Acheson, secretary of State under President Harry S, Truman, is considered to have been the first Secretary of State during the Cold War. (See his book, Present at the Creation.)

George Washington's first cabinet had four appointees. They were Thomas Jefferson, Secretary of State. Alexander Hamilton was Secretary of the Treasury. Henry Knox was the Secretary of War. Edmund Randolph was Attorney General.

John Hay was the Secretary of State who pushed for war with Spain. However, he wasn't the Secretary of State when the war started but he was when the war ended.

The Secretary of War position (along with the Secretary of the Navy position) was replaced with the Secretary of Defense position.

Secretary of State: Thomas Jefferson Secretary of Treasury: Alexander Hamilton Secretary of War: Henry Knox Attorney General: Edmund Jennings Randolph

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.