Best Answer

The power of government is divided into three branches so that each one can focus on a specific task for which it was designed (making laws, enforcing laws, and judging laws). However there is always a chance that one branch can become out of control and so there is the checks and balances system to keep each branch in control.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

to keep any one branch from coming to powerful , the constitution also includes a system of checks and balances.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Separation of powers

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why did the farmers divide powers between the state and national governments?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about American Government

How did prohibition divide the nation?

Prohibition became a disagreement between rural and urban communities.

What is one reason the Constitution divides powers between the federal government and state governments?

The framers of the Constitution had already fought a war to rid themselves of a tyrannical government and wanted to take precautions to avoid this happening in the new nation. They sought to divide the powers between the states and government to assure neither entity would become too powerful.

What is the difference between a unitary system a confederal system and a federal system?

The distinction between the three systems is where ultimate sovereignty resides. In a Unitary government, all sovereignty resides at the national level - thus, the national government is superior to, and controls all regional and local governments. In such a system, governments report in what looks like a military chain-of-command: local governments report to and are legally subservient to regional governments, which report to and are subservient to the national government. A unitary government has all power concentrated at the national government, which may delegate some of that power elsewhere, but which retains the ultimate say in which entity has that power. In a Confederate government, the nation is made up of constituent states, each state having ultimate sovereignty. This form results in a national government which is more of an association - the central national government has no legal authority over its constituent state (regional) governments, other than the authority those states voluntarily give it (and can withdraw at any time). Confederations are really government-by-voluntary-consensus, with power being retained at the regional (state) level. At the state level in a confederation, most operate as a Unitary government themselves. Federal governments are a blend of the above two opposites. Most federal systems divide up various responsibilities (sovereignty) into categories, then decide that ONE of: the federal (national), the state (regional), or local (town/city) government should be the ultimate sovereign in that area. Generally speaking, this division is based upon the impact of the topic in question: for responsibilities which impact the nation as a whole, the federal government is usually assigned supreme power, while for activities that are regional or local in nature, the regional (or local) government is assigned sovereignty. In all cases, government levels (federal, state, and local) are ultimate responsible solely to their constituent citizens, and do NOT legally report to another government. Thus, under a federal system, a town mayor has no legal responsibility to follow instructions from a state governor or a national president. In terms of practical application, one obvious place that can be seen is the legal system in place: under a Unitary system, there is but one set of courts, and those courts have jurisdiction over all legal cases. In a Confederate system, there tend to be many court systems, with each region/state's court system applying only to cases within that region/state. In a federal system, there tend to be a myriad of court systems, each having different responsibilities based on the type of infraction or case, with different infractions being judged by different courts, and with multiple court systems having possible jurisdiction over a single geographic area.

What is making the populists so angry and what do they want to do about it?

Poverty and the income divide between the rich and the poor makes the populists angry. They can protest and go to war to show their dissent.

How does federalism prevent abuse of power?

Federalism protects from the abuse of Government and State officials by assigning powers specifically to each branch of Government. Powers that are kept by the Central Government are called "delegated powers". Powers kept by the states are called "reserved powers" , and powers shared by both governments are called "concurrent powers".

Related questions

What question was raised by the principles of nullification?

How to divide power between state and federal governments.

Why are most Indian farms small?

Most Indian farmers are subsistence farmers who produce crops for their family. Farmers divide their property between their sons, which decreases the size of the farm.

What kind of government divide the power between the state and national government?


How did the framers of the constitution divide powers between the national government and the states?


How does federalism divide power?

Federalism divides power through the national government and the state or province governments. A Fun fact : In American History, the people who were called the federalists liked a lot of national power and little state power. This is ironic because they are called the federalists and federalism is supposed to divide the state and national power evenly.

Did Charlemagne want to divide into small kingdoms with separate governments?

yes he did

Which methods did James Madison suggest to check the powers of government?

James Madison suggested several methods to check the powers of government. These include the separation of powers into three branches, checks and balances between the branches, federalism to divide power between the national and state governments, and a system of representative democracy to ensure accountability and prevent tyranny.

How does the federal government share power with the state governments?

Fedral and National government is one and the same... so all power delegated to them and not to the States

What three national parks lie across the Continental Divide?

Glacier National Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, and Yellowstone National Park lie across the Continental Divide.

What was the goal of the Federalist party?

To serve as a portable advocate for the ratification of constitution and divide power between the national government and the state government.

What formed the route that most western farmers used to ship good in 1803?

continentl divide

The Continental Divide runs though this state and Yellowstone National Park is also in it?

The continental divide runs through the US state of Wyoming, where Yellowstone National Park is also located.