Best Answer

This prevents one branch of government from becoming too powerful.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why is it important that the national government's powers are split up in different branches?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which branches of government have the right to tax-local governments state governmentsor the national government?

Executive branch Executive branch Executive branch

What was Edmund randolphs proposal about two characteristics of any new constitution?

It should establish a national government and three branches of government, which would be supreme over state governments in national matters.

Did the Virginia plan include slaves?

The Virginia Plan dealt with the branches of government, the legislature, and other governmental powers. It favored both national and state governments, but wanted a strong national government.

How are the national and state governments alike and different?

i have no clue at all thank you very much.

What are the three branches and who is in them at the national level?

the three branches are the executive, legislative, and judicial. The president is in the national level of the branches

How many branches of government did articles of confederation allow th national governments?

Only one branch was set up under the Articles -- the Legislative branch.

What is the difference between federalism and checks and balances?

Federalism is the combination of a national government and state governments, sharing power. Checks and balances refers to the limiting power that each of the branches of the national government (the executive, judiciary, and legislative) have on one another.

Is US Bank a regional or national bank?

US Bank is a national bank. US bank has branches in 25 different states. It is also the fifth largest bank in the US based on deposits, and the fourth largest in branches.

How are the powers divided in a unitary system?

by making three branches , to have equal power , l

What is the principle of dividing powers between a national government and state governments called?

Separation of powers is the process of separating branches of government. In the United States, the three branches of government balance each other.

How is power distributed in a federal government?

There are different types of "federal government" and the distribution of power varies. It may be divided between a central government and several local governments. In the US model, it is divided between three branches of government, those being the Executive, the Legislative and the Judicial branches.they are divided between a central government and several local governments

What does the term ''fedral govermrent'' refer to?

The national government, which operates under the US Constitution. It covers the executive, legislative and judicial branches and all their agencies. As contrasted to state, county and city governments.