Best Answer

The Eocene was from about 54 million to 37.5 million years ago. It is part of the Tertiary Period and the Cenozoic Era. Eocene comes from the Greek words meaning "dawn of the present." It is the age of the first large land mammals.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2004-12-06 20:11:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

How often do meteorites hit Earth

The adjustments of materials that follow a major earthquake often generate smaller earthquakes called

Most earthquakes are produced by the rapid release of which kind of energy stored in rock subjected to great forces

What does an earthquake's magnitude measure

See all cards
52 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When was the Eocene?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about Earth Science

What was the dominant animal of the Eocene Epoch?

The Eocene Epoch was the second epoch of the Tertiary Period. During this time, mammals were the dominant form of animal life.

How did the climate in the Eocene compare to that of today?

It was much cooler.

In geological time eras divide into what?

Eras divide into periods and periods divide into epochs. The Palaeozoic Era is composed of the Cambrian, Ordovician, Silurian, Devonian, Carboniferous and Permian periods (in that order). The Mesozoic Era is divided into the Triassic, Jurassic and Cretaceous periods. The Cenozoic Era is divided into the Tertiary and Quaternary periods. The Tertiary period is divided into the Palaeocene, Eocene, Oligocene, Miocene and Pliocene epochs while the Quaternary period is divided into the Pleistocene and Holocene epochs. Note that eras are not the longest lengths of time. Eras may compose longer stretches of time known as eons/aeons.

How are geological epoch and eras defined?

Geological epochs and era basically denote a certain measurement of time. An epoch is longer than an era. A period of time is defined by 'epoch' if certain events have taken place that are serially significant developments. An era, conversely, is a smaller unit of time that is usually more specific to a beginning, such as the Birth of Christ (4 BCE). An example of an epoch is the Holocene, which is marked by human civilzation. Holocene epoch, alongside the Pleistocene (first humans), Philocene (first homonids), Miocene (more mammals, including horses, dogs, and bears), Oligocene (minor extinction; the emergence of new mammals, such as pigs, deer, and cats), Eocene (mammals abound, rodents appear), and Paleocene (first mammals and primitive primates appear) eepochs, are contained within the Cenozoic Era, otherwise known "The Age of Mammals".

What are the epoch in the Cenozoic era?

The Cenozoic Era is currently divided into 3 Periods and 7 Epochs. There is even an argument at the moment for an 8th Epoch,The Cenozoic Eta (65.5 Ma - Now)Paleogene Period (65.5 - 23.03 Ma) Paleocene Epoch (65.5 - 55.8 Ma)(65 mya to 55 mya - Rise of Mammals)Eocene Epoch (55.8 - 33.9 Ma)(55 mya to 38 mya - Saber Tooth Cats, Primitive Horses)Oligpcene Epoch (33.9 - 23.03Ma)(38 mya to 25 mya - First Primates)Neogene Period (23.03 - 2.588 Ma)Miocene Epoch (23.03 - 5.332Ma)(25 mya to 5 mya - Apes)Pliocene Epoch (5.332 - 2.588Ma)(5 mya to 2 mya - First Man)Quaternary Period (2.588 Ma - now) Pleistocene Epoch (2,588 - 11.7 Ka)(2 mya to 10,000 years ago - The Rise of Man)Holocene Epoch (11.7 Ka - Now)(10,000 years ago to present - Modern Man)mya=million years ago

People also asked