The monster is flipped into face-up defense position and any battle damage that occurs is calculated. Afterwards the monster that was attacked remains on the field and is not sent to the Graveyard.
Examples of monsters that cannot be destroyed in battle are Spirit Reaper and Marshmallon.
If a monster attacks with an effect that enables it to deal damage equal to the difference in its ATK and the defending monster's DEF (like Twin-Sword Marauder or a monster equipped with Big Bang Shot), the damage is calculated but the monster is still not destroyed in battle.
No, a 'Flip Summon' is a manual change from face-down defence to face-up attack position in one of your main phases. If the monster is flipped from an attack, or by an effect, then this is a Flip, but not a Flip Summon. Therefore regular Flip Effect monsters like Night Assailant will trigger from being attacked, but monsters that require Flip Summoning like Guardian Sphinx will not.
Since customization became available you cannot change the position of your Neopets.
Yes, if you control a monster in defense mode and it is changed to attack mode during the Battle Phase by a card effect, it can attack. The "Zero Gravity" Trap card is an example of a card that can switch your monsters' battle position during the Battle Phase. But if the monster already attacked that turn, was switched to defense mode, then changed to attack mode again by an effect, it cannot attack again on that same turn.
Your opponent's Windstorm of Etaqua changes the battle positions of all face-up monsters you control, then your Creatue Swap swaps your monster and your opponent's monster, since Creature Swap's effect only says that those 2 monsters can't change their battle positions for the rest of the turn, so the position change before the swap is legit.
a different job???
No. If you could, it wouldn't make sense for there to be rules that you can only summon face-up monsters in attack position, as you would be able to immediately change them into defense position anyways.
No, a 'Flip Summon' is a manual change from face-down defence to face-up attack position in one of your main phases. If the monster is flipped from an attack, or by an effect, then this is a Flip, but not a Flip Summon. Therefore regular Flip Effect monsters like Night Assailant will trigger from being attacked, but monsters that require Flip Summoning like Guardian Sphinx will not.
Yes, of course you can.
Yes, of course they can. Unless the monster specifically says it cannot change its battle position in the same turn.
Yes, that is allowed. You cannot, however, attack and then change to defense in the same turn.
You can not change your Moshi Monsters username.
Monsters can only 'manually' change battle position in your main phases. If you want to change them during the battle phase, you will have to do it by a card effect.
A monster can't manually change battle position on the turn it declared an attack, but it can still be flipped face-down by an effect. Golem Sentry can attack, then activate its effect in main phase 2 and flip itself face down.
Monsters cannot manually change their battle position in the same turn as they were summoned or set, including special summons. You must wait until the next turn to flip that next Bubonic Vermin, unless you've got an effect to flip it.
You can not change your monster's name on Moshi Monsters.
You can not change the color of the Volcano on Moshi Monsters.
You can not change your monster to a different one on Moshi Monsters.