Best Answer

A minor can get emancipated at the age of 16 in the state of Maine. The minor will have to get an attorney to represent them in court and to file paperwork for the judge to hear the case.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

{| |- | The age of majority in New York is 21. There is no emancipation statute in the state. Without parental permission, you have to wait until you reach the age of 21. |}

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do you become an emancipated minor in New York State?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can you become emancipated from your parents at age 14 in New York State?

No, you cannot.

Can a 16-year-old get emancipated without parents consent in Florida?

In the state of Florida a minor must be at least 16 in order to be emancipated. Even once they meet the age requirement, a minor who has been determined to be mentally unstable is not going to be able to get emancipated.

Can a 17 year old on probation in New York live on his own?

A 17 year old child that is on probation can not be emancipated in New York state. To become emancipated, a minor needs to prove that he is legally responsible, have income, continue school, and be able to provide for his own housing and food from his earned income.

Can you get emancipated in new york state at age fourteen?


Can a 16 year old in new York state be emancipated?

New York is one of 15 states without an Emancipation Statute. Which means you will not be able to become emancipated. If you are not safe, contact social services so they can get you to a safe place.

Can you move out in New York State without being emancipated?

In New York, Q. 1.2 Who can be considered an Emancipated Minor? Although there is no court proceeding in New York to have a young person declared an Emancipated Minor, New York Law recognizes the status of emancipation and the rights of emancipated minors. To determine whether a young person is emancipated, the following factors are critical: * The youth must be living apart from his/her parents; * The youth must be self supporting (may be receiving public benefits or child support if required by court order); * The youth is not in need/receipt of foster care; * The youth is living beyond the custody and control of the parent; * The youth is over the age of 16.

How do you get emancipated in New York at the age of 17?

The age of a legal adult in New York is set at 21 years of age. However, individuals who are younger and want to become emancipated can get married, join the military, file an affidavit, or demonstrate an ability to take care of themselves financially.

If a seventeen-year-old female moved out of her parents' house and she does not depend on them financially can her parents still press pins in New York state?

Unless she becomes an emancipated minor the answer is yes.

Is there anything your parents or the police can do to stop you from leaving the house once you're seventeen years old in the state of new york?

Of course there is. A minor does not have the right to decide where they live. Until you become a legal adult, your parents make that decision. The exception would be if the minor has been emancipated in some manner such as marriage (which requires parental consent).

In New York does a 16-year-old male automatically become emancipated if he inpregnates a female?


Can a 15-year-old girl become emancipated and or move out of her home in the State of New York?

No, the minimum age for filing an emancipation petition is 16, the legal age of majority is 18.

If you're 16 in New York state and do not wish to live with your parent or guardian and want to become emancipated and move to another state what would you have to do to obtain this right?

The state of New York does not have an emancipation statue. In New York, whether or not a minor is emancipated depends on the facts of the situation. Generally, a person is considered to be emancipated if: (1) he or she is married (2) he or she has joined the military (3) he or she is 16 or older, is self supporting, and resides independently from his or her parents However, in order to reside independently from your parents, they have to agree to allow it. If you leave home without their permission, they can report you as a runaway and have you picked up by the authorities and returned home. National Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-392-3738, Youth Crisis Hotline 1-800-448-4663.