Best Answer

A reckless driving conviction does not fall off your record automatically. It can be classified as a summary offense (note: this offense is less severe than a misdemeanor) or as a criminal offense depending on the circumstances, subject to misdemeanor or felony penalties (Florida Statute Section 316.192). This includes cases with or without property damage, bodily injury, or death of another person. Therefore, if you have been convicted of reckless driving in Florida, it will stay on your criminal record indefinitely unless you pursue criminal record sealing or expunging.

However, the 4 points that you can receive against your driver's license can fall off of your Florida DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) record after a period of 3 years. After that time, the points cannot be used to suspend your license, but they may still be used to judge repeat or habitual traffic offenses. Please note that this is separate from the criminal conviction and you can still appear on the FDLE (Florida Department of Law Enforcement) website after the 4 points fall off of your driver's license.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

First offense is up to a $500 fine plus court cost. Second offense is up to $1,000 fine plus court cost. If property damage or personal injury occurs it is $1,000 for the first offense plus court cost. If serious bodily injury occurs it is up to $5,000 plus court cost.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Points in Florida stay on your license for 3 years for insurance purposes.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

In Georgia, traffic violations, including reckless driving, stay on your driving record permanently. So, even when the points drop off your record, the actual conviction remains.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

It stays on your record for 75 years.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How much is a reckless driving ticket in Florida?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can you get a reckless driving ticket with no accident?

Yes. In most states Reckless Driving is a crime instead of a violation.

How much is a reckless driving traffic ticket in Georgia?

624.95 Dollars

How much does a Florida reckless driving ticket cost?

Reckless driving Florida penalties are up to 90 days in jail on the first offense and a $500 fine. The second offense is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine. If the Florida reckless driving results in damage to the property or person of another it is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and $1,000 fine. If reckless driving results in serious bodily injury to another it is punishable as a felony of the third degree. Third degree felonies are punishable by up to 5 years in prison and $5.000 fine. Court costs are assessed on top of the fines.

How much is a reckless driving ticket in Michigan i got a ticket for doin donuts in a parking lot..what will this cost me?

A parking lot is private property. Did the owner of the property file for charges?

How much is a ticket for yield sign?

You can only get a ticket for not stopping at a yield sign if you hit a car that was oncoming. This could either be a reckless driving or failure to yield ticket. Those can range from $50 to $250.

How much is a speeding ticket in Georgia if your going 85 in a 55?

A speeding ticket in the state of Georgia for 30 miles over the speed limit will cost $195. If the ticket is written for careless or reckless driving it will cost more.

If you get a ticket for reckless driving citation how much goes on your driver's license?

Ea. state has different points system-check your dmv, but probably 2.

How much does a Failure to Stop at Red light Violation in North Carolina cost?

If it was just a failure to stop ticket and not companied with a reckless/careless driving or reckless endangerment charge, then probably about 100-150 dollars.

How much is a 100 MPH speeding ticket in a 50 MPH zone?

It'll vary by jurisdiction, but such a flagrant violation will always constitute more than a simple speeding ticket - you'll also be charged with reckless driving and/or reckless endangerment, and other criminal charges may apply.

Can you receive a reckless driving ticket on private property?

yes seeing i knew an ex-cop and they pretty much have the right to do wateveer they want to so looks like you can get a ticket NO not if it is your private property or you have permission to be on the property.

How much is the ticket for tailgating in California?

As long as it did not involve a reckless driving charge a the fine for Tailgating tickets in California is approx. $250. For additional free information on traffic ticket in California go to

North Carolina speeding ticket 74 in a 50?

I would be really surprised if you were cited onlyfor the speeding, as you're very much eligible for reckless driving charges on top of it.