answersLogoWhite

0

Yes and no. You cannot ever voluntarily choose to discard cards from hand or otherwise send cards to the graveyard - only if allowed to do so by cost, effect, or game mechanic.

If you have more than 6 cards in hand at the end of your end phase, then you must discard down to 6. So technically this is a discard without being told to do so by an effect. But if the question was asking can you voluntarily discard 'for no reason', the answer is no.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Can you discard cards from your hand without the effect of a monster magic or tr?

No you can't discard unless instructed to by a card or effect, or you have exceeded your hand size limit and are at the end of your turn.


Can dark illusion stop the effect of raigeki break?

Since dark illusion is a monster card it is destroyed by raigeki without it's effect coming into play.Same as if a face down effect monster were to be destroyed by raigeki the effect of the card could not be used so any face down effect cards or any effect cards on your side of the field are rendered useless.


Why is magician of faith banned?

Magician of faith is banned because other cards like monster reincarnation require a discard to work.


Can you special summon a ritual monster using an effect without using the ritual spell?

Only if the card specifically says it can summon a Ritual Monster, like Ritual Foregone. Otherwise, you can't do it, cards like A Hero Emerges, or Monster Gate, cannot special summon a Ritual Monster.Also if you summon the Ritual Monster properly, by Ritual Summon, and it is then sent to the graveyard for whatever reason, then you may bring it back to the field using cards like Monster Reborn. However you cannot simply discard a Ritual Monster from hand and try using Monster Reborn straight away, they are a form of special summon only monster, simply by being Ritual Monsters.


What happens to a monster equipped with a union monster when you opponent plays a card that destroys all cards on field?

then all cards on the field are destroyed unless the union monster has an effect that says that it can be destroyed instead of the equipped monster


Can you choose to discard cards from the field or your hand in Yu-Gi-Oh?

You cannot simply choose to discard a card from hand, voluntarily, or send cards from the field. You can only do so when allowed to do so for a cost, or instructed to by an effect or game mechanic.


When do you discard cards in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, you discard cards when you have more than seven cards in your hand at the end of your turn.


Can you randomly discard spell or trap cards from the field if you want YuGiOh?

You can't ever just discard cards for no reason, you can only do so if instructed to by a card effect or a game rule, such as the one that lets you replace one Field Spell Card with another.


Can you discard properties in Monopoly Deal?

Yes, in Monopoly Deal, you can discard properties by playing them as part of a set or by using action cards that allow you to discard cards from your hand.


When a card says opponent cards effect what exactly does that mean effect monster trap or spell?

In general it means all effects, be it the resolving effect of a spell, trap or monster, or the reusable effect of a continuous spell or trap.


During the end phase when you discard your hand size down to 6 cards then activate super rejuvenation from hand or field will SJ's effect apply to the cards discarded for hand limit?

You cannot end the turn with more than 6 cards in hand, so if you do your usual end of turn discard, and somehow you end up with more cards in hand (such as through Super Rejuvenation) then you will still have to discard down to 6 again.


If your opponent uses Raigeki Break to destroy your monster and you use Icarus Attack on that selected monster and destroy 2 cards on his side of the field would Raigeki Break still resolves?

It will 'resolve without effect' because its target has gone.