No, a king can move one square in any direction on its first move or it can 'castle.' The pawn is the only piece that is restricted to forward-only movement. The pawn may only move forward (toward the enemy), one square at a time, unless it's making an opening move, in which case it can move one or two squares. The pawn can only change direction to take a piece -- a pawn can take a piece that is one square forward diagonally (that is, up and right, or up and left one square). The pawn cannot take a piece directly in front of it.
If you take your hand off a chess piece after touching it, you must move that piece if it is legal to do so. This is known as the "touch-move" rule in chess.
In draughts, a single piece cannot directly take a double piece in a single move. However, if a single piece jumps over an opponent's single piece that is adjacent to a double, it can then continue its jump over the double piece if the position allows for it. Thus, the single piece can indirectly take a double by jumping over a single piece first.
Yes, in checkers, if you have a piece that can make a capture (take an opponent's piece), you must make that capture. If there are multiple captures available, you can choose which one to make. If you do not have a capturing move available, you can make a non-capturing move.
You can simply fill up a cooler with your pond water and move the fish. Once you get to the new home, slowly add the new water to the cooler because the fish will go into shock from the immediate temperature change. The process should take around 20 to 30 minutes.
No, each chess piece can only take one in a single movement.
In most chess tournaments, the answer is 'yes.' In non-tournament games players can do whatever they want. Also in chess tournaments, if a player touches his own piece, he must move that piece (if possible). That's why, when castling, you must move the king two spaces first -- to signal that you are castling. Otherwise, when you touch the rook, that is the piece you must move and thus you are prevented from castling (at least on the side of the rook you touched). Furthermore, if a player touches an opponent's piece, he must take that piece (if possible). These are, of course, very formal rules. Usually, when a couple of 'woodpushers' sit down for a game, they can even 'take back' moves.
Yes, any piece can take a queen. The only time a King could do it is to get himself out of the queen's check.
Yes, you can. There is a move called "en passant" that enables you to take a pawn without moving. If the opponent's pawn jumps two spaces in its first move to avoid being taken by your pawn, "en passant" is in effect and you can take his pawn.
Yes, in fact if you're trapped you can move the top piece of the king with another piece.
A King in Chess may take any other piece except another King. The reason is that in order for a king to take another king, the first king would have to move adjacent to the other king, which is an illegal move.
well first, you take a piece-of-hair...