What would you like to do?
the age for an older child to watch younger children in Florida is 13, but that also depends on how mature and respondsible the 13 year old is, generally it is up to the parent of the child, if they feel that the child is respondsible enough to leave them at home for the night, as long as they are 13 and older.
18 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
Answer In Canada it's 12 years of age. You would have to ask this question on www.google.com and put the name of your State in. If you can leave… your child home alone at 12 years of age, then it's advisable to have a neighbor check in on them and also leave the neighbors phone number handy for your child. There are rules and regulations about not answering the door to ANYONE and the only person coming through that door is you and your husband or an older sibling (all of you would have keys.)
Florida does not have a specific law about when children can be left home alone. Instead, Florida expects parents to evaluate their child's capabilities. The National SAFE… KIDS campaign recommends that children not be left alone before the age of 12, however, some children may not be ready until later than that.
Legal Age . The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legislated in two states, Maryland and Illinois. The legal check is whether or not the child is safe …and has the ability to take care of themselves. Most authorities agree that leaving a 12 year old alone at home for an hour or two is acceptable, but they should not be responsible for other children.. Florida: According to the Department of Children and Families, Abuse Hotline, there is no specific age defined in Florida law regarding when a child can be left home alone. However, they have indicated that a child aged 8 or older who is mature and knows whom to contact in an emergency and is not disabled or mentally challenged can be left at home alone. For further information and clarification of this rule, contact the DCF Abuse Hotline at (1-800)-962-2873.
They have to be like 13 or 15. Does this answer it for you?
I don't see why not because when i was 16 years old my family left me a lone all night and it was not a problem though you may want someone to check up on that 17 year o…ld.
Answer 16 in the UK or in other nations the age at which they can be said to concent.
"There is no minimum age established by law. Whether a child can be left alone depends on a number of factors, including: the child's maturity; the safety of the environment t…hey are in; how long they are left alone; whether or not they can get in touch with their parent or caregiver; and whether or not they know what to do in case of an emergency. Leaving a child alone can constitute neglect on the part of a parent or caregiver if the child could be in any danger of harm." - Eighth Judicial Circuit Family Court (Florida) There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws. 12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides one guideline from a California agency representative who suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for up to several hours (usually after school before a parent gets home from work). This site also provides a state by state comparison with references.
There is no law in Maine to address this. In most places a 12 or 13 year old is believed safe if left for a few hours during the daytime. It would depend upon the age of… the oldest and if they were responsible for younger ones. If I were to hire a baby sitter for overnight, I would expect them to be at least 16 and would prefer someone out of their teens.
There is no legal minimum age in which a child can be left home alone overnight in Missouri. However it is never recommended that a child younger than age 12 be left home alon…e at all.
Some states its 12 years old What is you state ?
18 That is incorrect, at least in New York state it is 12, also the "legal" age to babysit ??? im only nine cant blame me
Alone in the house? 13 years old with another kid(baby brother/sister etc.) 18 Overnight? overnight? probably 18 i have been alone wit…h my bro and he was 10 overnight and i was 8
In Child Abuse
16 because you would know the difference between right and wrong
In Child Safety
12. I know this because i live in Florida
Technically it is not, because the child is a minor. Another View; The age of the "minor" and the state of residence would have to be known in order to answer.
No, there are multiple laws prohibiting it. Also if you do this and your child is harmed in any way you can be charged with neglect and child abandonment.