What is the definition of vegetarian and non-vegetarian food?
I've been a lacto-vegetarian for several years, so surely I'm qualified to answer this question.
Vegetarian food is completely free of all meat, fish, poultry, and other animal products. This includes chicken broth and foods cooked with meat.
Ovo-vegetarians allow eggs in their diet but no dairy products, while lacto-vegetarians allow dairy products, but no eggs. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians allow dairy and eggs.
Many vegetarians also do not include gelatin in their diets, as it is frequently of animal origin.
You do not eat any type of meat. I eat alot of salad
Vegetarian food is completely free of all meat, fish, poultry, and other animal products. This includes chicken broth and foods cooked with meat.
Ovo-vegetarians allow eggs in their diet but no dairy products, while lacto-vegetarians allow dairy products, but no eggs. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians allow dairy and eggs.
Many vegetarians also do not include gelatin in their diets, as it is frequently of animal origin.
You do not eat any type of meat. I eat alot of salad
11 people found this useful
Vegetarian is where you do not eat any meat or seafood. Some peopledo not eat garlic or onion. vegetarian can be a choice or religion.Being is a vegetarian is good as most of the sickness and viruscomes from the meats bacteria
Vegetarians are people that don't eat anything that requires animal slaughter. This includes meat of all types (including fish, fowl, non vertebrates), gelatin, lard, rennet, carmine coloring; some say honey. A vegetarian is a person who does not eat meat vegetrian is people that eat vegetables He t…here! Lacto-ovo Vegetarians are people who don't eat meat, poultry, fish , shelfesh or animal derivitives such as gelitane which can be found in many jelly sweets and renett , this is the most common type of vegetarian diet. Many Lacto-ovo vegetarians will only eat eggs if they are free range. Ovo vegetarianism is when somebody does not eat meat, poultry, fish , shelfesh or animal derivitives such as gelitane which can be found in many jelly sweets and renett . Plus they do not eat Dairy products . But they do eat eggs. Lacto Vegetarianism is when somebody does not meat, poultry, fish , shelfesh or animal derivitives such as gelitane which can be found in many jelly sweets and renett. Plus they do not eat eggs. But they do eat dairy products. Vegans do not eat ANY any animal product meaning this means they don't eat things like honey,milk,eggs, etc. Hope this helps. Here is a link to the uk veggetarian society: www.vegsoc.org/ (MORE)
Vegetarianism is the practice of avoiding the consumption of animal flesh. Animal-derived products such as eggs, cheese and milk are often still included. This often leads to an increase of other types of foods such as vegetables and alternative sources of protein and iron. Veganism is similar, wi…th the exclusion of animal-derived products. Vegans will not eat honey (that comes from bees) or wear leather (that comes from cows and other livestock). It can be due to religion, society, personal beliefs or health. In Hinduism, vegetarianism is a requirement and meat is strictly prohibited. (MORE)
Any food that doesn't require animal slaughter is vegetarian. Examples: Fruits Vegetables Grains Nuts Seeds
Well if there vegetarians then it's obviously no meat and all vegetables and nothing with animal fats and stuff in it so they have to be very careful with what they eat.
To be a vegetarian you have to avoid all products that contain traces of animals (including shellfish and fish). The obvious meat is an easy thing to avoid but there are tons of other things like rennet (enzymes from the stomachs of cows i.e. cheese), gelatin (boiled fish bones, or tendons i.e. yogu…rt/candy/marshmallows) and carmine (beetle juice used as a dye i.e. juice/candy). \nMedicine is also a thing to look out for, capsules contain gelatin and some pills contain carmine. \nJust look up information that you read on labels, and decide how extreme you want to go. (MORE)
In Sikhism , only vegetarian food is served in the Gurdwara , but Sikhs are not totally bound to be meat-free. The general consensus is that Sikhs are free to choose whether to adopt the vegetarian or meat diet  , although once baptized by taking Amrit , some minority sects of Sikhs ( Damd…ami Taksal , Akhand Kirtani Jatha , Namdharis , Guru Nanak Nishkam Sewak Jatha and the 3HO ), believe that a Sikh should be meat free  , however this is not a Universally held belief amongst Sikhs. Orthodox Sikhs believe that once Amrit is taken, Sikh's are only prohibited from eating Kuttha or ritually slaughtered (Halal, Kosher) meat. Sri Guru Granth Sahib , the holiest book talks about vegetarianism and spirituality in the following couplet:. - First Mehl: The fools argue about flesh and meat, but they know nothing about meditation and spiritual wisdom. What is called meat, and what is called green vegetables? What leads to sin? It was the habit of the gods to kill the rhinoceros, and make a feast of the burnt offering. Those who renounce meat, and hold their noses when sitting near it, devour men at night. They practice hypocrisy, and make a show before other people, but they do not understand anything about meditation or spiritual wisdom. O Nanak, what can be said to the blind people? They cannot answer, or even understand what is said. They alone are blind, who act blindly. They have no eyes in their hearts. They are produced from the blood of their mothers and fathers, but they do not eat fish or meat. . Page 1289  Sri Guru Granth Sahib . On the views that eating meat would be eating flesh, first Sikh Guru Nanak states:. AGGS, M 1, p 1290.  - First Mehl: à¨ªà¨¾à¨à¨¡à© à¨¤à© à¨à¨¾à¨£à© à¨¹à© à¨¨à¨¾à¨¹à© à¨à¨¿à¨¥à¨¹à© à¨®à¨¾à¨¸à© à¨à¨ªà©°à¨¨à¨¾ à¥¥ à¨¤à©à¨à¨ à¨¹à© à¨ à©°à¨¨à© à¨à¨®à¨¾à¨¦à© à¨à¨ªà¨¾à¨¹à¨¾à¨ à¨¤à©à¨à¨ à¨¹à© à¨¤à©à¨°à¨¿à¨à¨µà¨£à© à¨à©°à¨¨à¨¾ à¥¥ O Pandit, you do not know where did flesh originate! It is water where life originated and it is water that sustains all life. It is water that produces grains, sugarcane, cotton and all forms of life. . Sikhism is a liberal, tolerant faith that acknowledges personal liberty and the crucial proponent of human nature, free will  . As such, Sikh philosophy and Scriptures are not didactic in nature, for Sikhism offers spiritual, ethical and moral guidance to a fulfilling way of life rather than a tightly-construed and strict religious discipline. As a result, it is the subject of much debate as to whether Sikhs are prohibited by the Sikh Code of Conduct, the Rehat Maryada , from eating meat. The consensus is however, Sikhs are bound to avoid meat that is killed in a ritualistic manner  e.g. Halal , Kosher etc.   Within the Gurdwara, the Guru ka Langar (Guru's community kitchen) serves purely vegetarian food, freshly prepared from all natural ingredients for all people, at all times. The reason for serving vegetarian food is that the Langar is open to all. Since many faiths and people have varying taboos on what to eat and how meat should be prepared etc, and since Sikhs accept these restrictions and accommodate people no matter their faith or culture, the safest option thought by the Sikh Gurus was to adopt vegetarian food for Langar. The exception to vegetarian langar is when Nihangs , ( a minor but oldest Sikh sect in India) serve meat  on the occasion of Holla Mohalla , and call it MahaPrashad . Sikhism argues that the soul can possibly undergo millions of transformations as various forms of life before ultimately becoming human. These life forms could be a rock, vegetation or animal. Sikhism does not see a difference between mineral, vegetation and animal. The only distinction made is that between these (mineral, vegetation and animal), and human.  The first Sikh Guru Nanak Dev said it was a pointless argument to debate the merits of either not eating or eating meat in the context of religion, as maintaining a strict diet does not make one blessed or elevate one to a superior status, spiritually or otherwise, over another. Being a member of a religion incorporates not merely one's dietary customs but the entire way in which they govern their lifestyle.  He advocated a lifestyle consisting of honest, hard work and humility Kirat Karni , focus and remembrance of God Naam Japna and compassion for all of humanity and God's creation all around Vaá¹á¸ chakkÅ , with these 3 key principles taking far greater precedence over one's mere dietary habits.. Sikh Intellectual Views on Diet and Sikhism Many articles have been written by Sikh intellectuals on this issue. A summary of their views is cited below . Dr I. J Singh states that throughout Sikh history, there have been many subsects of Sikhism that have espoused vegetarianism however, this was rejected by the Sikh Guru's.  . The Sikh thinking being that vegetarianism and meat eating was unimportant in the realm of spirituality. Surinder Singh Kohli links vegetarianism to Vashnavite behaviour  . Dr Gopal Singh commenting on meat being served in the langar during the time of Guru Angad  Dr Gyani Sher Singh who was the head Priest at the Golden temple comments that Ahimsa does not fit in with Sikh doctrine  . W. Owen Cole and Piara Singh Sambhi  comment that if the Sikh Guru's had made an issue on vegetarianism, it would have distracted from the main emphasis of Sikh spirituality. Dr H S Singha and Satwant Kaur  comment on how ritually slaughtered meat is considered a sin for initiated Sikhs. Dr Surinder Singh Kohli comments on the "Fools Wrangle Over Flesh"  quotation from the Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji by how Guru Nanak mocked hypocritical vegetarian priests. Dr Gobind Mansukhi states how vegetarianism and meat eating has been left to the Sikh individual  G S Sidhu comments again on how ritually slaughtered meat is taboo for a Sikh  Dr Gurbakh Singh comments on how non-Kutha  meat is acceptable for the Sikhs. Dr Devinder Singh Chahal  comments on the difficulties of distinguishing between plant and animalin Sikh philosophy.Dr H S Singha comments in his book how the Sikh Guru's ate meat  The Sikh Code of Conduct Leading Sikh intellectuals ruled on this issue in the 1920s (as some Sikh Sects confused the issue by trying to get all Sikhs to be vegetarian) and came up with the following rule or Code of Conduct for baptised Sikhs with regards to meat and Vegetarianism:. Sikh Rehat Maryada - In the Rehat Maryada ( http://www.sgpc.net/rehat_maryada/section_six.HTML ), Section Six, it states: The undermentioned four transgressions (tabooed practices) must be avoided 1. Dishonouring the hair; 2. Eating the meat of an animal slaughtered the Muslim way(Kutha); 3. Cohabiting with a person other than one's spouse 4. Using tobacco. . There are groups such as the Akhand Kirtani Jatha that dispute the meaning of the word Kuttha, and say it means all meat, however, in mainstream Sikhism this word has been accepted to mean, as that which is sacrificed for example Halal or Kosher. Historical dietary behaviour of Sikhs There are a number of eyewitness accounts from European travellers as to the eating habits of Sikhs.  Although there is no prohibition on Sikhs for eating beef, it is clear that Sikhs as a mark of respect for their Hindu neighbours did not partake in eating beef.  ,  To initiate Mohammedans into their mysteries, one traveller said the Sikhs would prepare a Dish of Hogs legs.  According to Dabistan e Mazhib (a contemporary Persian chronology of the Sikh Guru's) Guru Nanak (this differs from Dr I J Singh's research that states that Guru Nanak ate meat on the way to Kurukshetra  ) did not eat meat, and Guru Arjan, one of successors, thought that meat eating was not in accordance with Nanak's wishes. However, his son, Hargobind, ate meat and hunted, and his practice was adopted by most Sikhs.  Bhai Gurdas who was a contemporary of the Sixth Sikh Guru, wrote Vaars (Poems/Couplets), to describe the behaviour of Sikhs at that time. In one of his Vaars actually praises the merits of goat meat  See also . Professor Gurbax Singh Dhillon - Meat Eating and Rehat Maryada . Video Showing Jhatka at Hazoor Sahib . http://www.Sikhs.org/meat_au.htm . http://www.Sikhs.org/meat.htm . http://www.Sikhs.org/meat_gn.htm . http://www.Sikhs.org/meat_gs.htm . http://www.Sikhs.org/meat_q.htm . http://www.sikhnextdoor.org/teachers/faq.HTML . http://www.Sikhism.com/rehatmaryada . http://popularsikh.com/node/65642 . http://www.globalsikhstudies.net/pdf/Prespective_on_Sikh_tradition.pdf . The Myth of Goat Sacrifice and Hazur Sahib . Tenets of Guru Gobind Singh by Baldev Singh . http://www.Sikhism.com/rehatmaryada References . ^ http://www.sgpc.net/rehat_maryada/section_six.HTML Only Meat killed by Ritual is banned for a Sikh . ^ "Sikh Identity: An Exploration of Groups Among Sikhs" by Opinderjit Kaur Takhar, pg. 51, Ashgate Publishing, Ltd, 2005, http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=0754652025 . ^ http://www.srigranth.org/servlet/gurbani.gurbani?Action=Page&Param=1289&English=t&id=55405 . ^ http://www.srigranth.org/servlet/gurbani.gurbani?Action=Page&Param=1290&g=1&h=1&r=1&t=1&p=0&k=0 . ^ http://www.srigranth.org/servlet/gurbani.gurbani?Action=Page&Param=787&English=t&id=33605#l33605 Page 787 Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji . ^ "Sikhism, A Complete Introduction" by Dr. H.S. Singha & Satwant Kaur Hemkunt, Hemkunt Press, New Delhi, 1994, http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=8170102456 . ^ Misconceptions About Eating Meat - Comments of Sikh Scholars by Sandeep Singh Brar . ^ Faithandfood Fact Files - Sikhism . ^ www.singhsabha.com/holla_mohalla.htm . ^ Page 176 Sri Guru Granth Sahib ji . ^ Page 1289 Sri GuruGranth Sahib Ji . ^ Sikhs and Sikhism by I.J. Singh, Manohar, Delhi http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9788173040580 Throughout Sikh history, there have been movements or subsects of Sikhism which have espoused vegetarianism. I think there is no basis for such dogma or practice in Sikhism. Certainly Sikhs do not think that a vegetarian's achievements in spirituality are easier or higher. It is surprising to see that vegetarianism is such an important facet of Hindu practice in light of the fact that animal sacrifice was a significant and much valued Hindu Vedic ritual for ages. Guru Nanak in his writings clearly rejected both sides of the arguments - on the virtues of vegetarianism or meat eating - as banal and so much nonsense, nor did he accept the idea that a cow was somehow more sacred than a horse or a chicken. He also refused to be drawn into a contention on the differences between flesh and greens, for instance. History tells us that to impart this message, Nanak cooked meat at an important Hindu festival in Kurukshetra. Having cooked it he certainly did not waste it, but probably served it to his followers and ate himself. History is quite clear that Guru Hargobind and Guru Gobind Singh were accomplished and avid hunters. The game was cooked and put to good use, to throw it away would have been an awful waste . . ^ Guru Granth Sahib, An Analytical Study by Surindar Singh Kohli, Singh Bros. Amritsar http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=8172050607 The ideas of devotion and service in Vaishnavism have been accepted by Adi Granth, but the insistence of Vaishnavas on vegetarian diet has been rejected. . ^ A History of the Sikh People by Dr. Gopal Singh, World Sikh University Press, Delhi http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9788170231394 However, it is strange that now-a-days in the Community-Kitchen attached to the Sikh temples, and called the Guru's Kitchen (or, Guru-ka-langar) meat-dishes are not served at all. May be, it is on account of its being, perhaps, expensive, or not easy to keep for long. Or, perhaps the Vaishnava tradition is too strong to be shaken off. . ^ Philosophy of Sikhism by Gyani Sher Singh (Ph.D), Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee. Amritsar As a true Vaisnavite Kabir remained a strict vegetarian. Kabir far from defying Brahmanical tradition as to the eating of meat, would not permit so much, as the plucking of a flower (G.G.S. pg 479), whereas Nanak deemed all such scruples to be superstitions, Kabir held the doctrine of Ahinsa or the non-destruction of life, which extended even to that of flowers. The Sikh Gurus, on the contrary, allowed and even encouraged, the use of animal flesh as food. Nanak has exposed this Ahinsa superstition in Asa Ki War (G.G.S. pg 472) and Malar Ke War (G.G.S. pg. 1288) . ^ A Popular Dictionary of Sikhism, W.Owen Cole and Piara Singh Sambhi, England http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9780844204246 The Gurus were loath to pronounce upon such matters as the eating of meat or ways of disposing of the dead because undue emphasis on them could detract from the main thrust of their message which had to do with spiritual liberation. However, Guru Nanak did reject by implication the practice of vegetarianism related to ideas of pollution when he said, 'All food is pure; for God has provided it for our sustenance' (AG 472). Many Sikhs are vegetarian and meat should never be served at langar. Those who do eat meat are unlikely to include beef in their diet, at least in India, because of their cultural proximity to Hindus. . ^ Sikhism, A Complete Introduction by Dr. H.S. Singha and Satwant Kaur, Hemkunt Press, Delhi SBN 81-7010-245-6 In general Sikhism has adopted an ambivalent attitude towards meat eating as against vegetarianism. But if meat is to be taken at all, Guru Gobind Singh enjoined on the Khalsa Panth not to take kosher meat ie. Halal meat slaughtered and prepared for eating according to the Islamic practice. In fact it is one of the kurahits for every amritdhari Sikh. One who infringes it becomes patit (apostate). . ^ Real Sikhism by Surinder Singh Kohli, Harman Publishing, New Delhi http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=8185151644 A close study of the above-mentioned hymns of Guru Nanak Dev clarifies the Sikh standpoint regarding meat-eating. The Guru has not fallen into the controversy of eating or not eating animal food. He has ridiculed the religious priests for raising their voice in favour of vegetarianism. He called them hypocrites and totally blind to the realities of life. They are unwise and thoughtless persons, who do not go into the root of the matter. According to him, the water is the source of all life whether vegetable or animal. Guru Nanak Dev said. "None of the grain of corn is without life. In the first place, there is life in water, by which all are made green" (Var Asa M.1, p. 472). Thus there is life in vegetation and life in all types of creatures. . ^ Introduction to Sikhism by Dr. Gobind Singh Mansukhani, Hemkunt Press, Delhi http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=8170101816 The Gurus neither advocate meat nor banned its use. They left it to the choice of the individual. There are passages against meat, in the Adi Granth. Guru Gobind Singh however prohibited for the Khalsa the use of Halal or Kutha meat prepared in the Muslim ritualistic way. . ^ Introduction to Sikhism by G.S. Sidhu, Shromini Sikh Sangat, Toronto http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=0900692073 There are no restrictions for the Sikhs regarding food, except that the Sikhs are forbidden to eat meat prepared as a ritual slaughter. The Sikhs are asked to abstain from intoxicants. . ^ The Sikh Faith by Gurbakhsh Singh, Canadian Sikh Study and Teaching Society, Vancouver http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9788172051884 According to the Maryada booklet 'Kutha', the meat prepared by the Muslim ritual, is prohibited for a Sikh. Regarding eating other meat, it is silent. From the prohibition of the Kutha meat, it is rightly presumed that non-Kutha meat is not prohibited for the Sikhs. Beef is prohibited to the Hindus and pork to the Muslims. Jews and Christians have their own taboos. They do not eat certain kinds of meat on certain days. Sikhs have no such instructions. If one thinks he needs to eat meat, it does not matter which meat it is, beef, poultry, fish, etc., or which day it is. One should, however, be careful not to eat any meat harmful for his health. Gurbani's instructions on this topic are very clear. "Only fools argue whether to eat meat or not. Who can define what is meat and what is not meat? Who knows where the sin lies, being a vegetarian or a non-vegetarian?" (1289) The Brahmanical thought that a religious person should be a vegetarian is of recent origin. Earlier, Brahmans had been eating beef and horse meat. In conclusion, it is wrong to say that any person who eats meat (of course Kutha, because of the Muslim rituals is prohibited) loses his membership of the Khalsa and becomes an apostate. . ^ Scientific Interpretation of Gurbani, Paper by Dr. Devinder Singh Chahal www.iuscanada.com/journal/articles/art002.HTML The above discussion leads us to the conclusion that the Sikh Gurus made people aware of the fact that it is very difficult to distinguish between a plant and an animal, therefore, it is difficult to distinguish between a vegetarian and a non-vegetarian diets and there is no sin of eating food originating from plants or animals. . ^ Mini Encyclopaedia of Sikhism by H.S. Singha, Hemkunt Press, Delhi. http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=8170102006 The practice of the Gurus is uncertain. Guru Nanak seems to have eaten venison or goat, depending upon different janamsakhi versions of a meal which he cooked at Kurukshetra which evoked the criticism of Brahmins. Guru Amardas ate only rice and lentils but this abstention cannot be regarded as evidence of vegetarianism, only of simple living. Guru Gobind Singh also permitted the eating of meat but he prescribed that it should be Jhatka meat and not Halal meat that is jagged in the Muslim fashion. . ^ Siques, Tigers or Thieves Parmjit Singh & Amandeep Singh Madra http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=978140396201 . ^ William Francklin in his writing about Mr George Thomas 1805 The Seiks receive Proselytes of almost every Cast, a point in which they differ most materially from the Hindoos. To initiate Mohammedans into their mysteries, they prepare a Dish of Hogs legs, which the Converts are obliged to partake of, previous to admissionâ¦â¦â¦â¦â¦â¦..They are not prohibited the use of Animal food of any kind, excepting Beef, which they are rigidly scrupulous in abstaining from. . ^ Extract from an officer in the Bengal Army and is taken from the Asiatic Annual Register 1809 The seiks are remarkably fond of the flesh of the jungle hog, which they kill in chase: this food is allowable by their law. They likewise eat of mutton and fish; but these being unlawful the Brahmins will not partake, leaving those who chose to transgress their institutes to answer for themselves. . ^ John Griffiths writes in February 17th 1794 Now become a Singh, he is a heterodox, and distinct from the Hindoos by whom he is considered an apostate. He is not restricted in his diet, but is allowed, by the tenets of his new religion, to devour whatever food his appetite may prompt, excepting beef. . ^ Sikhs and Sikhism by I.J. Singh, Manohar, Delhi http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9788173040580 . ^ Grewal, J.S. Sikh History from Persian Sources: Translations of Major Texts http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Special:Booksources&isbn=9788185229171 Many person became his disciples. Nanak believed in the Oneness of God and in the way that it is asserted in Muhammadan theology. He also believed in transmigration of souls. Holding wine and pork to be unlawful, he had [himself] abandoned eating meat. He decreed avoidance of causing harm to animals. It was after his time that meat-eating spread amongst his followers. Arjan Mal, who was on of his lineal succesors, found this to be evil. He prohibited people from eating meat, saying "This is not in accordance with Nanak's wishes". Later, Hargobind, son of Arjan Mal, ate meat and took to hunting. Most of their [the Gurus] followers adopted his practice . . ^ http://searchgurbani.com/main.php?book=bhai_gurdas_vaaran&action=pauripage&vaar=23&pauri=13 The proud elephant is inedible and none eats the mighty lion. Goat is humble and hence it is respected everywhere. On occasions of death, joy, marriage, yajna, etc only its meat dis accepted. Among the householders its meat is acknowledged as sacred and with its gut stringed instruments are made. From its leather the shoes are made to be used by the saints merged in their meditation upon the Lord. Drums are mounted by its skin and then in the holy congregation the delight-giving kirtan, eulogy of the Lord, is sung. In fact, going to the holy congregation is the same as going to the shelter of the true Guru. (MORE)
There are some German vegetarian foods. Click on the link below, under 'Related links', for recipes.
That depends; the FDA and USDA requirements for removal of bugs in vegetables is not as strict as the Jewish commandment to not eat any. So while technically yes, what is called vegetarian may in fact not be 100% free of animal or bug product.
Someone who does not eat any product by which an animal was killed for. Not only meat but also gelatin which is also in many types of sweets and of course jelly.
Vegetarians do not eat the flesh of animals, including mammals, birds, and fish. Many vegetarians (strict vegetarians or vegans) do not eat anything that comes from an animal including eggs, milk and other dairy products, gelatin, and honey.
Pizza Pasta--Pomodoro is my favorite sauce A good Asian stir fry Indian curries Mexican food Veggie sushi Thai food Lentil soup Minestrone A good sandwich w/avocado Smoothies Brown rice Beans Organic, locally grown fruits and veggies
It's bad for your karma. Excessive meat consumption has been linked to cancer, obesity, heart disease, gout, digestive disturbances...most of these diseases are preventable...
The answer here depends upon the prison in question. An inmate in a federal prison can request a vegetarian diet on religious grounds. State prisons will vary in practice from facility to facility.
It depends on how strict you are as a vegetarian. Some rule out all animal products which is called vegan-ism (a branch of vegetarianism), but most only avoid animal meats while eating all other types of food, including tofu, veggie burgers, grains, etc.
No, there are some vegetarians and vegans with soy allergies. They get their protein through nuts, nut butters, sunflower and other seeds, seitan, tempeh, beans, grains, leafy green vegetables, and other great food.
Vegetarian foods do not contain meat or animal flesh in them. Non-Vegetarian products will contain meat in them.
Singapore boasts of a large variety in its vegetarian cuisine. Youwill find many Buddhist originated Chinese vegetarian stalls/hotelsserving you vegetarian dishes that retain their unique flavour,from soya-beans to omelet made of bean curd. What's more, Singaporehas its very own vegetarian society.
Beans, soymilk, tofu, peanut butter, soy yogurt, bagel, veggie dogs, spaghetti, sunflower seeds, whole wheat bread, peas, almonds, cashews, rice, potatoes. There are a lot of others, but those are some basic. Hope I helped :)
Alfalfa sprouts . Almonds - soaked . Apricots . Avocados . Bananas . Beets . Beet greens . Broccoli sprouts . Blackcurrants . Blueberries . Brazil nuts . Carob . Carrot juice . Chick peas (Garbanzo beans) . Chick pea sprouts . Dandelion greens . Fenugreek sprouts . Figs . Flaxseeds… - ground . Garlic . Ginger . Ginkgo . Ginseng . Goji berries . Grapefruit . Grapes . Kale . Kelp . Kiwis . Lentil sprouts . Melons . Millet . Molasses - dark . Mung bean sprouts . Oats - sprouts . Papaya . Parsley . Pumpkin seeds - soaked . Quinoa . Shiitake mushrooms . Spirulina . Sunflower greens . Sunflower sprouts . Sunflower yogurt . Sweet potatoes . Vegetable juices . Walnuts . Wheat germ (MORE)
Spinach is the highest but A LOT of vegetables contain a lot of iron. Arugula is a delicious green that is filled with iron. It's great with spinach, another great source of iron, to make a delicious salad. With some capers and a balsamic vinegar you've got a complete and delicious salad. Cooked s…pinach is really good with rices and sandwiches. Arugula is great without being cooked. It's perfect for salads, sandwiches and even as a garnish I guess. Molasses, parsley whole wheat bread fortified soy milk. (MORE)
vegetables! peas, beans, nuts, lentils, etc. and of course dairy, which only vegans don't eat.
Vegetarain food has always been around. It was one of the first life forms on Earth, in the means of plants and nuts.
Vegetables are rich in fiber especially green leafy vegetables. This helps prevent constipation and promotes good bowel movements.
Answer: No. Excessive meat eating is associated with circulatory system diseases and cancer, the two leading causes of death in the U.S. Meat can also have concentrated amounts of heavy metals, pesticide residues, unnecessary drugs, saturated fat and cholesterol. Excessive protein can strain the ki…dneys as well. Answer: Yes, in many cases it can be healthier to have a balanced diet of meat, vegetables, and fruits than with the exclusion of animals products. (MORE)
There's a whole range of foods you can eat. There is a broad spectrum of vegetables and fruits, as well as nuts, seeds, grains, and lentils. Depending on personal choice of type of vegetarian diet, it may include dairy and eggs. If so, this opens up to include a range of cheese and yoghurt, as well… as a majority of most baked goods. The range of food is extensive, how extensive is up to how imaginative you can be with these ingredients. (MORE)
Yes and no... ANY food can make you fat if you eat more calories than you burn every day. Fortunately, vegetables are very low in calories when considering the volume of food.
Vegetarians can eat birds but then they are not vegetarians any more. Some vegetarians eat eggs.
A simple answer like meatless foods helps some but it is necessary to realize that vegetarians come in varying degrees of "meatlessness". You should ask the vegetarians you are preparing the food for what their own personal limits are. Some vegetarians just don't eat meat (cattle, sheep, chickens e…tc.) but will eat animal products (eggs, cheese, butter). Some exclude meat but will eat fish. Some exclude food with any relation to animals including some types of fish oil based vitamins. Jains (an Indian religion) are vegetarians but also exclude root vegetables and seeds that represent entire living plants or potential plants. (MORE)
Vegetarians don't eat the flesh of any animals, including mammals,fish, birds, and mollusks (e.g. clams). Ovo-vegetarians include eggs in their diet. Lacto-vegetarians include milk, cheese, and other dairy products. Ovo-lacto-vegetarians include both. Vegans include neither. Strict vegans don't eat …other productsproduced by animals, such as honey. Some people who avoid eating mammals but who eat fish, or possiblybirds, call themselves vegetarians, but this is incorrect. Vegetarians eat fruits, vegetables, and grains, and any otherplant-based products. Common sources of vegetable protein arebeans, nuts, tofu, and other processed soy products such asvegetable burgers. (MORE)
Can they? Yes. Should they? No. Canned foods are very high in sodium and are processed. Everyone should stick to fresh food if they have the option.
Because animal bi products are in everything these days and we need to pick out what could possibly not be vegetarian, unless of course the labelling has 'Suitable for Vegetarians' or a vegetarian symbol on it.
Non-vegetarian food would be something containing meat. Since plants do not contain meat, they are considered vegetarian.
There's a stronger link between (red) meat and cancer. VegetarianFoods are generally not considered adding to cancer risks.
If you are vegetarian , you can eat cheese. But if you're vegan , you cannot - it contains product of an animal, which vegans do not eat.
watermelon water cress wafers walnuts wasabi - a condiment water chestnuts water crackers wax beans Weet bix wheat berry stew wheat germ white bean chilli/ chowder/ dip/ pate white rice wholemeal bread wild bamboo shoots wild mushrooms wild rice winged beans Winte…r nellis pears Winter melon Winter vegetable casserole Wu Hsiang tou fu kan (MORE)
If your buying food from the shops, check the ingredients list before you buy. Make sure you check anything you aren't completely sure about, one google search is enough.
There is no issue with Jews eating vegetarian food. However, religiously observant Jews would require that the food in question be kosher.
What do you mean 'get' a vegetarian ?? If you mean become one or what is a vegetarian it means someone who doesn't eat meat.
almost everything just no meat xD you can almost make everything without meat or with a soja burger/meatreplacer
Fish are animals, so by definition are not vegetarian food. Vegetarian food comes solely from plant matter, fungi, or other non-animals sources. There are many people who essentially eat a vegetarian diet that is supplemented with fish or other seafood.
Vegetarian food does not contain any meat, or meat products (such as gelatine). It can contain dairy products or eggs. Non vegetarian food has meat or meat products in. Note: When I say meat, I include fish. (vegetarians that eat fish are called pesketarians)
I'm not entirely certain what you mean here. If it's about ahuman eating bear meat, or if it's about what the bear eats. . A bear is an animal, a mammal. Its body consists of meat.Vegetarians are not meant to eat meat. . You "can't" eat bear meat and still be 100% vegetarian. . Bears eat mostly p…lant material, but can eat meat. They'reconsidered omnivores. . The word vegetarian refers to a human who have chosen not to eatmeat. Animals that don't eat meat are generally calledherbivores. (MORE)
Vegetarians aren't big fans of their food being covered in meat. I was once given a plate of veggie spring rolls which they had put on the same plate as my brother's prime ribs. Surprisingly they were no longer vegetarian after being covered in some form of meaty BBQ sauce.
Well, this is basic: meat. The main goal of vegetarianism is to abstain of consuming animal meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, etc. Either for ethical reasons, healthy reasons, environmental reasons or religious reasons.
Of course it is! 'Vegetarian food' is just the other categories in the food pyramid -- Grains, fruits, vegetables, dairy. There's nothing unhealthy about eating vegetarian. You'll be consuming less saturated fats, which lowers your risk of cardiovascular disease as well. If you're planning on becomi…ng vegetarian; make sure you know enough about what vitamins and minerals you'll be compensating for. If you don't know how to supplement your protein, iron, omega 3,6 and 9; you could end up with problems like low iron or fatigue. Soy alternatives are a very good source of most of these vitamins, just replace your meat with vegetarian friendly chicken or beef products (MORE)
First off : Tapioca and Sabudana are derived from two differentplants: Tapioca from the root of Cassava plant. Sabudana from the stem ofthe sago palm. However, both are starches from plants and the only processing doneis to dry and powder them to convert them into usable form. 100%vegetarian. No ee…ls! As regards to Agyaras and other fasts, many grains are notpermitted because they might be of "tamasik" or "rajasik" nature,meaning not wholesome for the body. Certain fasting like "Ekadashi"do not permit rice or wheat to be eaten, this doesn't mean they arenon-vegetarian Go ahead, and enjoy saboodana.. (MORE)
Dr. Zakir Naiz in his book 'Answers to non musims common questions'reply to this question as; 'Vegetarianism' is nowa movement the world over. Many even associate it with animalrights. Indeed, a large number of people consider the consumptionof meat and other non-vegetarian products to be a violat…ion ofanimal rights. Islam enjoins mercy andcompassion for all living creatures. At the same time Islam maintains thatAllah has created the earth and its wondrous flora and fauna forthe benefit of mankind. It is up to mankind to use every resourcein this world judiciously, as a niyamat (Divine blessing) andamanat (trust) from Allah. Let us look at variousother aspects of this argument. 1. A Muslim canbe a pure vegetarian A Muslim can be a verygood Muslim despite being a pure vegetarian. It is not compulsoryfor a Muslim to have non-vegetarian food. 2. Qur'anpermits Muslims to have non-vegetarian food The Qur'an, howeverpermits a Muslim to have non-vegetarian food. The followingQur'anic verses are proof of this fact: "O ye whobelieve! Fulfil (all) obligations. Lawful unto you (for food) areall four-footed animals with the exceptions named." [Al-Qur'an5:1] "And cattle Hehas created for you (men): from them Ye derive warmth, and numerousbenefits, And of their (meat) ye eat." [Al-Qur'an16:5] "And in cattle(too) ye have an instructive example: From within their bodies Weproduce (milk) for you to drink; there are, in them, (besides),numerous (other) benefits for you; and of their (meat) yeeat." [Al-Qur'an23:21] 3. Meat isnutritious and rich in complete protein Non-vegetarian food isa good source of excellent protein. It contains biologicallycomplete protein i.e. all the 8 essential amino acid that are notsynthesized by the body and should be supplied in the diet. Meatalso contains iron, vitamin B1 and niacin. 4. Humans haveOmnivorous set of teeth If you observe theteeth of herbivorous animals like the cow, goat and sheep, you willfind something strikingly similar in all of them. All these animalshave a set of flat teeth i.e. suited for herbivorous diet. If youobserve the set of teeth of the carnivorous animals like the lion,tiger, or leopard, they all have a set of pointed teeth i.e. suitedfor a carnivorous diet. If you analyse the set of teeth of humans,you find that they have flat teeth as well as pointed teeth. Thusthey have teeth suited for both herbivorous as well as carnivorousfood i.e. they are omnivorous. One may ask, if Almighty God wantedhumans to have only vegetables, why did He provide us also withpointed teeth? It is logical that He expected us to need and tohave both vegetarian as well as non-vegetarian food. 5. Human beingscan digest both vege-tarian and non-vegetarian food The digestive system ofherbivorous animals can digest only vegetables. The digestivesystem of carnivorous animals can digest only meat. But thedigestive system of humans can digest both vegetarian andnon-vegetarian food. If Almighty God wanted us to have onlyvegetables then why did He give us a digestive system that candigest both vegetarian as well as non-vegetarian food? 6. Hinduscriptures give permission to have non-vegetarian food a. There are manyHindus who are strictly vegetarian. They think it is against theirreligion to consume non-vegetarian food. But the true fact is thatthe Hindu scriptures permit a person to have meat. The scripturesmention Hindu sages and saints consuming non-vegetarian food. b. It is mentioned inManu Smruti, the law book of Hindus, in chapter 5 verse 30 "The eater whoeats the flesh of those to be eaten does nothingbad , even if he does it day after day, for God himselfcreated some to be eaten and some to be eater." c. Again next verse ofManu Smruti, that is, chapter 5 verse 31 says " Eating meat isright for the sacrifice; this is traditionally known as arule of the gods." d. Further in ManuSmruti chapter 5 verse 39 and 40 says "God himself createdsacrificial animals for sacrifice, ... , therefore killingin a sacrifice is not killing ." e. MahabharataAnushashan Parva chapter 88 narrates the discussion betweenDharmaraj Yudhishthira and Pitamah Bhishma about what food oneshould offer to Pitris (ancestors) during the Shraddha (ceremony ofdead) to keep them satisfied. Paragraph reads as follows: "Yudhishthira said, "Othou of great puissance, tell me what that object is which, ifdedicated to the Pitiris (dead ancestors), becomeinexhaustible! What Havi, again, (ifoffered) lasts for all time? What, indeed, is that which (if presented) becomeseternal?" "Bhishma said, "Listento me, O Yudhishthira, what those Havis are which personsconversant with the rituals of the Shraddha (the ceremony of dead)regard as suitable in view of Shraddha and what the fruits are thatattach to each. With sesame seeds and rice and barely and Masha andwater and roots and fruits, if given at Shraddhas, the pitris, Oking, remain gratified for the period of a month. With fishes offered at Shraddhas, the pitris remaingratified for a period of two months. With the mutton they remain gratified for three months andwith the hare for four months, with the flesh ofthe goat for five months, with the bacon (meat of pig) for six months, and with the flesh of birds for seven. With venison obtainedfrom those deer that are called Prishata, theyremaingratified for eight months, and with that obtained from theRuru for nine months, and with the meat of Gavaya for ten months, With the meat of the bufffalo their gratification lasts for eleven months. With beef presented at the Shraddha, theirgratification, it is said, lasts for a full year. Payasa mixed withghee is as much acceptable to the pitris as beef. With the meat of Vadhrinasa (a large bull) thegratification of pitris lasts for twelve years. The fleshof rhinoceros , offered to the pitris on anniversaries ofthe lunar days on which they died, becomes inexhaustible. Thepotherb called Kalaska, the petals of kanchana flower, and meat of (red) goat also, thus offered, proveinexhaustible. So but natural if youwant to keep your ancestors satisfied forever, you should servethem the meat of red goat. 7. Hinduism wasinfluenced by other religions Though Hindu Scripturespermit its followers to have non-vegetarian food, many Hindus adopted thevegetarian system because they were influenced by other religionslike Jainism. 8. Even plantshave life Certain religions haveadopted pure vegetarianism as a dietary law because they aretotally against the killing of living creatures. If a person cansurvive without killing any living creature, I would be the firstperson to adopt such a way of life. In the past people thoughtplants were lifeless. Today it is a universal fact that even plantshave life. Thus their logic of not killing living creatures is notfulfilled even by being a pure vegetarian. 9. Even plantscan feel pain They further argue thatplants cannot feel pain; therefore killing a plant is a lessercrime as compared to killing an animal. Today science tells us thateven plants can feel pain. But the cry of the plant cannot be heardby the human being. This is due to the inability of the human earto hear sounds that are not in the audible range i.e. 20 Hertz to20,000 Hertz. Anything below and above this range cannot be heardby a human being. A dog can hear up to 40,000 Hertz. Thus there aresilent dog whistles that have a frequency of more than 20,000 Hertzand less than 40,000 Hertz. These whistles are only heard by dogsand not by human beings. The dog recognizes the masters whistle andcomes to the master. There was research done by a farmer in U.S.A.who invented an instrument which converted the cry of the plant sothat it could be heard by human beings. He was able to realizeimmediately when the plant itself cried for water. Latestresearches show that the plants can even feel happy and sad. It canalso cry. 10. Killing aliving creature with two senses less is not a lessercrime Once a vegetarianargued his case by saying that, plants only have two or threesenses while the animals have five senses. Therefore killing aplant is a lesser crime than killing an animal. Suppose yourbrother is born deaf and dumb and has two senses less as comparedto other human beings. He becomes mature and someone murders him.Would you ask the judge to give the murderer a lesser punishmentbecause your brother has two senses less? In fact you would saythat he has killed a masoom, an innocent person, and the judgeshould give the murderer a greater punishment. In fact the Qur'ansays: "O ye people!Eat of what is on earth, lawful and good" [Al-Qur'an2:168] 11. Overpopulation of cattle If every human beingwas a vegetarian, it would lead to overpopulation of cattle in theworld, since their reproduction and multiplication is very swift.Allah (swt) in His Divine Wisdom knows how to maintain the balanceof His creation appropriately. No wonder He has permitted us tohave the meat of the cattle. 12. Cost ofmeat is reasonable since all aren't non-vegetarians I do not mind if somepeople are pure vegetarians. However they should not condemnnon-vegetarians as ruthless. In fact if all Indians becomenon-vegetarians then the present non-vegetarians would be loserssince the prices of meat would rise. (MORE)
Hinduscriptures give permission to have non-vegetarian food a. There are many Hindus who are strictly vegetarian. They think itis against their religion to consume non-vegetarian food. But thetrue fact is that the Hindu scriptures permita person to have meat. The scriptures mention Hindu sages …andsaints consuming non-vegetarian food. b. It is mentioned in Manu Smruti, the law book of Hindus, inchapter 5 verse 30 "The eater whoeats the flesh of those to be eaten does nothingbad , even if he does it day after day, for God himselfcreated some to be eaten and some to be eater." c. Again next verse of Manu Smruti, that is, chapter 5 verse 31says " Eating meat isright for the sacrifice, this is traditionally known as arule of the gods." d. Further in Manu Smruti chapter 5 verse 39 and 40 says "God himself createdsacrificial animals for sacrifice, ... , therefore killingin a sacrifice is not killing ." e. Mahabharata Anushashan Parva chapter 88 narrates the discussionbetween Dharmaraj Yudhishthira and Pitamah Bhishma about what foodone should offer to Pitris (ancestors) during the Shraddha(ceremony of dead) to keep them satisfied. Paragraph reads asfollows: "Yudhishthira said, "Othou of great puissance, tell me what that object is which, ifdedicated to the Pitiris (dead ancestors), becomeinexhaustible! What Havi, again, (ifoffered) lasts for all time? What, indeed, is that which (if presented) becomeseternal?" "Bhishma said, "Listento me, O Yudhishthira, what those Havis are which personsconversant with the rituals of the Shraddha (the ceremony of dead)regard as suitable in view of Shraddha and what the fruits are thatattach to each. With sesame seeds and rice and barely and Masha andwater and roots and fruits, if given at Shraddhas, the pitris, Oking, remain gratified for the period of a month. With fishes offered at Shraddhas, the pitris remaingratified for a period of two months. With the mutton they remain gratified for three months andwith the hare for four months, with the flesh of thegoat for five months, with the bacon (meat ofpig) for six months, and with the flesh ofbirds for seven. With venison obtained from those deer that are called Prishata, theyremaingratified for eight months, and with that obtained from theRuru for nine months, and with the meat of Gavaya for ten months, Withthe meat of the bufffalo their gratification lasts for eleven months. With beef presented at the Shraddha, theirgratification, it is said, lasts for a full year. Payasa mixed withghee is as much acceptable to the pitris as beef. With the meat of Vadhrinasa (a largebull) the gratification of pitris lasts for twelve years.The flesh of rhinoceros ,offered to the pitris on anniversaries of the lunar days on whichthey died, becomes inexhaustible. The potherb called Kalaska, thepetals of kanchana flower, and meat of (red) goat also, thus offered,prove inexhaustible. So but natural if you want to keep yourancestors satisfied forever, you should serve them the meat of redgoat. Hinduism wasinfluenced by other religions Though Hindu Scripturespermit its followers to have non-vegetarian food, many Hindus adopted thevegetarian system because they were influenced by other religionslike Jainism. (MORE)
Neither. Whoever is more obese can survive off usable fat before the body starts eating muscle to eventually include the essential organs. Metabolic rates and level of activity also dictate overall energy consumption. In the end, calories in are calories stored. Meat is generally more calorically d…ense per unit of food versus many veggies, excluding the nut family which have oils that provide ample fats. (MORE)