Who was the first President of Burkina Faso?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

Maurice Yaméogo was the first President of Upper Volta, later renamed Burkina Faso.
Thomas Isidore Noël Sankara was the President who changed the country's name to Burkina Faso.

Maurice Yaméogo was the President of Upper Volta from 1958 October 21 to 1966 January 3. He was previously the acting President from 1958 July 22, and continued as President of Upper Volta after independence from France on 1960 August 5. He would make it a one-party state by outlawing opposition parties.

Thomas Sankara was the President from 1983 August 4 to 1987 October 15. He came to power in a military coup. He renamed the country Burkina Faso on 1984 August 4. His presidency ended with his assassination and another coup.
6 people found this useful

Where is Burkina Faso?

Burkina Faso is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Ghanaand Togo to the south, Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) to thesouthwest, Mali to the northwest, Niger to the northe

Who is the President of Burkina Faso?

Roch Marc Christian Kaboré is the President of Burkina Faso.He was elected in 2015, and took office on December 29 of thatyear. Kaboré has not served in the military, a

What was Burkina Faso formerly known as?

Burkina Faso used to be called Haute Volta in French or Upper Volta in English. That was before the young revolutionary socialist Thomas Sankara became president in the early