They are counted as a summon for any card that responds to simply 'a summon'.
You are allowed as many Flip Summons and Special Summons you want as long as there are monster zones available. A tribute summon is counted as a normal summon, and you are only allowed one normal summon per turn.
A Fusion Summon is a Special Summon and things that can be used against Special Summons can also be used against a Fusion Summon. But not all Special Summons are Fusion Summons, even if they do so happen to summon a Fusion Monster. For example, Cyber Stein Special Summons a fusion monster, it does not Fusion Summon it.
no, special summons are NOT the same as normal summons. special summons require a special card or effect to happen, cards such as monster reborn or return from the different dimension. normal summons are just when you directly play a monster from your hand without any other additional card effects
No. A Tribute Summon is a kind of Normal Summon. Special Summons are just Special Summons even if the special summon requires some form of Tribute. That does not make it a Tribute Summon.
Special Summons only need tribute if the summoning text specifically say they do. Generally tribute is only required for a Normal Summon or Set.
Shinning Angel
You can perform as many special summons per turn as you are able to, as well as your one Normal Summon and any Flip Summons.
Yes you can. You may perform as many Special Summons (Synchro Summons are Special Summons) in a turn as you have the resources to do so, as well as your one-per-turn Normal Summon/Set. You can do them in any order, either before or after your turn Normal Summon.
yes
Yes, of course. You are allowed to perform as many special summons in a turn as you've got the resources to do so, Synchro and Fusion summons are kinds of special summon.
You obviously have the option of Solemn Judgement being like it, but even that is not worth it. Royal Oppression focusses mainly on Special Summons, and the life point cost is to even out the power. Because it is to do with those, run a deck that does not make use of Special Summons, such as a Gadget or Monarch deck. Also, remember that Fusion Summons are not considered to be Special Summons.
No, it can't be used against a summon which occurs on resolution of an activated monster effect. It can only stop inherent special summons such as Synchro Summons or Chaos Sorcerer, and it can stop special summons from the resolution of spells or traps, by negating the activation of the spell or trap.