answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

PA Age for Emancipation In Pennsylvania, the legal age of majority is NOT 21 any more. It is 18. So once you are 18, you can legally move out. Some counties within Pennsylvania do not participate in the emancipation process.

Pennsylvania does not have established grounds or procedure for emancipation. The legal age of majority is 21, because of this it is possible to petition the court for the "removal of disability of age" if the person is at least 18-years-old. The state's legal age of majority is 21. There are not grounds nor procedures established in Pennsylvania for the emancipation of a minor. However, due to the age of majority it is possible to file a petition requesting emancipation rights if you are at least eighteen. Exceptions are seldom made unless the circumstances indicate the necessity of the granting of emancipation rights to insure the well-being of the persons involved. A minor child needs to be at least 16 years old. Emancipation procedures differ somewhat in all the 67 PA. counties. Department of Human Services combined with REAAP handles emancipation requests, 1-215-686-8328. If the minor is in an abusive or neglectful situation they should contact DHS in their county or city. If they feel they and/or other family member(s) are in immediate danger, call the local police department or 911 for emergency assistance.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-07-28 17:10:19
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: At what age can you be emancipated in Pennsylvania?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is the age to be emancipated in penn?

A minor can be emancipated at the age of 16 and above in the state of Pennsylvania. The minor will have to retain an attorney and file a motion with the courts.


Can you get emancipated in Pennsylvania at the age of 14?

Not until you are 18, nope.


At age 16 can someone become legally emancipated in Blair County Pennsylvania?

no you can,t.


Are you legally emancipated at 17 if you are dropped out of school in PA?

If you drop out of school at age 17 in Pennsylvania, it does not legally emancipate you. You must petition the court and be emancipated by a judge.


At what age can you be emancipated in pa?

Emancipation laws vary in Pennsylvania from county to county. Many do not allow emancipation.


Can a 17 year old leave her parents and get child support until she is the majority age in Pennsylvania what is that age in Pennsylvania?

Well you can get emancipated and the government will help you pay for an apartment, bills and other necesities once your 16


What age is a child considered to be unemancipated in Pennsylvania?

There is no specific age for a child to become unemancipated. There are a variety of reasons why a child may want to become emancipated. In the state of Pennsylvania, there is no minimum age for emancipation however, there must be a reason for the child to request this status.


What is legal age for emancipation philadelphai?

Age will not matter, as Pennsylvania is one of 15 states without an Emancipation Statute. Which means you will not be able to become emancipated. If you are not safe, contact social services so they can get you to a safe place. The age of majority in Pennsylvania is 18.


In El Paso Texas can you get emancipated at the age of 16?

can i get emancipated at the age of 16


Can at age 16 someone become legally emancipated in Philadelphia Pennsylvania?

The applicable statute does NOT specify at what age this may occur. See the below link for explicit information;


Can a 16-year-old in Pennsylvania move out without parental consent and live with a person who's under the age of 18?

Only if they have been emancipated.


Can a 16 year old buy a car in his name in pa?

Unless you are legally emancipated, the answer is no.


Can you move out of your parents' house at age 15 in California and how would you do it?

Yes, if you get emancipated. Otherwise the legal age of majority with the exception of four states is 18. In Alabama and Nebraska it is 19, in Mississippi and Pennsylvania it is 21.


Legal age to rent an apartment in pa?

The legal age required to rent an apartment in Pennsylvania is 18 years old. There are some exceptions to rule. If you are emancipated then you would be able to rent an apartment if you are younger.


Do you have to be emancipated to move out from your parents at the age 16 in Alberta?

Do you have to be emancipated to move out from your parents at the age 16 in alberta?


At age 16 can someone become legally emancipated in Montgomery County Pennsylvania?

The laws of emancipation in Pennsylvania vary from county to county. Montgomery County has never granted an emancipation request. It appears that they do not feel that they have been authorized to do so.


In Pennsylvania Can a 18 year old withdraw from high school without being emancipated?

At the age of 18 years old, the person is no longer considered a child. They are now considered an adult and would not need to be emancipated to do anything, including dropping out of high school.


What happens to an emancipated child that is under age in Connecticut?

If they are emancipated, they are no longer considered 'under age.' In order to be emancipated, they have to show that they can take care of themselves and have financial stability.


If your 17 and pregnant are you emancipated?

Pregnancy does no emancipate you. it's your age that that does that so if 17 is the legal age in your state , you are emancipated. Otherwise not.


Can a chid be emancipated at age 20?

Typically a child is emancipated when they reach the age of 18. There would be no reason to emancipate them, they are an adult.


If you have a child at the age of 15 are you automaticly emancipated?

no you have to apply through the courts to be emancipated


When can a minor be emancipated?

in Washington state a minor can legally be emancipated at the age of 16


Can you get emancipated at 16 in pa?

No, you cannot do that in Pennsylvania. They have not passed an emancipation statute.


Can a 16 year old move out of their parents home in Pennsylvania without permission?

only if you become emancipated and you would still need their signature. You are a minor until the age of 18 years.


How do you get emancipated in Texas at age 17?

in Texas you are a legal adult at seventeen you don't have to get emancipated