answersLogoWhite

0

It depends.

If the Monster declares an attack or already attacked and it is switched to defense position by a card effect (like Enemy Controller or Book of Moon for example) the Monster's position cannot be changed by you, the controller, because it declared an attack already. A Monster's position cannot be changed by their controller for the rest of a turn after they declared attacked with it.

If the Monster did not attack yet this turn and their position is changed due to a card effect, it can be changed by the controller.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

When a face up defense position monster is switched to attack mode can it still attack?

Unless there is a card effect preventing it, it can attack.


If a monster attacks a defense position monster and is itself changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain can it be destroyed by battle if the opposing monster's defense is higher?

If the attacking monster is switched into Defence position, the attack ends. Damage Calculation is not entered, you do not compare the monsters' ATK or DEF.


Can you change a monster from attack position to defense position after it has attacked?

Not manually, no. A monster that has declared an attack that turn, may not switch into defence mode. But it can be switched by the effect of other cards, including their own, in the case of Goblin Attack Force.


If a monster attacks a defense position monster and is itself changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain can it be destroyed by battle if the opposing monster's defense?

No, if a monster attacks a defense position monster and is then changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain, it cannot be destroyed by battle. In this scenario, the attacking monster is no longer in attack position and thus does not have to compare its attack points to the defense points of the opposing monster. Instead, the battle is resolved in such a way that the attacking monster remains in defense position, and the battle does not result in destruction for either monster.


When you flip a monster in attack mode and not attack can you switch it to defense position after?

Yes if you wait a turn


Does damage calculation count if a defense position monster is destroyed?

In Yu-Gi-Oh!, when a Defense Position monster is destroyed, damage calculation does not occur. Instead, the monster is sent to the graveyard without involving damage calculation, as it is not in Attack Position. The player does not take any battle damage from the destruction of a Defense Position monster.


Can you Tribute Summon a monster in face up Defense position?

You cannot tribute summon a monster in face up defense position. You can either tribute summon a monster in face down defense or face up attack position. If you want to summon in face up defense, you need to special summon.


When you attack a face up defense position monster on yugio and it has a higher defense than the atk of your monster what happens does your monster get sent to the graveyard?

No. When a monster you control attacks a monster with a Defense higher then the Attack of your monster, you take damage equal to the difference but neither monster is destroyed. The only exception is due to card effects such as Des Kangaroo.


Can you attack with a monster that has its battle position changed to attack position during the same turn?

Yes, that is allowed. You cannot, however, attack and then change to defense in the same turn.


Why can't you summon a monster in face-up Defense position?

The core rules state that a Normal Summon places the monster in face-up Attack position, and a Set places it in face-down Defense position. Special Summons are face-up Attack or Defense position, unless stated otherwise. If the continuous Trap card 'Light of Intervention' is active, monsters can be Normal Summoned in face-up Defense position.


In Yu-Gi-Oh can you turn a card from defense to attack position or attack to defense position?

Yes. Once per turn, a monster may switch from face-up attack mode to face-up defence mode, or vice-versa, as long as the monster was not summoned that turn, and had not declared an attack. If the monster is face-down, then turning it face up into attack mode is a Flip Summon, which can't be done on the turn the monster was Set from hand.


Can you attack with a monster and then put it in defence?

Yes, if you control a monster in defense mode and it is changed to attack mode during the Battle Phase by a card effect, it can attack. The "Zero Gravity" Trap card is an example of a card that can switch your monsters' battle position during the Battle Phase. But if the monster already attacked that turn, was switched to defense mode, then changed to attack mode again by an effect, it cannot attack again on that same turn.