In Yu-Gi-Oh!, when a Defense Position monster is destroyed, damage calculation does not occur. Instead, the monster is sent to the graveyard without involving damage calculation, as it is not in Attack Position. The player does not take any battle damage from the destruction of a Defense Position monster.
The monster is flipped into face-up defense position and any battle damage that occurs is calculated. Afterwards the monster that was attacked remains on the field and is not sent to the Graveyard.Examples of monsters that cannot be destroyed in battle are Spirit Reaper and Marshmallon.If a monster attacks with an effect that enables it to deal damage equal to the difference in its ATK and the defending monster's DEF (like Twin-Sword Marauder or a monster equipped with Big Bang Shot), the damage is calculated but the monster is still not destroyed in battle.
Answer: The "damage calculation is calculated normally" text in Spirit Reaper(SR) means if your SR is attacked while it's on attack position then you will lose LP for that battle but SR won't be destroyed and sent to the graveyard as a result of battle because of it's card effect.Answer!"Damage calculation" is the damage a player receives either due to a monster attacking or by a card effect. Damage calculation is done during the Damage Step of the Battle Phase. If a card's effect reads something like, When this Defense Position card is attacked and the ATK of the attacking monster is lower than the DEF of this card, after Damage Calculation destroy the attacking monster., then that means after damage is inflicted upon a player the rest of its effect activates destroying the attacking monster. More examples-Reflect Bounder: When card is face-up Attack Position and is attacked by a monster on your opponent's side of the field, before damage calculation is resolved in the Damage Step, this card inflicts damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the ATK of the attacking monster.This means before damage would be inflicted upon either player by the attack during the Damage Step, the monster's effect activates inflicting damage. Then damage is calculated.The Hunter With 7 Weapons: When this card is Normal Summoned, declare 1 Type of monster. When battling that Type of monster, increase the ATK of this card by 1000 points during Damage Calculation. What this translates into is that during the Damage Step, simple increase this card's attack by 1000.
The monster's ATK only matters during Damage Calculation itself. If a 'weaker' monster attacks a stronger one, but that weaker monster has an effect that boosts its ATK during Damage Calculation, then the weaker monster will survive if it then had the higher ATK. It doesn't matter that afterwards, its ATK goes back to normal - Damage Calculation is the part of the Damage Step where monsters are considered destroyed by battle, and the weaker monster had a higher ATK for that.
A very tricky question, though it might help to look at a somewhat similar card for the answer: Red Dragon Archfiend. After attacking a Defense Position monster, RDA will "destroy all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls". Even if RDA attacked and successfully destroyed a Mystic Tomato that was in Defense Position, Mystic Tomato would be removed from the field by RDA's effect and not be considered destroyed in battle.Though D.D. Warrior Lady banishes monsters instead of destroying them, it still removes them from the field just like RDA. Additionally, both of these effects also resolve at the same time during the Damage Step. In short, the only fundamental differences between D.D. Warrior Lady and RDA is how their effects activate and that the former banishes cards.In conclusion, since we know that Defense Position monsters RDA attacks are not considered destroyed in battle, then any and all monsters D.D. Warrior Lady would have successfully destroyed in battle, but are removed from play by her effect, are not considered destroyed in battle. This is because the destroyed monster was removed from the field by an effect, not as a direct result of being destroyed in battle.
The core rules state that a Normal Summon places the monster in face-up Attack position, and a Set places it in face-down Defense position. Special Summons are face-up Attack or Defense position, unless stated otherwise. If the continuous Trap card 'Light of Intervention' is active, monsters can be Normal Summoned in face-up Defense position.
If the attacking monster is switched into Defence position, the attack ends. Damage Calculation is not entered, you do not compare the monsters' ATK or DEF.
No, if a monster attacks a defense position monster and is then changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain, it cannot be destroyed by battle. In this scenario, the attacking monster is no longer in attack position and thus does not have to compare its attack points to the defense points of the opposing monster. Instead, the battle is resolved in such a way that the attacking monster remains in defense position, and the battle does not result in destruction for either monster.
Yes. If you hit a monster with higher defense than your attack, your attacking monster isn't destroyed, but you take damage. If the defending monster's defense is lower than your attack, then the defending monster is destroyed, but the defending player takes no damage, unless through an effect like "Dragon's Rage" or "Elemental Hero Flame Wingman"
No. When a monster you control attacks a monster with a Defense higher then the Attack of your monster, you take damage equal to the difference but neither monster is destroyed. The only exception is due to card effects such as Des Kangaroo.
If the attacking monster has lower ATK than the defence-position defender's DEF, then the defender is not destroyed at all. What will happen is the attacking player will take damage equal to the difference between the attacker's ATK and the defender's DEF, but neither monster will be destroyed.
When a monster attacks a defense position monster with DEF equal to to the attacking monster's ATK, no damage is inflicted to either player's Life Points and no monsters are destroyed in battle. Some monsters have effects that activate before or after they battle, so you must take those into account as well.
Relinquished's equipped monster is destroyed if Relinquished's ATK is lower than the foe's attacking monster's ATK. If Relinquished is in Defense position, its equipped monster is destroyed if its DEF is less than the attacking monster's ATK. Either way, Relinquished remains on the field.
You cannot tribute summon a monster in face up defense position. You can either tribute summon a monster in face down defense or face up attack position. If you want to summon in face up defense, you need to special summon.
The monster is flipped into face-up defense position and any battle damage that occurs is calculated. Afterwards the monster that was attacked remains on the field and is not sent to the Graveyard.Examples of monsters that cannot be destroyed in battle are Spirit Reaper and Marshmallon.If a monster attacks with an effect that enables it to deal damage equal to the difference in its ATK and the defending monster's DEF (like Twin-Sword Marauder or a monster equipped with Big Bang Shot), the damage is calculated but the monster is still not destroyed in battle.
If this card attacks a defense position monster your opponent controls, destroy all defense position monsters your opponent controls after damage calculation. During your end phase, destroy all of your monsters that did not declare an attack this turn.
Your monster is destroyed if the monster you attack is in attack position, and you lose life points.
You put a monster in face down defense position BUT your not allowed to normel summon a monster in defense postion.