answersLogoWhite

0

  • Children and the Law
  • Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out
  • Age of Consent & Underage Relationships

Can a minor move out if their parent or guardian physically abuses them?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2007-01-31 03:28:03

This is not legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. Consult the specific laws for the state and county in which you reside for the rules that apply. In most states, any 18 year old is considered an adult and is capable of deciding when and where they reside. They have the ability to contract for housing. SOME states allow minors to become emancipated under specific circumstances, but this is not just a matter of filling out some paperwork. A minor is the responsibility of their parents until such time as they reach the age of majority or are legally emancipated. The parents are required to provide for the support of their minor children. If the parents give permission, the minor can live in another location. Such permission does not relieve the parents of the responsibility to provide support. If the parents do not give permission, the minor can be considered a runaway. Charges may apply to individuals that aid and abet such runaways, particularly if they are under the age of consent. In some states it is my understanding that this is not enforced for 17 year olds that leave home. If you are subject to abuse, you should contact social services for your area. They will assist you in getting out of the bad environment and into a safe place.

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

Can a minor be issued a subpeona without a parent or guardian present?

No a minor must have a legal parent or guardian present in the court. The subpeona is for their case and their name will be on it, but they have to have a parent or guardian with them in the court.


Can a minor parent consent for her minor child?

Yes, she is the guardian of the child.


Does a parent of a minor child become the legal guardian of the minor child's offspring?

I would assume no


Is a parent needed to discharge a minor from a hospital?

Yes or legal guardian.


Can an 11 year old be questioned by police at school without a parent or guardian?

It is illegal for a minor to be searched or questioned without a parent or guardian present.


When a minor lives in Maryland and has been physically and verbally abused by the parent the minor does not live with in Florida does the minor have to visit the parent that abused them?

no you shouldn't but if you want to you can


What background is checked for custody purposes?

Criminal History - to check the suitability of the parent/guardian to raise the minor. Employment History (or Financial Rescources) - to check the ability of the parent/guardian to economically provide for the minor.


Can an adult text a minor?

If it is a parent or guardian than sure. But if it is a sexual relationship NO!!


Who is considered a dependant child?

Any minor person who you are the parent or legal guardian for.


How old do you have to be to get a lip piercing in Florida with consent?

Prohibits the piercing of a minor without the written, notarized consent of the parent or legal guardian. Consent may also be a parent or legal guardian accompanying the minor to receive the piercing.


Can you get a piercing in fl at 13?

The state of Florida prohibits the piercing of a minor without the written, notarized consent of the parent or legal guardian. Consent may also be a parent or legal guardian accompanying the minor to receive the piercing


Can a parent kick a minor child out in the state of north Carolina?

No, in no 'western' country can a parent of guardian abrogate their responsibilities to care for their children. If they do, the children will be taken into care and the parent guardian will be punished under the criminal law.


If your 14 are you required to see your parent?

You are required to see your parent or legal guardian as long as you are a minor unless you are emancipated. Different states have different age limits for emancipation of a minor.


Signatures for a minor child who files a tax return?

Minor children should sign their own tax return. If a child cannot sign his or her return, a parent or guardian can sign the child's name in the space provided at the bottom of the tax return followed by "By (signature), parent (or guardian) for minor child."


Does Missouri allow emancipation of a minor to their parent or guardian?

yes but you must be 16 years of age .


Who is responsible for medical expenses when a minor becomes pregnant?

Their legal parent(s) or guardian(s).


Can a 18 year old sign for a minors tattoo?

Not unless they are the parent or legal guardian of the minor.


Can a minor leave one guardian to be with the other even if they are in different states?

A minor can only move with parental consent and if the court ha given custody to one parent that is the parent the minor have to stay with. A minor can not choose who to live with until he is 18.


Can a step parent sign legal documents for a minor?

No. If the document calls for a parent or guardian it must be a parent or guardian. Unless the step parent has adopted the child or otherwise been awarded parental rights by the courts the legal parent must perform all legal functions


Can cops question a minor?

not without a parent or guardian gives permission, you would have the right as a minor too say " i would like to have a parent present" or " i would like to have an attorney present.


How do you emancipate yourself in the state of Michigan?

In Michigan at 16 you can petition the court for emancipation. Be aware that Michigan?s emancipation statute states that ONE of the requirements is: "the minor's parent or guardian does not object to the petition; or if a parent or guardian objects to the petition, that the objecting parent or guardian is not providing the minor with support"


Can a parent stop a marriage in Texas?

If the child is a minor (under 18yrs.), yes, the marriage can be stopped by a parent. The child can not marry without the consent of a parent/legal guardian or custodial parent.


How do you identify that parent suing on behalf of a minor?

John Doe on behalf of the minor John Doe, Jr. Or John Doe as guardian of the minor John Doe, Jr.


What is the legal age in Wisconsin?

I have read and heard that over all to purchase, posess, and consume by onesself is 21. When a minor is supervised by a parent or guardian who is 21 or older that minor may comsume alcohol as long as the minor stays with the parent.


Can the police question a minor whose parent or guardian is not present?

Yes if he is of legal age which is 14 and up