Emancipation and Ages for Moving Out

Can a pregnant teenager legally move out at age 16 in Alabama?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2009-04-26 02:14:05
2009-04-26 02:14:05

{| |- | No they cannot. Until they are adults they remain the responsibility of their parents. Being a parent under the age of majority does not change that. One must be at least 18 in Alabama to be considered for emancipation and the age of majority is 19. |}

User Avatar

Related Questions

No but 17 year olds and up can. You are considered an adult in alabama if pregnant.

NO! what kind of person are you? gosh

Legally a teenager under the age of 18 cannot move out of their parents home in Florida. This law applies even if the teenager has a child of their own and you would have to have permission from your parents.

Not in Alabama, until you are an adult, the parents are responsible for you. That would be 18 and until then they determine where you live.

The only way a 17 year old can move out on their own is to get legally emancipated. If the minor attempts to move out without emancipation, they can be charged as a runaway.

A 16 year old teenager can not legally move out on their own. In the state of Ohio, they are considered a minor.

The only way a child (anyone under the age of 18) can legally move out of the house is by emancipation. There is no emancipation status in New York. Refer to the link on the left "emancipation laws by state".

Being a pregnant teenager does not change the written laws of any state. If you are under age 18, you are still considered a "minor child" and will need your parent/guardian signature and approval to move out on your own.

You have to reach the age of majority. In Alabama, that means you have to be at least 19 years of age. Until then, your parents are responsible for you financially.

When you turn 18. Being pregnant/having a child does not emancipate a minor.

You can allow your daughter to move out of the house. It does not relieve you of your responsibilities for her welfare.

No, they cannot move out without parental permission. The key here is the age of majority (adulthood) in Alabama. If they are an adult, the parents are no longer responsible.

The age of majority (legal adulthood) for the entire state of Alabama is 19 unless you are married then it is 18. You must be 19 to be considered an adult and move out legally, unless you are married then you must be 18.

Being pregnant does not change the age of majority. In Texas you have to be 18 before you are an adult.

The legal age of majority in all but four states is 18. In Alabama and Nebraska it is 19 and in Mississippi and Pennsylvania it is 21.

By Alabama Constitutional law 19, by statutory law 18. Generally statutory law is the one applied unless mitigating circumstances are present.

Yes, but if the authorities find you they can take you back. But legally No you can't, not without parental consent.

Parents are liable for their children until they become legally adult.

The legal age of majority is 18. If you're 17 you need parental consent or to be legally emancipated.

Copyright ยฉ 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.