Best Answer

Yes, If still a minor the legal guardian (usually the parents) can be sued under parental liability statutes.

Yes, if the child was driving the parents vehicle at the time of the accident.

No, If your daughter is over 18 or otherwise emancipated by law and not driving the parents vehicle.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2011-09-20 10:48:17
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

When should a tire be replaced

Joel's car has depreciated by 39 percent over the past few years How much is his car worth today if he originally bought it for 2568946

Which of these groups of drivers would have the highest insurance rates

What type of insurance coverage includes bodily injury and property damage coverage

See all cards
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can parents be sued for liability for a child on their auto insurance policy while a child is not living with parent?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If your parents have insurance and your living with them do you have insurance on the cars?

Technically yes, the insurance goes straight to your family. But you can't tamper with it unless you have an ID and your parent's permission.

Can your parents have liability insurance when you have a learners permit?

Sure, just make sure yor parent also lists your name as an additional driver on the policy so that you can be covered to drive the vehicle as well.

How liable is a parent if a child is on their own insurance ploicy and they are 17?

Full liability, as the child is still a minor and the parents are responsible; on the other hand, at the age of 17, a teenager cannot legally enter in a contract, so the insurance policy is void and the insurance becomes just as liable.

What liability does a parent of an 18 year old in high school?

depending on the state, at 18 you are considered an adult and the parents usually do not hold in liability.

What is the parent's liability if their child is the driver at fault in an accident?

If the vehicle is titled to the parents then little chance of removing liability from mom and dad. If child is titled owner, and has their own auto policy then very likely the parent's can separate their own liability.

What is the rights of a teen parent that is still living at home with their parents in Illinois?

A teen parent living at home with their parents has the right and responsibility to raise their child and not leave it up to the grandparents to do it.

Does a parent have to add their name to a title that is listed on the parents auto insurance?


In Ohio Does a minor have to be on the parent's driving insurance?

A minor has to be on the insurance of a person 18 years or older - which is usually their parents.

What is the difference between an orphan and a kid with parents?

an orphan had parents but they left him and gave him to an orphanage and i kid with parents has parents that didn't leave answer: An orphan has no living parents. (In some cultures, "orphan" may indicate that you have one deceased parent and one living parent.)

Your son almost 20 bought his first car Does he have to get his own car insurance which is expensive or can the parent get car insurance for him and just add him as a driver?

That really depends on the situation. Most car insurance companies allow parents to pay for their son's car insurance IF he is living together with his parents AND that the car is garaged with them. If his son is living independently with his own car and has his own home where he can garage his car, then he will be paying his own car insurance. Any wrecks resulting in claims or ticket points will be held against the parent's premium if he is merely included on their policy.

Can a minor in the state of Florida have their own auto insurance policies or do they have to be placed on their parents' insurance?

In the state of Florida a minor cannot have an auto insurance policy unless a parent signs for it. Usually if said minor lives with their parents they are usually just put on their parent's policy

How old do you have to be to work in the animal shelters?

You need to be 18 due to insurance liability on the shelters part. But if you have a parent or guardian who is willing to volunteer with you then you're not a liability to the shelter and you should be all set.

People also asked