Auto insurance (or vehicle insurance) refers to the insurance purchased to protect vehicles against loss or damage caused by accident. It is usually a compulsory requirement in most countries for all vehicle owners.
Can you get auto insurance with just a learner's permit?
You can obtain your own auto insurance or you can be covered under someone else's policy such as your parents or the vehicle owners policy, but you must have coverage. If you are a minor and want your own policy, due to the limitations of contract law your parent or legal guardian will need to countersign your insurance application for it to be legally binding.
A Drivers Permit comes with all the responsibilities of anyone licensed or not who operates a motor vehicle on public roads, including our financial responsibility. No state provides exemption from Financial Responsibility Laws for minors or permitted drivers.
- You can get insurance with a permit. I live in Florida and got it with a Learners Permit
- Some Insurance Companies may not require you be added to the vehicle owners or parents policy until you complete your test and get your drivers license, but you can't drive uninsured in any event. It's best to contact your Insurance Company and ask what the policy is for newly permitted drivers.
Do you need auto insurance when you have a learner's permit?
More input from Wiki s contributors:
- In all 50 states, vehicle owners are required to carry some form of financial responsibility, generally, this requirement is filled by an automobile insurance policy, although in some states it may be satisfied by a bond or other form of security. When you or a member of your household owns a vehicle and you obtain a learner's permit, you must be added to the insurance policy that covers that vehicle as a household operator. Not all insurance companies will charge additional premium to add you as an operator..
- However, if you obtain a learner's permit and neither you nor any members of your household own a vehicle, you will not need to obtain separate insurance. Make sure that any non-owned vehicle that you drive in is covered by an automobile insurance policy and that you follow the restrictions of your learner's permit. As long as you are a permissive operator (meaning that you have permission from the owner to drive the vehicle), you will usually be covered by the owner's insurance policy..
- I'm from WA state and a parent to a 17 and 20 year old and they were covered under our auto policy until them became a licensed driver. Check with your insurance company but, under no circumstance would I or my kids with out insurance!.
- I think it varies from state to state and depends on your individual insurance company and the type of policy purchased. We are in Illinois and have State Farm insurance and I also have a 15 year old that is getting his permit next week. I spoke with my insurance agent and NO I do not need to add him until he gets a full license. Even then don't sweat it to much especially if you are with a good company because most offer big discounts for good students and provide safe driving seminars..
- I live in Virginia where you don't need an, "Insurance Policy," at all. Instead of buying an insurance policy you are allowed to pay into a general fund, about $400 per year..
- Whichever car you're driving should be insured, and in some cases, if it's your parents' policy then you will need to be specifically added to that policy. Once you get your license and are 18 years of age you can start looking for your own insurance policy. However, please remember that it's difficult for teenagers to get a decent auto insurance quote.
- The State of New Hampshire does not require Insurance. If a vehicle is financed, the lending institution will require it but if you own a vehicle outright, there is no state law mandating insurance coverage. It would be foolish to not have any insurance at all. A simple liability policy is pretty cheap but there isn't a lot of coverage. If you get hurt or hurt someone, it's on you to take care of damages and medical responsibility. You don't have to have it, but you should and don't get caught without it.
- If you are the permit holder and you are driving your parents' car, you may be covered under your parents policy depending on the coverage purchased so long as you are driving with permission of your parents. If they have a standard form policy it will generally cover you. Some companies require a permitted child be added to the policy for coverage while others do not require until you get your full license, In most states there is a service that gets the names of new licensees and cross checks it with the list of insureds at an address and will inform the insurer of the new licensee so that you can more easily be 'added' if your parents 'forget.' If your parents continue to 'forget' some insurers will automatically add you to the policy and send your parents the new much higher premium....which is why your parents would have 'forgotten' for so long.
Red car insurance higher why?
No, it actually isn't higher... The only time a vehicles paint significantly effects the price of Auto Insurance is when you have a "Custom Paint" job and you have selected full coverage. This is because in the event of damage, a custom paint job is typically more expensive to repair than factory paint.
White and black automotive paint is generally the least expensive colors of paint.
Can you insure someone else's car?
One may generally insure the property of another if you have an insurable interest in it. This means that you have a financial interest in the property that may be harmed if the property is damaged or destroyed.
Can a 17 year old get his own auto insurance?
Yes you can, But due to limitations of a minor to enter into a contract. The teenager will need a parent to countersign the insurance application. Alternatively it is usually cheaper just to add the teen to the parents auto insurance policy.
Will a speeding ticket from another state affect your auto insurance?
All States as of 2005 are Required through New Federal Regulation to comply with and make available to all other states reciprocal driver records.
It Is not a matter of a ticket being reported to your state. It is only reported to your state if you fail to take care of it. However, the computer makes your records available to any insurer or state licensing division that cares to check it.
The reciprocal requirement extends to all states being able to automatically suspend or deny a drivers license in any other state until such time as the originating jurisdictions suspension or violation requirements have been satisfied.
The old days of leaving behind unpaid traffic tickets in another state are gone. Information travels at the speed of light.
My advice: Pay the ticket quickly so you don't wind up taking a trip and hiring an attorney trying to get your suspended license reinstated.
If a ticket from another state defaults, your drivers license can now be suspended regardless of which state your licensed in. An unsatisfied traffic judgment in one state can prompt an automatic suspension in another.
The intent and spirit of the movement toward information integration and sharing of the various states agencies along with more efficient enforcement is ultimately to better serve and protect the public.
__________________________________________________________________Other sof course it will, you got ticket . So you do the crime you do the time.
It depends on the laws of your home state and whether your state posts out of state tickets. While most do, there are a few exceptions. NY is one.
In general, it always pays to fight an out of state speeding ticket. Never assume that you can just pay the ticket, regardless of what the officer tells you. Check to be sure how it will be posted to your record in your home state and you may also want to check with your insurance agent. In many cases it is cheaper in the long run to hire an attorney to try and get it reduced.
______________________________________________________________Out of State Traffic TicketsI think this response is overly broad. I was pulled over by a Vermont state trooper who specifically told me the ticket wouldn't be reported to my home-state DMV. I think this question needs much more research.
I got a new york ticket. and then had other violations after that in Pennsylvania. The points in NY Don't transfer into P.A. and I called the DMV and they told me they had no record of out of state tickets. Just my violation in state. But I'm not sure if the insurance companies can see it, That's what I.m Looking Into now myself.Tickets in other StatesThe answer is: It depends on the state you got the ticket in .
Some states report tickets to each other's DMV or MVD license bureau and some don't. If your state gets info from one of the states that shares, you will most likely see it on your motor vehicle report or If your old tickets go into a default status. Unfortunately, so will your insurance agency next time they take a look at it.
You may want to call your motor vehicle department to ask about it.
Potentially, yes. Your records reflect your entire driving history but it is up to the car insurance companies discretion to decide what they will and will not take into consideration when they determine your rates.
What auto insurance company has code number 182?
What is the average cost per mile to operate a car including depreciation maintenance gasoline and insurance?
50 cents per mile.
What is no-fault insurance?
In the U.S.A. Many states have implemented a hybrid policy type they refer to as "No Fault Coverage", but the term is actually only applicable to first party medical coverage for sustained injuries in an auto Accident. So the "No Fault" indication is not applicable to the entirety of the coverage offered by the policy.
There is no true all "No Fault" auto insurance policy in the united States even though a state may say that it is a no fault state.
A more appropriate term for the no fault statutes has been proposed, "First Party Medical" rather than the term "no fault" which can be somewhat misleading to the general public.No-Fault Insurance"No-fault" insurance refers to medical coverage which you are required by state law to carry on your automobile insurance. Not all states have "no-fault" statutes, though almost all insurance companies sell some type of medical coverage for their auto policies. Basically, if you have an accident, regardless of whether or not you are at-fault, your own auto insurance must pay a portion of your medical bills. The "no-fault" part comes from the fact that even though someone, say, plowed into the rear of your car while you were stopped at a red light, your own carrier must pick up the ambulance, hospital, rehabilitation, etc. Some states allow "no-fault" insurance carriers to go after the at-fault party, but this varies too much to discuss here and it's also relatively rare. Typically it's based on the amount of the medical bills or the weight of the at-fault party's vehicle. Many people who live in "no-fault" states often believe they can prohibit their carrier from paying their bills (with the assumption that they don't want any payments made under their policy in case their rates go up). This isn't the case. Much like worker's comp, "no-fault" medical coverage is primary, and the first-party insurance carrier must pay it. Finally, many people who know they live in a "no-fault" state often believe this has something to do with physical damage to a vehicle and liability. That's not true. "No-fault" relates only to the medical coverage. If someone hits your vehicle, and he's at-fault, he is still legally liable to pay for the damages to your vehicle. AnswerA note on Michigan "No Fault" Auto Insurance: It had to be sold politically so a lot of effort went into demonizing the legal profession along with those who were either under insured or non-insured, and when it went into effect in 1973 It featured Mandatory Participation, resulting in a higher margin for the underwriters, which was supposed to (theoretically) lower premiums. A Liability Limitation was also supposed to do the same, but in fact in resulted in the exact opposite: Michigan has the highest auto insurance rates in the country. When the Michigan Insurance Industry lobbied long and hard for "no fault", it sure wasn't for the benefit of the auto owner. Also, the state stepped in to play the citizens advocate role by supposedly acting as a watchdog over the industry, so of course the employment opportunities at the Michigan State Insurance Commission rose significantly. In short, the "no fault" law in Michigan really should have been called The Michigan Public Employee and Auto Insurance Agency Benefit Act. Wiki Answer witNo-fault insurance doesn't mean the insurance company lets you off the hook if you cause an accident. Despite the misleading name, it does matter who caused the accident.
How much does the cheapest car insurance cost?
In addition to the foregoing suggestion, consider this: Cheapest, in the sense of lowest cost, is not always the best, and may even end up being more expensive. One of the main things that you should consider in buying insurance is the quality of the claims service-that is, responsiveness, objective fairness in settling a claim and similar issues. It is not worth a bargain-basement premium if you cannot call upon the insurer when needed and get the claim handled promptly.
Are you covered by a family member's insurance when driving their car?
Insurance Coverage. The answer below is incomplete. It is true that you should check with your carrier, but keep in mind, their answer will normally will result in getting more premium. With State Farm and Allstate you as a policyholder will always be covered, unless an excluded driver uses your vehicle. Otherwise you will be covered. If the driver who is involved in the accident lives in your home they will add the driver onto your policy, or exclude them in the future after the accident, regardless of who is at fault. If you are a new policyholder, you must disclose all drivers living in the household at the time you are purchasing the auto insurance, or run the risk of fraud. Autoclub will lower your liability to the state min. which is 15000/30000, regardless of what limits you have and are paying for. Mercury will try and get out of paying the claim until they get tired of you pushing them.
Mercury has to be one of the worst insurance companies one could have in the state of Ca.
The answer lies with your insurance company. If indeed they consider you an authorized driver/operator, they will be happy to provide a document to that effect. I think, however, that you will not be covered without being added to the policy by name. Everyone in my home that drives on our insurance has a card that states this.
More opinions and answers from other FAQ Farmers:
- You have to check with your agent. Some companies such as Mercury, require that everyone in a household be listed as a rated driver or an an excluded person including small children.
- There are several factors that need to be considered. "Family member" is a term rarely used on an automobile policy. My brother who lives across the country and probably doesn't even know the color of my car is a family member, but he MAY NOT be covered to drive my car. On the other hand, if he came to visit, borrowed my car and had an accident for which he is liable, those damages would likely be covered. Look for the term "resident relative" in your policy. That will dictate coverage questions for family members living within the same residence. The key here: is there someone either residing in your household or related to you and driving your vehicle frequently enough that they should be 'rated' so that your premium payment accurately covers your probable risk? (i.e., you may have a child that attends college away from home, but returns on major holidays and summer breaks.... you may have a sibling, down on their luck, waiting for finances to improve, but staying with you and using your vehicle to get to job interviews.) If you have non-standard coverage, the carrier will likely require you to list everyone in the household; those who do not have a valid drivers' license, or do not meet their underwriting criteria, will be specifically excluded.
The comments about Mercury Insurance and state limits are misleading. Not every state has the same minimum limits.
If you are carrying named driver limited lines coverage, 'covered drivers' takes on an entirely different meaning than on a standard policy form. On a standard policy form, nearly any licensed driver that drives your 'listed' vehicle WITH YOUR PERMISSION, is 'covered' while they are driving it barring insurance risk concealment fraud.
Generally, though there may be exceptions state to state or company to company, on a named driver policy, ONLY the 'listed' drivers are covered.
In Wisconsin, anyone to whom you give permission to drive your car is covered by your insurance. You can not exclude any driver here. The bottom line is, you need to check with an agent you trust in your state because the laws about who is hidden covered and who is not vary dramatically state to state.
How do you find insurance records from a previous owner of a car?
Any coverage or compensation paid to a previous owner would not extend to the new owner as the new owner was not an insured and did not have a financial interest in the property (vehicle) prior to the purchasing of it.
The previous insurers obligations was to the previous insured owner. Those obligations ceased when the policy expired, terminated or when the vehicle was sold to another individual.
The previous owners insurance company has no obligation to someone who purchased the vehicle at a later date.
If you are interested in the vehicle history, accidents, previous damage or repairs and such, this can be obtained through Car Fax and other similar on-line services.
What are the cheapest autos to insure?
The top ten cheapest cars to insure, regardless of who you are: * Buick LeSabre * Oldsmobile Silhouette * Honda Odyssey * Buick Park Avenue * Pontiac Montana * Mercury Grand Marquis * Buick Century * Chevrolet Venture * GMC Safari * Oldsmobile Bravada * Volvo * hyundia * VW POLO BY THE WAY DONT U USE UR BRAIN U PLONKER The insurers go by credit scoring, loss avergaes, etc. not just by the car you drive, of course. For liability only, it depends mostly on the driver an possibly a little bit on how much damage the car will do. (motorcycles cheap, SUV's expensive) For full coverage it is a combination of how much it usually cost to repair it and how likely it will be to get in an at fault accident. cadilacs are expensive to repair, fords are inexpensive volvos are driven responsibly, mustangs are always getting to wrecks. The cheapest to insure will be a sensible, afordable, small sedan with the most safety features and the cheapest engine, trim, features etc.. hope it helps Easy answer really, one car and one car only, a Buggatti veyron 8.0l quad turbo charged so not only does it have a small engine its economical as well!! it does 7 miles to the gallon so perfect for all those long distance drives! and perfect if you are on a tight budget to find a car because they only retail at around £850,000 but be quick as there is only 500 made, hope i was helpfull :) DONT BUY A CAR the lamborghini diablo is because its super quick
Do you have to get insurance after your license?
If you live in a household with an automobile that you use at all or plan on using ever, you would need to get insurance. For example, if you live with your parents and your parents are insured, you would still need to get your own insurance in order to drive their cars.
If you do not, you can still drive other people's cars under most circumstances without insurance, you would be covered under the car owner's insurance assuming you use their car with their consent.
For a second example, imagine you live with roommates, and one of them lets you borrow their car on occasion. As long as they are insured, you would be fine to use their car.
How does a speeding ticket affect your auto insurance?
- If you are over twenty five and this is the only ticket on your record in the last three years it will make little difference on your auto insurance rates. Insurance companies do not necessarily review your driving record every year. It is checked when you first apply and then it depends on the policy of that particular company.
- The problems will start with your second ticket. That is why it is important to keep any and all tickets off your record. Many states will allow you to take traffic school or they have a deferment program.
- Check the laws in your state to see what options are available. In most cases just showing up on your court date will allow you to negotiate for a reduction in the fine and points.
- If you drive a company vehicle or have a CDL license it is very important to keep your driving record clean because the records of these drivers are checked every year.
- As a general rule you can expect one four point ticket to increase your insurance premiums by at least 50% for each of the next three years. In many cases it is cost effective to retain an attorney to contest the ticket.
- There are too many individual factors to predict how much, if any, this one speeding ticket will increase the insurance premiums for the entire family. It depends on the number of cars, number of drivers and their MVR's, the insurance carrier, previous losses and state law. Many insurance companies will not check your MVR every year unless there is a change to the policy. If they do not check, then your rates will not change. Typically insurance companies only check high risk drivers and those who drive a company vehicle every year.
I'd also add that it entirely depends on which conviction you receive. Depending on your situation you could receive a more serious conviction or receive a lesser one.
Visit the Related Links for a list of all convictions and the points (seriousness) of each conviction for the UK.
How do insurance companies define sports cars?
They usually go by horsepower, stock and aftermarket modifications (i.e. turbo or superchargers), etc. They will usually know if you have a sports car or not. You can also have a car classified as rare or collectable that might be a sports car. If a car has two doors its almost always classified as a sports car no matter what. Also if the car is equipped with a manual transmission its also most likely a sports car. It also depends how on the replacement cost of the auto and location.
Insuring sports cars has always been a niche market, so it more often than not pays to do your homework and contact the specialist companies rather than the general insurers. If you have a classic sports car in mind, there are a specialist companies for these vehicles too.
- I drive a '94 T-Bird. Some companies say it's a sports car (with the V6? Yeah right), some luxury (almost passes as that), and some just as a plain old car.
- I have a Firebird, 2 doors, manual and it's still not considered a sports car.
- I have a 2 door 2004 Dodge Stratus SXT that is only a 4-cylinder but rated a 19 which is a sports car rating with high premiums.
How do you decide who's at fault in an accident?
- In the UK - determining who is legally at fault depends to a degree on the type of accident that has occurred. For example - in a RTA the Road Traffic Act and Highway code are influential in deciding who has made a driving error. In an accident at work there are regulations for manual handling and keeping a work environment safe. For examples on showing legal fault for different two different types of RTA and work accidents see the related links entitled: "car accident claim", "motorbike accident claims" and "accident at work claim".
Here's a link for advice on determining who is at fault in a car accident.
Besides the website recommended above, you should consider point-of-impact, whether the alley is one way or two way, and what a reasonably prudent driver would be expected to do in this situation.
In your case, the point-of-impact is very telling. It's one thing to hit the rear corner of a car backing down an alley, but it's quite another to hit that car on a door. Your neighbor, even while backing, probably had the greater duty since you clearly had control of the roadway.
If there's any comparative negligence on your part, it would be minimal unless the alley is one way and statutes specifically prohibit backing in such a location. A statute of this type could be used as a defense for your neighbor because the statute would have been created with just this scenario in mind (i.e., don't back down a one way alley because most people wouldn't think to look more than once in that direction).
Another thing to consider: Your neighbor basically struck the middle of your car. She has a duty to watch for oncoming traffic. Clearly she wasn't watching. Now, suppose that had been a person? What would her defense be?
Fault is determined partially by the laws of your state.
Contributory Negligence Comparative Negligence
Under which of these systems does your state operate.
In one...the person who is 51% at fault will pay for all damage. In the other a percentage of blame is assigned and each pays that percent of the others damage.
It could also be a NO-Fault state in which your own company pay regardless of who is at fault.
General rule of thumb....the person with control of the "roadway" has right of movement. Anyone entering the roadway must yield to the ongoing traffic.
A smart attorney could argue a case that alley's are not roadways.
Who is Actress in Standard Insurance Commercial?
She is the owner of the company.
Does Allstate auto insurance cover rental car insurance in the US?
They do it on your demand of coverage. Car rental companies dont add you insurance in car rental amount, Its just like you book flight ticket there is option of choosing insurance or not.
Can the car insurance be in your parents' name?
Yes, It can be in your parents name if you are still a minor, a dependent or are still a household resident So long as "YOU" are also a scheduled driver on the parents policy. Failure to schedule your self as a driver is a common form of Insurance Fraud.
So whether the policy is in your name or your parents name, as a regular driver or with regular access you are required to be listed as a driver on the policy.
I most U.S. states. A minor can buy a vehicle. However, due to the limitations of contract law where minors are concerned, A parent or other legal guardian would either have to provide the auto insurance or countersign the application for the Insurance Policy to be a legally binding contractWhether you live in the same residence as your mother or not, you bring up an important issue when you say "we're thinking this will be the most inexpensive way for me to drive."
Most carriers will allow your mother to carry insurance on both the vehicles, though there could be a problem if you live in a separate residence and keep the old car there. However, all carriers would require that you be listed as an insured driver, particularly if you're the main driver of your mom's old car.
Not adding you to the policy, and then admitting that you thought it would be the most inexpensive way to drive, is essentially material misrepresentation. Your mother pays for herself as a driver, but her rates wouldn't have you factored in. Most insurance carriers would promptly deny coverage in such a scenario if you were to have an accident. Of course, most people wouldn't admit that they were just trying to save money, which of course is insurance fraud (difficult to prove, but a mess when it is).
So, have your mom add you to her policy. Her rates may go up, but in the end, it probably is cheaper than you buying your own policy. It would be best for her to maintain ownership of her old car, as well, to avoid confusion about what a covered vehicle is.
Insurance companies now use the term "household". As long as the child (married or unmarried of driving age) lives in the same house as the parent, he or she is considered a household member, therefore needing to be in the policy. The only way to exclude a household member (of driving age) from an auto policy would be for the following reasons:
1. That person has his/her own insurance policy. 2. Never been licensed
Insurance companies usually deny excluding a spouse from a policy, unless a divorce decree has been issued.Clarification
It should be pointed out that in some jurisdictions the owner's name on the car registration must match the name on the insurance policy. If the car is in your name then your name should appear on the policy to avoid registration problems. The "insured" (name of the owner on the policy) must have an insurable interest in the property.
Whose auto insurance will cover you if driving another person's car?
Borrowed Vehicles for the UK
In the UK - the general rule is that the driver's own vehicle insurance will pay for any accidents other than when the driver is driving a car with permission and is named on the car owner's policy. If the driver has no insurance the driver has a personal liability to pay for injuries and damage to third parties. Either the car owner's insurance can be used to meet a compensation claim or the Motor Insurers Bureau will step in to pay compensation if no car insurance is available from either the driver or the owner. See the related link entitled "accident car insurance" - for an explanation of all forms of car insurance in the UK and the function of the MIB.
Insurance Coverage in Someone Else's vehicle - USA
In The USA this will vary state by state according to local regulation as well as the type of Auto Insurance Policy in place at the time. It's always best to get coverage advice from your Insurance Agent.
As a general rule across the 50 states, if the owner of the "personal use" vehicle being driven has adequate coverage then that policy is treated as primary and any coverage the driver has is secondary or excess in the event damages exceed the limits of the vehicle owner's insurance policy or in the event of no coverage for the operator under the owners policy.
If coverage is afforded under the vehicle owners policy then it will act as primary coverage. If not, then the drivers own auto liability insurance (if any) will step up from secondary and invoke as first party coverage. Depending on the policy language and coverage selected options, liability, uninsured motorist, pip and medical portions will all invoke and provide you coverage.
Additional Considerations or possible coverage Gaps (Please add more here if you can think of some)
- Your Personal auto Policy will "Not" follow you for operation of a hired business or commercial use vehicleunless you have elected business use coverage as well.
- If the vehicle owner has purchased a limited form type or a "named driver" policy. though economic for those on a budget, no coverage at all may be afforded to occasional or permitted drivers.
- The degree of coverage beyond the above that may invoke are dependent on various factors such as the reason for driving the other vehicle, loaners, rentals or replacement status vehicles and other local or state regulations.
It's always best to talk with your agent and make sure you undertsand your coverage before loaning or borrowing a vehicle.
Happy Motoring Insurance Coverage in anothers vehicle
I am an auto insurance adjuster and the quickest answer to your question is - "it depends on the Owner of the vehicle's policy language". Most auto insurance policies WILL in fact cover ANY driver of the insured vehicle, UNLESS that driver has been previously excluded from the policy or UNLESS the driver has STOLEN the vehicle. This would have to be proved with a copy of a theft report filed by the owner. Now, most of the time this is the case - but NOT in all states, and NOT on all policies. I urge you to call your agent BEFORE you drive a friend's car or BEFORE you let a friend drive yours.
Here are more answers and opinions from other FAQ Farmers:
- The insurance will only cover you if you are listed under their insurance with the car owner.
- I had to find this out in a hard way. They will, if the car owner has given you permission to drive. But if not, they won't and I fell into the second case.
- A good rule of thumb is that 'insurance follows the owners liabilities as far as coverage is concerned. The policy in force on the vehicle involved in a loss will cover the damage to the vehicle itself and provide the liability limits if other parties are involved and are covered under the terms of that policy. This does assume that you had the owner's PERMISSION to drive the vehicle involved.
- A lot also depends on the state. I'm in Texas - my policy specifically states that anybody that I allow to drive my vehicle is covered. At the same time, my policy will cover me in somebody else's vehicle (with the same coverages that I carry), and also cover any new car for 30 days, to allow time for me to give them the car information. They tend to be a lot more liberal than most companies though. And I don't carry collision anyway (my car is 15-years-old with 165k miles, not worth it), just theft, uninsured motorist and liability.
- I think this question could vary state to state. However, in WA, the insurance on the vehicle is primary, and if the drivers has insurance on another vehicle, or a broad form policy, theirs is secondary. Hope that helps, just my 2 cents.
- The vehicle's insurance is primary. If liability insurance on the vehicle is inadequate your own policy will come in as secondary and protect "YOU".
- The driver's insurance applies. Think of this: how can you lower your insurance premium: you, the driver are experienced, good driver (no accident, etc.) As soon as I add my daughter to my policy, it changes to inexperienced driver and not good driver category! SAME car....!
- The insurance follows the Named Insureds Liabilities. That is the general rule. However, in some states, there is case law that will hold the owner's and driver's insurers coprimary for liability coverage IN SITUATION WHERE THE DRIVER IS USING THE OWNER'S CAR AS A TEMPORARY SUBSTITUTE VEHICLE. Generally though, the driver's policy is excess or secondary.
A car is insured under comprehensive and collision insurance. The Named Insured Drivers are covered for Liability purposes. For the car to be insured in the case of an accident there are stipulations placed on who can drive the car relating to driver age, experience, driving record etc. this may vary from policy to policy. It all depends, Specifically As with most questions like this, it depends. Specifically:
1. Auto insurance follows the named Insured Liabilities. So, if you're driving your friend's car and rear-end somebody, your friend's liability insurance may take care of the other vehicle's damages.
2. But what if your friend doesn't carry insurance? Most likely your insurance will step in, but if Ohio requires vehicle owners to carry liability insurance, your carrier will most likely go after your friend for the money they paid to protect you because, by law, your friend should have paid for his own coverage.
3. Does the car belong to a relative? More specifically, a relative in your household? This would likely result in your carrier denying coverage for you because you didn't tell them a relative owns a car that you're driving. How often you drive the car could also affect your carrier's decision.
4. But what if you have full coverage, and you wreck your friend's car that doesn't have full coverage, and you don't normally drive the car? Most likely, your carrier will step in and pay for the damages to your friend's car. Your carrier is "excess," but if no other first-party coverage exists, they'll usually take care of it. See #3, though, because this wouldn't apply to a relatives vehicle. insurance on the vehicle The kind of Insurance you are speaking of is a Named non-owners policy. If you are driving someones car that you borrow it needs to have insurance too. It is illegal to drive a car without insurance (for that car) The driver and owner could get a ticket for the vehicle not being insured. Insurance Coverage In my experience as an auto insurance adjuster, the car carries the insurance. It would tie up the courts if settlements were partially on the vehicle and partially on insurance carried by the driver. If your car is involved in an accident while being driven a person who does not have your permission (as the Named Policy Holder) it is possible that your insurance company, after an in-depth investigation, including sworn statements by you, may try to subrogate against the unauthorized driver's insurance.
There is an excess clause in nearly every auto policy. One particular Auto Insurance carrier is famous for trying to deny coverage based on this excess clause. But, as far as I know EVERY company's policy language includes this excess clause.
In MOST cases, where only PD or MD (property damage or material damage) are involved, companies will agree to pro rata shares of coverage.
The above-mentioned carrier tends to dig their heels in the sand, however, and prolongs the handling of such claims, which nearly ALWAYS translates to a costlier claim process. most generally yes, your exact coverage will transfer over (if that vehicle is uninsured and there are MANY ''if's'' in this ) to this uninsured vehicle, if it meets the criteria of 'non-owned auto' 'temporary replacement vehicle' etc......but NOT on a continueing bases...you can't just insure one vehicle and drive a non insured one indefinately...understand? In the state of AZ, the insurance follows the car. Your own coverage may extend to a vehicle that you are using with permission but only as secondary coverage. 1 Until this answer is improved by an expert, this layman's answer will have to suffice.
IF the driver is not named on the vehicle's insurance, the terms of the insurance policy will dictate the handling of a liability claim for the accident in which the vehicle was involved.
Normally, if the driver is:
1. Legally licensed to drive, and
2. Has the permission of the owner of the vehicle to have been driving it at the time of the collision, then most policies will cover the "Permissive User."
If the vehicle you borrowed does not carry insurance and you do, your insurance becomes secondary to cover the claim. The owner's insurance is primary. 1 Generally, throughout the insurance industry, if there is insurance on the vehicle involved in the collision, then that insurance is considered "primary,' and is the policy which will provide first coverage if coverage is extended to that driver.
Then, IF the primary coverage is not adequate [not enough money], the driver's insurance [considered secondary] will kick in for the balance owed on the liability claim, until its limit is reached.
typically the insurance on the car is primary.....if that policy has collision coverage (am assuming there is liability coverage as that is required).....the vehicle policy will repair that vehicle....if that vehicle does NOT have collision coverage and driver has a policy with collision coverage then drivers policy will step in (2nd)......if neither policy has collision coverage and the driver of your vehicle is at fault..........no company is repairing that vehicle..... and yes as mentioned which ever policy pays for the 'at fault' accident those rates are increasing......could be that both pay....yours for the other parties damage under liablity portion (if your vehicle is at fault) and drivers collision coverage (if your vehicle has no coll.cov)
That is determined by the coverage clauses in both parties policy. The person whose insurance company pays will be the one whose rates increase. You usually are covered by the insurance for the car...if your friend drove your car and you had insurance on your car, they would be covered on your insurance, not their own Generally not. While you're an insured driver, it's your the policy covers only your liability. with permission from the owner, as long as there is no exclusion, and you are not a 'regular' driver, if you are using the vehicle with any regularity, you would need to be listed as an insured driver.
No. The person who owns the car and has it insured will be responsible through their insurance. However, they can take you to small claims court for the amount they had to pay and will win the case.
What is the best way to compare homeowner's insurance companies?
Just contact an Independent agent. They represent many different insurance markets and are familiar with Policies available from a larger number of companies than captured agents who only represent a single insurer. An independent agent can customize a Home Owners Policy for you, they are not usually bound by cookie cutter policies loaded with often undesired coverage's designed to bulk up premium and offered by the captured national company agents. Let the Independent agent do the comparing for you. They can then explain the differences in "Plain English" and make recommendations to you. You will likely not even have to refer to your encyclopedia to understand.Comparing Home Owner's Insurance
Personally, I would recommend looking at both the complaint ratio and the assets/liabilities in determining which company is right for you. Take a look at not just the order in which your target companies appear, but also how far apart they are in these categories.
The complaint ratio is a very important tool in determining how well an insurance company is satisfying its customers. For those not familiar with the complaint ratio, it is computed by tallying the number of complaints that are confirmed as valid by the state's insurance regulators against a given company, as a percentage of the insurer's overall premium volume (the dollar amount of all policies written in that state). Though it is almost inevitable to please all of your customers all of the time, a high complaint ratio shows that there is a trend in both customers contacting state authorities with a problem, and the state upholding that complaint.
The assets/liabilities is equally important, as it shows the financial strength of the company -- that is, its chances of being able to pay all of its claims in a major catastrophe without going broke. No matter how satisfied its customers are, if an insurance company doesn't look up to the task of paying your claim if you happen to be involved in a major catastrophe, it's not the right one for you. AM Best's financial strength ratings are some of the most widely-used in the US, and you can look up any of their ratings here:
The amount of fees paid is an important factor when the numbers are very far apart, but other than that there are different factors that may affect these numbers, other than the number and size of violations. Fees can be negotiated in the final stages of a state's review decisions, and the final number may reflect the company's negotiating skills or relationship with the department as well. As there is no external way of quantifying the exact factors leading into the fees, minor differences may not be that different.
Finally, another way to select an insurance company would be to also go to a good independent agent in your area and see what they have to say. They represent multiple companies, and can shop around to get you the right coverage for you. After getting their best recommendation, compare it to the offers you've received from the companies that don't write through independent agents, such as State Farm, and see what looks good to you. One thing to keep in mind is if you plan to live in a different state in the future, and if your company can cover you in your new location. There are many wonderful insurance companies that only write within one small area, and if you want to keep the same company you may want to look at a national insurer (especially one with a discount that goes up the longer you're with them).Additional input
Insurance companies give multi-line discounts that are applied through the company you have current coverage with...auto, life, business owners etc. You can often get a good rate from a current insurer.
Are you responsible if the co-owner is driving the car without insurance?
Uninsured Drivers Yes, If your name is on the title. Get insurance. If the driver or co-owner has an accident you can both be held jointly and separately liable for all damages.
Both the vehicle Owners and Drivers can be sued equally and have assets attached by a court order for damages arising out of an accident in which the uninsured vehicle is involved.
If you notify the police that it is being driven without insurance, they MAY be able to impound the car before an accident occurs.
Yes, in most states, it is illegal to drive on the road if the vehicle is not insured. In fact, in most accidents, proof of financial responsibility should be shown afterwards and if you don't have one or if your co-owner can't show one, you'll get cited and can even get your license suspended or revoked. It's better to get insurance so you can protect yourself and your assets in case of any damage or accident.
anonymous is correct but you should be aware that the police will do more than impound (most likely SEIZE) the vehicle. She would be arrested, her license can be revoked without issuance eligibility in North America and most UK countries, plus a record that could bar her from insurance sale eligibility for more than three years. I would take out insurance because if she has an accident, and is at fault and no one can pay you both might do substantial prison time or at the least be on scummy buses the rest of your life. Don't You think the punishment in the second answer is too harsh?
Can you get auto insurance without a drivers license?
nice post big efictive
drivers ed Milwaukee
handsonthewheeldrivingschool.comTeen drivers school Ed Milwaukee
Our program provides 42 hours total of instruction. 30 hours of online class instruction, 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction, and 6 hours of driver observation
How long do you have to switch insurance after you trade a car?
There is no need to switch auto insurance companies, In general you are required to notify your insurer within a reasonable time frame of a vehicle change, usually legally defined as up to 30 days.
As insurance laws are propagated by each state, You should check with your insurance agent to be sure of the time allowed in your state.
You really don't have to switch auto insurance companies once you trade a car; all you need to do is inform your provider about the switch. Depending on the make, model and mileage of the new vehicle, your rates may rise or fall, at which point of time you can decide whether you're getting a decent rates or if it's time to start looking for cheap auto insurance quotes from other providers.