answersLogoWhite

0

You can't attack an opponent's creature directly. you attack your opponent directly with your creatures. It's up to them to decide whether or not to block.

The exception to this is if one of your creatures has the Provoke ability which means you can force another creature to block it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

Can you explain how the ability 'MTG can't be blocked' works in the context of gameplay"?

In the game of Magic: The Gathering, the ability "can't be blocked" means that a creature with this ability cannot be blocked by other creatures when attacking. This allows the creature to deal damage directly to the opponent without being stopped by any defending creatures.


Can a creature with summoning sickness block an opponent's creature?

No, a creature with summoning sickness cannot block an opponent's creature.


How does the card "Myriad" work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, the card "Myriad" allows a creature to create a copy of itself attacking each opponent.


Can you equip equipment to an opponent's creature in the game?

No, you cannot equip equipment to an opponent's creature in the game.


What is that Yu-Gi-Oh monster whose effect deals damage to the opponent equal to the attacking creature's ATK and the picture is a mirror of some sort?

That'll be 'Reflect Bounder'.


How do you kill a planeswalker?

Due to rules updates, this answer has been modified. If a spell or ability would deal damage to a player, the controller of that spell or ability may, during resolution, redirect all of the damage to a planeswalkers the opponent controls. If a creature attacks, the attacking player must declare, for each attacking creature, if that creature is attacking the defending player or a planeswalkers that player controls. They may still be blocked as normal. The previous answer mentioned playing your own planeswalker with the same sub-name to "counteract" the opponent's planeswalker. This rule no longer exists and each player may have a planeswalker with the same sub-name under their control.


How does the mechanic of blocking work in MTG?

In Magic: The Gathering, blocking is when a player uses their creatures to prevent an opponent's attacking creatures from dealing damage to them. When a creature is declared as a blocker, it will intercept the attacking creature and combat damage is resolved between the two creatures. Blocking is a strategic element in the game that allows players to protect themselves and their creatures from harm during combat.


How does attacking work in Magic: The Gathering?

In Magic: The Gathering, attacking involves declaring which of your creatures will attack your opponent or their creatures. Your opponent can then choose to block the attacking creatures with their own creatures. Damage is then assigned and resolved based on the power and toughness of the attacking and blocking creatures.


Can you use creature abilities during your opponent's turn in MTG?

Yes, you can use creature abilities during your opponent's turn in Magic: The Gathering.


Can a magic card that deals X damage to a creature do X damage to an opponent I assume not as you opponent is not a creature.?

ok if it says deal X damage to target opponent than deal X damage to opponent and NOT creature. if it says deal X damage to target creature than deal it to the creature and NOT the player. if it says creature and player deal it to a creature and a player ect. the point is you will get a strait awnser if you just READ THE CARD, AND NEVER BEND WHAT THE CARD IS SAYING. ex: if it says get a creature from the grave and you get a instant you are bending the rules (it happens ALOT).


Do you have to declare war before attacking?

Yes! You do have to decla war before attacking or else there is no war and the opponent wouldnt know about it. If the opponent doesn't know about it there really is no war and nobody wins.


Can you activate creature abilities in MTG on your opponent's turn?

Yes, in Magic: The Gathering, you can activate creature abilities on your opponent's turn if the ability can be activated at instant speed.