answersLogoWhite

0

No, unless stated otherwise, a monster special summon effect works from the hand. Treeborn Frog special summons itself from the graveyard, because it says so. DD Survivor special summons itself from the removed from play zone, etc. But Dark Armed Dragon can only special summon itself from hand.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

What is the ruling for Light Pulsar Dragon in the current game mechanics?

Light Pulsar Dragon's effect allows you to Special Summon a Dragon-type monster from your Graveyard when it is Special Summoned. This effect can only be used once per turn. Additionally, if Light Pulsar Dragon is sent from the field to the Graveyard, you can Special Summon a DARK Dragon-type monster from your Graveyard.


Does the Hieratic Dragon of Sutekh have to be special summoned by his effect?

His initial special summon must be from hand, using the text on his card. If you do this correctly, and he then goes to the graveyard, you can special summon him back to the field with cards like Call of the Haunted. If however the summon is negated, or he is simply discarded to the graveyard, you cannot special summon him from the graveyard by any means. Nor can an external effect special summon him from hand, it must be his own.


Can you summon 'Dark Armed Dragon' from the graveyard?

No. If a monster says it 'cannot be special summoned except by', then the listed method is the only way it can reach the field. By default, this summon is from the hand too. So, even if you properly special summon Dark Armed Dragon, and it goes to the graveyard, you cannot special summon it using either its own special summon effect, or the effect of cards like Monster Reborn.


Can the effect of vanguard of the dragon special summon dragon type monsters that have effects?

No. Vanguard of the Dragon's card lore clearly states that it can only Special Summon a "...Dragon-Type Normal Monster from either player's Graveyard."


Which effect of Totem Dragon can you not activate if there is a non-Dragon monster in your Graveyard in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Totem Dragon only has one effect that activates, the one that can special summon itself. If there are other monsters in the graveyard, that are non-Dragon types, then this effect cannot be activated.


Do you have to have exactly 3 Dark monsters in your Graveyard to special summon Dark Armed Dragon?

Unless specifically stated otherwise, a monster special summon method is for when it is in the hand only. So Treeborn Frog special summons itself from the graveyard because the effect says so. But Cyber Dragon special summons from hand - even though it does not say so, the hand is the default zone, it cannot special summon itself from the gfraveyard. Likewise, Hardened Armed Dragon must be in your hand to use its special summon effect.


Can flute of summoning dragon summon rainbow dragon?

Cards that can 'only be Special Summoned by', or 'cannot be Special Summoned except by' can only ever reach the field initially by that listed method.Flute of Summoning Dragon can never summon Rainbow Dragon. Even if the conditions are right, that's something that allows you to special summon it (at the same timing as a Normal Summon in your turn), not any external effect.Cards that state "...can only be Special Summoned by..." can be Special Summoned, for example, from the Graveyard after its initial Special Summon (by its own effect) is successful. For example, you Special Summon The Rock Spirit from your Hand by removing from play one Rock-Type monster in your Graveyard. Your opponent then somehow manages to destroy The Rock Spirit. Because it was successfully Special Summoned by its own effect, The Rock Spirit is now eligible to be Special Summoned from the Graveyard via a effect such as Call of the Haunted.


Can you special summon red-eyes darkness metal dragon from the graveyard using the first effect?

No, the only time a monster can special summon itself from the graveyard, is if it specifically says so - Plaguespreader Zombie for example. If it doesn't specify, then the default zone for special summoning is from the hand.


What are the official rulings for Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon regarding its effects and interactions in gameplay?

Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon's effect allows you to Special Summon it by banishing a Dragon-Type monster from your Graveyard. It can also Special Summon other Dragon-Type monsters from your hand or Graveyard. Its effect can only be used once per turn. It cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard if it was sent there during the same turn. Additionally, it cannot be targeted by card effects that would return it to the hand or Deck.


How do you summon judgment dragon in revirse of aracsia?

To Special Summon Judgment Dragon, you must have at least 4 different Lightsworn monsters in your Graveyard. Once this criteria is fullfilled, you can Special Summon it from your Hand onto the field.


Yu Gi Oh Question If the star dust dragon went to the opponents graveyard because of his effect can you special summon it from your opponents graveyard using monster reborn on your turn?

Yes you can, as long as the Stardust was originally summoned by Synchro Summon and not by Starlight Road (Starlight Road does not summon it 'properly', and the Stardust Dragon summoned by it cannot be summoned back from the graveyard should it be sent there).


If your opponent has vanguard of the dragon face down and you tribute to the doom it does it's effect still activate an special summon a dragon?

Yes because it's effect says you can summon a normal dragon type monster from either players graveyard. So since tribute to the doom destroys the monster is effect activates.