Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2014-09-17 22:55:30

The Louisiana purchase, which bought all the territory from Mississippi to the Rockies from France for $15 million was agreed on by all parties. The supreme court, senate and the President were all behind it.

User Avatar

Your Answer

Related Questions

Louisiana Supreme Court was created in 1813.

There are nine justices in the U.S. Supreme Court. For a majority ruling, five out of the nine justices would have to agree. The Supreme Court has an odd number of justices to avoid a tie.

The address of the Supreme Court Of Louisiana Historical Society is: 400 Royal Street 2Nd Fl, New Orleans, LA 70130-8145

A unanimous opinion of the US Supreme Court is an opinion that all justices agree on.

The US Supreme Court determines whether to hear a case according to the Rule of Four. If at least four of the nine Justices of the Supreme Court agree, they will grant certiorari and hear the case.

If somebody was recently sued in the Supreme Court, but they do not agree with the judgement, they can go to the Court of Appeals.

As of May 2014, the Louisiana supreme court has not yet ruled on the constitutionality of Louisiana's ban on same-sex marriage.

The US Supreme Court determines whether to hear a case according to the Rule of Four. If at least four of the nine Justices of the Supreme Court agree, they will grant certiorari and hear the case.

While most of the time their personal relationships should not affect the Supreme Court or the decisions by the justices, it is better if the Supreme Court Justices get along but they can also agree to disagree.

The Supreme Court applies the traditional "rule of four" that prescribes at least four justices must agree to hear the case in order for the Court to grant certiorari.

US Supreme Court cases are initiated when a minimum of four justices agree to grant a petition for writ of certiorari.

the court will accept a case if for of the nine Justices agree to do so

The building was built for the Louisiana Supreme Court in 1910. It began falling into disrepair due to lack of maintainence, and in 1957 it was sold to the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, and the Supreme Court rented a "temporary space" in the CBD. Wildlife and Fisheries occupied the building until 1981, when the city bought it back from them. In 1991 a firm was hired to renovate the building, and in 2004 the Supreme Court finally moved back in. Previous to 1910 the Supreme Court was held in the Presbytere, then the Cabildo.

Just because the state doesn't agree, if the US Supreme Court renders a decision in your favor the state must comply! There is no higher court than the US Supreme Court - the state cannot file an appeal.

All US Supreme Court decisions require a simple majority vote for a decision. For example, if nine justices hear a case, at least five must agree on a decision.The only court that can overturn a US Supreme Court decision is the Supreme Court itself.

A writ of certiorari is the Supreme Court's equivalent of an appeals case in lower courts. In this process four of nine Supreme Court justices must agree that there is sufficient evidence to hear the case. If they do agree to go forward, a writ of certiorari is then created.

There are currently 9 Supreme Court Justices, so for there to be a majority ruling, 5 would have to rule a certain way.

The Supreme Court must be careful not to overstep its constitutional authority when overturning a law.

The appeals system is a little complicated, but essentially: the person who has received the death penalty would need to appeal to the Supreme Court and then the Supreme Court would have to grant a writ of certiorari. The "complicated" part comes from the fact that it would have been appealed to lower courts (the state Supreme Court, or a Circuit Court of Appeals) before the US Supreme Court would agree to hear the appeal.

Chief Justice Edward Douglas White presided over the US Supreme Court from 1910 until 1921, after serving as an Associate Justice from 1894 until 1910.Prior to being nominated to the Supreme Court, White served as Louisiana State Senator from 1891-1894. He also served one year on the Louisiana Supreme Court, from 1879-1880.

It requires the vote of at least four of the nine US Supreme Court justices to grant a petition for writ of certiorari. If four Justices agree, the Supreme Court will accept the case. This is referred to as the "Rule of Four."

If you are referring to the Supreme Court of the United States - the answer is FOUR.

when two or more lower courts cannot agree on a decision