Do you need a license to practice massage therapy in Wichita KS?
There are no license/certification requirements for Wichita, KS or for the state. some cities may require one or both. Wichita does not.
the answer is no!
Does a Licensed Massage Therapist need a special license to practice in a Physical Therapy Clinic in Florida?
A massage therapist in Florida needs a license to practice massage, regardless of the setting. Please follow the link for more information.
can i get my massage therapy license at miller motte college
Yes, in the State of Georgia you need a State license to practice massage therapy. That applies to all cities in GA. But, each individual city, such as Atlanta, will require that you also get a business license if you want to be an independent contractor or sole proprietor.
The best way to start is to get at least 500 hours of training and education at an American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) approved school. Then obtain a license to practice massage therapy in your area. In most places in the US, this requires a certification exam. The ones used most often are the NCETMB given by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and the MBLEx given by the Federation of… Read More
Yes. Absolutely. And FYI - Florida is very diligent about the enforcement of the law governing this occupation. The state of Florida requires you to have a massage therapy license if you CHARGE for Reiki. Anyone may practice Reiki for free. Many practitioners use Reiki for family, friends, and even volunteer work. In addition, a certified Reiki Master may teach Reiki classes for fees without a massage therapy license.
Insurance coverage for massage therapy varies widely. There tends to be greater coverage in states that license massage therapy. In most cases, a physician's prescription for massage therapy is needed.
Mark Beck has written: 'Blackboard Standalone (Milady's Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage Web Tuto)' 'Theory & practice of therapeutic massage' -- subject(s): Massage therapy 'Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage' -- subject(s): Handbooks, manuals, Massage therapy
It appears that most states require fingerprinting for a massage therapy license. To find out for sure if your state requires it, contact the Board of Health.
You will need to check with the authorities in Mexico, as licensing laws may vary from region to region.
Georgia does require massage therapists be licensed. Title: Licensed Massage Therapist Requirement: 500 hours & NCE or MBLEx Renewal: 24hrs/2yrs 12 hrs must be hands-on
Physical therapists, like doctors, nurses, and massage therapists are licensed by state agencies. So, if you move to another state, you will have to reapply for a license in that sate you wish to practice. There are a few states that do not have state licensure for massage, then you will have to apply to the local governing agency.
You need a work visa as an American (FM3) with documentation showing your credentials, certificates, training, etc.
nope u can do what you please
A physical therapist needs to do the same thing as anyone else that wants to get a massage therapy license. They need to go to an accredited school and pass the state or national exam, then apply for a license in their jurisdiction.
Yes as of Jan 2011 All massage therapists must be licensed.
No, that would be outside their scope of practice.
No. Not if you charge money.
yes, but not in texus.
It depends on your local licensing laws. In most states that govern massage licensing you could have a misdemeanor and still get your massage license with no problem. It is at the felony level that it becomes and issue.
To my knowledge, universities do not have massage therapy degrees. Each state has their own standards as to what is required for a person to practice massage therapy. I'm from Arizona, so I will use it as an example. In AZ, a person must have 700 hours of experience in order to be licensed to practice massage. There are many vocational schools that comply with state standards, and after you go through one of those… Read More
How many hours of school does one need to do massage in a Chiropractic office?
You have to check with your state or municipality about massage regulations in your area. They are different in different part of the country.
Massage Therapy is licensed through the state's health department. So nearly any and all states Health Dept. website should have licensing information.
Massage therapy license are only for the state you take them in. It's best to take the national certification test so you are certified in all 50 states.
You ned to check with the local authorites in the town that you wish to open a practice. If Iowa is governed by a state board for massage therapy, then in all likelyhood, they will not accept a license from another state. You can check online and find out. But if it is not goverened by a state board, then you might be able to use another state's license as part of your requirements for… Read More
It really depends on where you want to practice since every state is different. About half the US states have massage therapy boards and most of them require 500 hours of training. After you are licenced in your city, you can practice acupressure since it is considered a sub-category of massage therapy.
Public Act 471 of 2008 was officially recognized by the Secretary of State's office on January 9, 2009. This amends the Public Health Code to provide for the licensure of massage therapists. This bill was effective on January 9, 2009.
The State of California is going through a transitionary period and is proposing to adopt Sate licensing. At the present time, it looks like therapists will have a choice to get the state license - which has lower standards than most cities and counties currently regulating massage - or they can obtain a city or county license depending on where they live.
It depends on the type and severity of the offense. If it has to do with prostitution then the answer is, yes.
Once you have your graduation certificate from a massage therapy school there is no time limit for getting your license. Most people get their license soon after they graduate. If they need to take the NCETM, NCETMB, or MBLEx, it may take a bit longer. Usually that adds another month or two, but some people get their license even a year or more later.
Currently, in most states in the US, you need only about 500 hours of training at an accredited school to get a massage therapy license. This can be achieved by going to school full time for six months.
Massage therapists are licensed in each state separately, as different states have different licensing requirements.
It depends on where you live. In ontario, your license is registered, so you become a Registered Massage Therapist. Here's a website that lists each state's requirments: http://www.massageregister.com/StateRequirements.asp
Depends. You can do basic massaging as an esthetician. But to to do massaging in a medical spa or something similar you have to be a registered massage therapist, which means going to school for the qualifications. It's not doing an apprenticeship to get your license.
Yes! This is not a reason they would deny you a license. A reason for that would be mental capacity or criminal record.
Reiki is a type of therapy treatment administered by pracitioners trained in massage therapy. As of January 2009, massage therapists in the state of Michigan were required to be licensed. "Public Act 471 of 2008 was officially recognized by the Secretary of State's office on January 9, 2009. This amends the Public Health Code to provide for the licensure of massage therapists. This bill was effective on January 9, 2009."
You pay more spa therapy then a massage.
Medical massage therapy uses advanced deep tissue massage techniques to break up scar tissue, release adhered tissues, and promote healthy tissue growth and repair. Physical therapy usually involves more range of motion testing, joint mobilization, stretches, exercises, and some massage. Both Physical therapy and Medical Massage therapy require a detailed knowledge of anatomy and physiology. Many Physical therapists do practice some form of massage and nearly all massage therapists are trained in range of motion… Read More
Alaska Idaho Kansas Minnesota Montana Oklahoma Vermont Wyoming
If you want to do massage therapy professionally you will need a license. There are different designations in different parts of the country and in different states. You may be a licensed massage therapist (LMT), a certified massage therapist (CMT), a licensed massage and bodywork therapist (LMBT), or just massage therapist.
(in the US) Almost every type of therapeutic modaility needs a license of one type or another in order to lawfully practice it.
The cost of massage therapy varies according to geographic location, experience of the massage therapist, and length of the massage.
Massage therapy is only indicated if prescribed as treatment by the physical therapist.
According to the Massage Therapy Act 1991, a massage therapist's job description is "The practice of massage therapy is the assessment of the soft tissue and joints of the body and the treatment and prevention of physical dysfunction and pain of the soft tissue and joints by manipulation to develop, maintain, rehabilitate or augment physical function, or relieve pain.
Massage therapists typically complete a post-secondary education program than can require 500 hours or more of study and experience, although standards and requirements vary greatly by state and locality. Most states regulate massage therapy and require massage therapists to have a license and/or certifications.
It depends on where you live and what your local and/or State laws say you need. In some States you can do Reflexology without having to have a massage therapy license.
Yes you can just take a massage therapy course or if you can't take a beauty therapy course for a year then go on to specialize in massage therapy!
It depends on where you live. Private practice massage therapy is usually considered a "cottage business", practiced in one's home or the home of a client. As such, it is about as legal as teaching piano from home. Some people not familiar with the industry can be creeped out by it, especially if the massage therapist is male, so it helps to be clear that the massage is in no way sexual, ever.
Bancroft School of Massage Therapy was created in 1950.