Quantcast
answersLogoWhite
notificationBell

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-07-15 20:44:01

More input from Wiki s contributors:

  • In all 50 states, vehicle owners are required to carry some form of financial responsibility, generally, this requirement is filled by an automobile insurance policy, although in some states it may be satisfied by a bond or other form of security. When you or a member of your household owns a vehicle and you obtain a learner's permit, you must be added to the insurance policy that covers that vehicle as a household operator. Not all insurance companies will charge additional premium to add you as an operator..
  • However, if you obtain a learner's permit and neither you nor any members of your household own a vehicle, you will not need to obtain separate insurance. Make sure that any non-owned vehicle that you drive in is covered by an automobile insurance policy and that you follow the restrictions of your learner's permit. As long as you are a permissive operator (meaning that you have permission from the owner to drive the vehicle), you will usually be covered by the owner's insurance policy..
  • I'm from WA state and a parent to a 17 and 20 year old and they were covered under our auto policy until them became a licensed driver. Check with your insurance company but, under no circumstance would I or my kids with out insurance!.
  • I think it varies from state to state and depends on your individual insurance company and the type of policy purchased. We are in Illinois and have State Farm insurance and I also have a 15 year old that is getting his permit next week. I spoke with my insurance agent and NO I do not need to add him until he gets a full license. Even then don't sweat it to much especially if you are with a good company because most offer big discounts for good students and provide safe driving seminars..
  • I live in Virginia where you don't need an, "Insurance Policy," at all. Instead of buying an insurance policy you are allowed to pay into a general fund, about $400 per year..
  • Whichever car you're driving should be insured, and in some cases, if it's your parents' policy then you will need to be specifically added to that policy. Once you get your license and are 18 years of age you can start looking for your own insurance policy. However, please remember that it's difficult for teenagers to get a decent auto insurance quote.
  • The State of New Hampshire does not require Insurance. If a vehicle is financed, the lending institution will require it but if you own a vehicle outright, there is no state law mandating insurance coverage. It would be foolish to not have any insurance at all. A simple liability policy is pretty cheap but there isn't a lot of coverage. If you get hurt or hurt someone, it's on you to take care of damages and medical responsibility. You don't have to have it, but you should and don't get caught without it.
  • If you are the permit holder and you are driving your parents' car, you may be covered under your parents policy depending on the coverage purchased so long as you are driving with permission of your parents. If they have a standard form policy it will generally cover you. Some companies require a permitted child be added to the policy for coverage while others do not require until you get your full license, In most states there is a service that gets the names of new licensees and cross checks it with the list of insureds at an address and will inform the insurer of the new licensee so that you can more easily be 'added' if your parents 'forget.' If your parents continue to 'forget' some insurers will automatically add you to the policy and send your parents the new much higher premium....which is why your parents would have 'forgotten' for so long.
001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2015-06-05 16:05:49

Auto Insurance with a Learners Permit Yes, all drivers in the U.S. are required to carry proof of financial responsibility when operating a motor vehicle on public roads. A Driver's or "Learner's Permit" is "Permission" to drive and therefore a temporary drivers license with certain restrictions.

When you are driving on a Learner's Permit, be sure to observe all the rules and restrictions of your permit. You can obtain your own auto insurance or you may be eligible for coverage under the vehicle owners policy such as your parents or another existing auto policy but you must have coverage.

A Driver's Permit comes with all the same responsibilities of anyone who operates a motor vehicle on public roads, including our financial responsibility.

001
๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฟ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Still Have Questions?

Related Questions

Do you need auto insurance when you have a learners permit?

Yes you do If you have a learners permit, you should always be accompanied by an adult that has a valid drivers license , And yes the car most be insured.


Do you need insurance for a learners permit in tn?

I hope not for my sake, but it's always best to check with your auto insurance provider.


Do you need insurance to get a learners permit?

No, the teeager is covered by the parent or whoever sign for them to get the permit.


Do you need to be added to your parents auto insurance policy when you have a learners permit?

Have your parents contact your insurance agent as soon as you receive your learners permit. Most companies require that you be added to policy as a driver. Most companies don't charge an extra premium for drivers with learners permits but do want them listed.


Can you drive in Georgia with an out of state learners permit?

You can drive in Georgia with an out of state learners permit. You need to be accompanied by a driver over the age of 21, and you have to have valid insurance.


Do you need insurance when your child just got her learners permit?

This varies by state law. Ask your insurance company.


Do you need insurance with a learner's permit?

Yes. All cars on the road have to be insured. If you have a learners permit, then you need to be driving with someone who does have their license and is insured.


Do drivers with learner permits need car insurance?

Auto Insurance Required for Learners PermitYes, A Drivers or Learners "Permit" is permission to drive and therefore a temporary license with certain restrictions.You can obtain your own auto insurance or you can be covered under someone else's policy such as your parents or the vehicle owners policy, but you must have coverage.A Drivers Permit comes with all the responsibilities of anyone licensed or not who operates a motor vehicle on public roads, including our financial responsibility.


Do you need insurance to get a permit in the state nc?

No you don't i just talked to my drivers' ed teacher and he said that you don't need to have insurance for just a learners permit. You only needed when you get your full licences


Do you need a learners permit to learn how to drive?

that's the purpose of a LEARNERS permit


If your child has a learners permit and does not drive your cars do they need insurance?

If they're not driving anything of yours, they don't need to be insured for your vehicles. However, if you have a child with a learner's permit, your insurance rates will likely be affected, regardless.



Does one need auto insurance to drive with a learners permit in Texas?

You will have to have insurance on the vehicle to drive in Texas any way you go about it. Texas is a state that has mandatory insurance coverage. The owner of the vehicle needs to add you as a driver and give them your license information. Most insurance companies do not charge anyone additional premium for a person with a learners permit. I assume your laws are that you can only drive with a licensed driver in the vehicle whenever you drive.



With a learners permit does the passenger you drive with need to be a direct family member?

No they need to be an 18yr licensed driver. Be sure you are on the vehicles insurance policy.too


Can you get your own car insurance at 18?

Yes, all you need is your drivers licence or permit in order to get an auto insurance.


What score do you need to pass a Georgia permit?

Permit for what? Learners permit for driving is 80%


Do your parents need to upgrade their insurance for you to drive their car with a learners permit?

It's not usually necessary to declare you as a driver with the learner's permit. That comes when you get your license and can drive indepentently.


When you are eighteen do you need a learners permit?

Everyone who does not already have a license (and never did in that state) needs a learners permit, even if you are 50


How long does a Texas learners permit last?

A Texas learners permit will last approximately one year. If the person is unable to obtain a drivers license, they will need to reapply for a new learners permit.


Does your learner driver need to be added on your car insurance?

Yes, children with a learners license should always be reported to your insurance company. Most companies will not charge an additional premium for drivers with a learners permit but they must be added as a driver.



If you are 18 do you need a learners permit to get a license?

Yes, regardless of how old you are you need your permit before you get your license.


If you relocate at 16 before you get your license but have had your permit for a year do you have to get a new learners permit and if so how long until you can get your license?

If you relocate to a different state you will have to get a new learners permit. However, if you relocate within the same state you do not need a new learners permit.


Is it legal to drive on Ohio with a Michigan learners permit?

No, you need a driver license. Learners permit doesn't make you a full licensed driver.


Still have questions?

Trending Questions
Do potatoes have genders? Asked By Wiki User
Why is Vanna White so skinny? Asked By Wiki User
How many 20 go into 200? Asked By Wiki User
What times what equals 6? Asked By Wiki User
Unanswered Questions
Does arsenio hall have ms? Asked By Wiki User