History of radio and television in Nigeria?

Television broadcasting in Nigeria started with the initiative of the first Western Region Premier, Chief Obafemi Awolowo who on October 31, 1959 launched television broadcasting at Ibadan the headquarters of the region. The western Region Government went into partnership with the Overseas Rediffusion Limited. The western Nigeria Radiovision Service Limited was created with the responsibility of radio and television broadcasting under one management. A small transmitter of 500 watts power was mounted on Mapo Hill in Ibadan and another at Abafon near Ikorodu. The television was therefore established to disseminate information and entertain viewers. The radio and TV stations in the Western Region pioneered commercial broadcasting in Nigeria to supplement government subvention. In 1962, the Western region government took full control of the WNBS/WNTV by buying over all the shares held by the Overseas Rediffusion Ltd. In the same year, the Nigeria television Service was born in Lagos with the radio corporation of America (RCA) and the national broadcasting company international limited managing the station. But the management was eventually handed over to Reverend Victor Badejo, who was then the acting Director General of the NBC. The NTS later changed its name to NBC/TV. The Federal Military Government of Nigeria under General Olusegun Obasanjo (as he then was) took over the television stations in Nigeria in 1978 and changed its name to Nigeria television authority (NTA) Today, Nigeria has thirty six states with each aspiring to set up her own television station. The federal government is also making effort to establish a branch of NTA in each state. In 1976, television stations started beaming colour programmes thus, however, opened in the history of TV broadcasting in Nigeria with the federal government take over of all television services in 1978 (Supra). All TV stations are made to beam network programmes. Many state government have however, established more television and radio stations since then. Most of the state television stations have been competing favourably with the federal government station. A new chapter was opened in the history of Nigeria broadcasting in 1992. the federal government under general Ibrahim Babangida deregulated the broadcast industry by granting license to private individuals and organizations to set up radio and television broadcasting stations. As at today, there are over thirty. There were 2 government controlled television broadcast stations in Nigeria in 1999 and 14 licenses to operate private television stations. The nation has 82 AM radio stations and 35 FM stations. There are 11 short-wave stations in Nigeria. Throughout the country there are 23.5 million radios and 6.9 million television sets. In 1992 the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) was founded to monitor and regulate broadcasting on a national basis. One goal of the organization is to open up the industry to the marketplace paradigm. Both foreign and domestic participation is sought. A total of nine mandates are itemized in the charter of the NBC. Additionally, the agency has the role of arbitrator between the industry and other areas of the government. Education is also a component of the organization's work. It is charged with ensuring the development of trained personnel through accredited curricula and programs that offer courses in mass communication and broadcasting. And the final mandate is to guarantee the liberty and protection of the broadcasting industry under the constitution. Nigeria's president appoints the Board of Commission for the NBC based on the advice of the Minister of Information. The Commission consists of a Chairman, the Director-General. Ten other members are also on the board representing law, business, culture, education, social science, broadcasting, public affairs, engineering, and state security service. Members serve on the board on a part-time basis. The Director-General, who occupies the role of chief executive, conducts day-to-day oversight. That position is assisted by the Secretary to the Commission and the Board of Management, which includes the Heads of Directorate and Departments.