answersLogoWhite

0

Conditions and Diseases
New York
New York City
New Jersey

How do you get a handicap parking permit in New York?


Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
Answered 2008-06-03 22:16:13

New York State issues a permit, which is valid for private and/or off-street parking (in parking lots, for example). The permit is issued in the name of the disabled individual, but can be used by the person driving for the disabled individual IF the named person is in the vehicle at the time.

The form must be brought in person to a DMV office, and there is a section which must be filled out by a physician or the like, to certify to the individual's disability. This CAN be waived by the DMV office if the individual is VISIBLY disabled.

Here is the link:

http://www.nysdmv.com/forms/mv6641-mv6643.pdf

New York City issues its own permit. The NYC permit is valid for on-street, city parking. The rules are precise, but a person with a NYC disability permit is legally entitled to park at places no other legal vehicle may dare go. An example is a "No Standing except Commercial Vehicles" spot. HOWEVER, the person who parks with their NYC permit, following the laws, is taking a BIG chance that the officer issuing citations that day is fully aware. IT IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED that once you have your NYC permit, you display the permit AND a printout of the regulation allowing you to park in that spot with that permit. Don't be surprised if you get tickets anyway, but they ARE instantly dismissible.

http://www.nyc.gov/html/dot/html/permits/nyc-pppd.shtml

001
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Your Answer

Loading...

Still have questions?

Related Questions

How much are parking tickets in Buffalo New York?

The average cost of a parking ticket in Buffalo, New York ranges from $35.00 to $65.00. The ticket will cost more if you commit additional infractions such as parking over the handicap access to a sidewalk.


What are the penalties for parking in a handicap vehicle space in NYC?

In New York City, parking in a handicapped vehicle space is penalized with a $180 fine. This cost also will include a $30 New York State Ciminal Justice surcarge.


What is the NY cooperative law on providing handicap parking spaces?

The New York cooperative law on providing handicap park spaces is tenants who are disabled are entitled to a parking space. According to standards, the space, location and size must be suitable for the disabled tenant. A sign with the appropriate symbol must be visible at the specific space of parking.


Is it legal to drive in South Carolina with New York state learners permit?

It is not legal to drive in South Carolina with New York learners permit. You have to say in New York with that. Learners have to stay in New York cause its a New York state learners permit.


What happens if you have a handicap sticker in New Jersey?

You are allowed to park in handicapped parking spaces.


Can you carry a concealed weapon in New York?

Yes, absolutely. But, it's only legal if you have a New York permit. As I understand it, New York state issues a permit, but New York city issues its own permit and does not recognize state issued permits.


What Horses won the NY Handicap Triple Crown?

the New York Handicap Triple or American Graded Stakes Races for thoroughbred racehorses is run by the New York Racing Association at Belmont Park in Elmont New York. these three races consist ot the Metropolitan Handicap, the Brooklyn Handicap and the Suburban Handicap. the four horses that have won the Handicap Triple Crown are Whisk Broom 2 in 1913, Tom Fool in 1953, Kelso in 1961 and Fit to Fight in 1984.


Can you start driving at age 14?

In New York you have to wait to get your permit at 16. Right now you can learn driving in open areas such as parking lots with a parent


How late can you drive with a learners permit in New York?

In the state of New York you are allowed to drive with your learners permit from 5am to 9pm


What is a NYC Parking Lot Brawl?

just a regular parking lot brawl only its in new york just a regular parking lot brawl only its in new york


Can you drive in New York with a Florida learners permit?

Yes, with restrictions. While you may operate a motor vehicle in New York State on an out-of-state learner's permit, you will be subject to the restrictions imposed on permits both by the State of New York and the state issuing the permit (in this case, Florida). Additionally, the State of New York does not allow an out-of-state permit holder to drive in New York City.


What are the public parking New York fees in New York City?

In most place in New York City you can park in public parking for as little as $1.00/hr. One exception is Manhattan, below 96th Street, where parking is $3.00/hr.


What are the release dates for The Dixie Handicap - 1924?

The Dixie Handicap - 1924 was released on: USA: 29 December 1924 (New York City, New York) Finland: 31 January 1926


How old can you be to get a permit to drive a car in NY?

In New York, you can get a permit at 16.


If you get your permit in Georgia can you use it in new york?

no


Do you need a gun permit in New York?

No


Is it legal to carry a sword cane in New York with a New York concealed weapon permit?

no


Can you get a hedgehog permit in NYC?

They are legal in the state of New York but not in New York City itself.


How can i change my Philadelphia permit to an New York State permit and how much would it be?

"Permit" ... to do what? If you're talking about a driver's license (or learner's permit), you should contact the New York DMV. I can't tell you a price because I have no idea what kind of permit you're talking about.


Can you drive in New York state with a Pennsylvania learners permit?

Contrary to common belief, there are states which do not permit an out-of-state driver to operate a vehicle in their state on a learner's permit (Pennsylvania is actually one of them). New York, however, is one which does, provided the driver meets the criteria and restrictions for permit drivers both in New York State, and the state which issued their permit. Additionally, however, out-of-state learner's permit drivers are not permitted to drive within the Five Boroughs of New York City.


Do New Jersey and New York have parking ticket reciprocity?

yes.


If your boyfriend gets a ticket in new york will your mom find out if the car is in her name?

it depends on if it is a parking or a moving violation i guess a movin violation it was a talkin on a cell and drivin with an expired permit


How old do you have to be to get a learners permit in New York?

16


Can you get a pistol permit in new york with a criminal history?

NO


Can you drive in New York with a learners permit?

Yes