Asked in

How is the Hebrew year measured according to biblical times?


User Avatar
Wiki User
May 13, 2012 6:14AM

The traditional Jewish year is solar and lunar. It contains twelve lunar months, each month beginning at or very near to the new moon. It is kept in sync with the solar year by adding an extra lunar month every two or three years. It is also divided into days (sundown to sundown) and seven-day weeks.

Every seventh year is a Shemittah (see the definition and laws in Leviticus ch.25), and the fiftieth year is a Yovel (ibid).