How long do you have after a car accident to report and file a claim with the at fault's persons insurance company with no police report?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

With any claim, you will want to report the incident ASAP. When I've had incidents, I've always done it same day. Anyhow, your specific policy will let you know how long you have. and it's usually 30 to 60 days depending on the carrier. At any rate, you will want to contact your own insurance first and they should then contact the at-fault's carrier, unless you lack insurance which is completely dumb in the first place. The reason you will want to report ASAP is because most insurance companies require that you "keep the car from further incidents and damage" until the claim is settled and/or filed. The reason for this is to prevent fraud.

I think the first paragraph is explaining how quickly you should tell your own insurer. The question, however, seems to suggest that the person at fault is another car driver and as such, in England and Wales, you have to commence a claim at court for personal injury within 3 years of the date of the accident.
Please see the link below for the process of making a claim which will include contacting the driver at fault and the motor insurers.

The standard wording in a personal auto policy offered in the US has no stated time period for the reporting of a claim. It will require that you are "reasonably prompt."

What reasonably prompt means varies by jurisdiction and circumstance so reporting to your insurance company ASAP is the safest thing to do.

Your policy will have a section that outlines your duties after an accident or loss. Failure to perform those duties can result in an automatic denial of your claim. So it is important to file promptly and to do the other things outlined in that section of your policy.
23 people found this useful

If you were involved in a car accident and a police report was filled out do you have to report it to insurance company?

No. That happens all the time. People often make a police report just in case they decide to make a claim. Later, they never contact their insurance company due to it not bein

How long after an accident if not reported to the police do you have to claim through the insurance?

Answer . \nIn Massachusetts you do not have a limit to let them know. but state law says that you should report an accident within 3 to 7 business days. depending on the a

If an at fault accident claim has been filed but no police report was made is this recorded anywhere that can be accessed by other insurance companies?

Answer . Yes, this is accessible to most Insurers thru your Auto Plus or MV Search records. Now keep in mind, dependant upon the CAUSE of the accident being considered an

If you had an accident with no other cars involved and filed a claim to insurance with no police report do you have to report this accident to the new company if you get different insurance?

Answer . If you don't the new insurance company can cancel your coverage and possibly not cover any of YOUR losses. They might also consider it to be fraud.. Any accident

How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident?

Answer . In the state of Texas, collisions not investigated by a law enforcement officer where total damage is as much as $1000.00 and/or injury is suffered by any person,
In Auto Insurance Claims

How long do you have after a car accident to report and file a claim with the at fault's persons insurance company with no police repo?

Don't understand the part of the question about the "police repo," however, contact the at-fault party's insurance company ASAP - and if you have insurance coverage, contact Y
In Insurance

Do insurance companies find out about accidents with a police report if you dont file a claim?

Yes, if a police report was filed then it is probably on your motor vehicle report. The good news is that with most insurance companies, if the insurance company did not pay a
In Insurance

Can an insurance agency find out about an accident if no claim was reported and the accident happen during a time when the person didnt have car insurance a police report was made?

Yes. If a police report was filed or not more than likely the other parties insurance carrier notified the DMV and the accident was put on your record and the amount still owe