answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

you can not leave the scene of a accident

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-25 20:32:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long do you have to file a police report for a car accident?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident in the state of Illinois?

You have 10 days to file a police report


How long do you have to file an accident report in Pennsylvania?

You need to contact your local police department. Once you have a police report, you can file your insurance claim.


How long do you have to file a police report after a car accident in Ontario?

24 hours I think


How long does it take to file a police report for a car accident for Washington state?

as long as it takes for you to write your statement


How long do you have in the state of nc to file a police report?

You can file a report without living in the State. Call the police station and tell them you need to file a report.


How long does a vessel operator involved in an accident have to file a written report if an accident report is required?

48 hours


How long does a vessel operator involved in an accident have to file a written report if an accident report is required and no one died?

90 days


How long do you have to file an auto accident report in Texas?

You have 10 days to report accidents over $1,000 in Texas if a police official doesnt' show up on the scene. The sooner the better.


How long do the police have to file case after the police report?

As long as it may take to conduct an investigation and determine a suspect.


In the state of CT how long after a car accident do you have to report it to the police?

In all states an accident in which damage occurred (and even those in which there is no noticeable damage) are supposed to be reported to the police immediately and at the scene of the accident. If there is no police report it becomes next to impossible to collect compensation from the insurance company.


How long does a vessel operator involved in an accident have to file a written report?

90 days


How long do you have to file a police report in Washington state after an accident?

Some sites say 14 days while others say 4 days so one should probably file within 48 hours just to be on the safe side report can be downloaded online.


How long do you have after a car accident to report and file a claim with the at fault person's insurance company in California?

Typically you have 30 days to file.


How long does a person have to file charges after a burglary?

Individual citizens do not, and can not, "file charges!"The most one can do is MAKE A REPORT of the offense to the police and the police will take it from there.If you have relevant knowledge or evidence to support who you suspect did it, you can inform the police at the time you make the report.


How long does a victim of a car accident have to report a claim to insurance when there is a police report?

angel pinaandbrittany chantaca09-22-11


How long do you have to file a police report after a dog attacks your dog and causes damage?

24 hours.


How long do the police have to file a case after the police report?

statute of limitations is usually 7 years, unless murder than forever.


How long does the police have to file a DUI citation if the person was in an accident and hospitalized?

How ever long they need to. You can always call and ask or send a letter.


How long does a vessel operator involved in an accident have to file a boating accident report if a person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid?

48 hoursThe vessel operator has 48 hours to file a boating accident report when an injured person requires medical attention beyond first aid.


How long do you have after a car accident to report and file a claim with the at fault person's insurance company in Washington?

You must do this right away.


How long do Texas police officers have to file a report on a wreck?

Unless the accident required further investigation, i.e. there was a traffic death or the accident occurred during the comission of a crime, the report should be turned in at the end of the day. It might still have to be approved by the officer's supervisor and go through records, so it could be about three business days before a copy of the report is available to the public.


How much time do you have to file a workers compensation report after an accident?

It varies by state, but don't delay - it's usually not a long time.


How long do I have to file an accident report in New York City?

most laws for rules of the road are similar in any state. an accident report needs to be filed as soon as possible. check with your local law enforcement for the correct filings.


How long do you have after a police report to press charges?

Once you file a police report of an offense YOU have nothing further to do in the process. Citizens and members of the public do not "press charges." Only the prosecutors office (or DA) can "press charges."


If you hit a parked car and have not told the driver or police how long do you have to report the accident without getting in legal trouble?

As soon as you leave the scene of the accident you have committed the crime of "hit & run."