answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

FOREVER. . .. . . unless expunged. The public can only access criminal records for 7 years but law enforcement will have access forever.

From the Texas Penal Code:Sec. 12.03(c) Conviction of a Class C misdemeanor does not impose any legal disability or disadvantage. and is punishable by fine only (not to exceed $500.00)

A class C misdemeanor is a very minor offense, it is the same weight as a traffic ticket, which is also a class C misdemeanor. Traffic tickets fall off after 3 years. People should not be judging anyone on a class C misdemeanor and especially after 3 years. Background checking is out of control and needs reform. Background checks were created to look for PATTERNS in people, NOT one time minor offenses. In this country when used for State licensing, etc. they consider the time of length that has passed, the seriousness of the crime and how it would relate to the function of the job-if at all. Employers need to do the same, the persons last place of employment should be their reference not some indiscretion from 10 years ago.

In many countries, even for large crimes once you have paid your debt either financially or even prison the charge goes off your record completely and the public never has access to this type of information. When it comes to hiring, the employer sends the government a form for every hire and says, "Is this person eligible to work in banking?" If the crime was safe cracking then, the government will say "No", anything not related to that is fine. The goal of criminal justice is not to punish people indefinitely and keep people from making a living! Good grief, why is our society becoming so Orwellian? George Bush had a DUI, let's not forget, and a DUI is higher than a Class C misdemeanor.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-10-03 20:00:22
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on your record in Texas?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How long does a class B misdemeanor stay on your record in the state of Texas?

forever


What is class a misdemeanor?

Misdemeanor I was convicted of a Class A misdemeanor in 2002. How long does that stay on your record?


How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on your record in Utah?

How long will a class c misdemeanor stay on my record for tobacco sell


How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on record if a minor in Texas?

It will always remain on your juvenile record, however, that will be sealed to the public when you reach the age of majority (adult) in Texas.


How long does a class 2 misdemeanor stay on your record in Nebraska?

A Class II misdemeanor stays on your record for 12 years. If convicted of another Class II within that 12 years under the same section, It will be counted as a Class I misdemeanor.


How long does a class a misdemeanor stay on your record in Illinois?

A misdemeanor will stay on your record permanently unless it is expunged. A misdemeanor will not usually hurt your credit or ability to find a job.


How long does a Class C misdemeanor stay on your record in Kentucky?

Your adult criminal history record is a permanent record.


How long will a class b misdemeanor stay on your record in Kentucky?

A misdemeanor will stay on your record unless it is expunged. You should seek assistance from an attorney to determine whether the misdemeanor may be removed.


How long does a class b misdemeanor for theft less than 500 stay on your record in Texas?

Nothing ever drops off your record, including class c traffic. The only way to have something removed is if you have a conviction expunged.


How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on a juveniles record in Texas?

It will always remain on the juvenile record, but juvenile records are customarily sealed to the general public when the juvnile reaches their 18th birthday.


How long does a misdemeanor charge stay on your record in Travis County Texas?

5 days


How long will a class c misdemeanor stay on your record in California?

As long as you live if you do not file to have it expunged/removed.


How long does a Class A Misdemeanor stay on a person's record in Texas?

A Class A misdemeanors stays on your record for 7 years. "The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) which governs background checks nationally only allows for a review of the past 7 years"


Can you own a gun in Wisconsin if you have a class A misdemeanor on your record?

Yes you can. A misdemeanor is not a factor in owning a gun. A felony will prohibit you from owning a gun, not a misdemeanor as long as it is not for domestic violence.


How long does a class A misdemeanor stay on a person's record?

Your criminal record is ALWAYS your record, unless the offense occurred prior to your 18th birthday.


How long does a class a misdemeanor stay on a person's record in the state of Arkansas?

A criminal record doesn't 'go away.' The misdemeanor will always be on the record. It is one of the reasons that criminal activities are not good things to participate in.


Can a school teacher in Texas continue to teach with a class A misdemeanor?

A teacher in Texas can continue to teach with a class A as long as the misdemeanor is not one that is related to the duties of the education profession. If a teacher is convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that is related to the duties of the education profession they can also lose their license.


How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on your record in Alabama?

Misdemeanors and felonies remain on your record. Your criminal record is a permanent record, unlike your driving record in Alabama.


How long does a Class A Misdemeanor stay on a persons record in Tennessee?

Your criminal record is ALWAYS your record, unless the offense occurred prior to your 18th birthday.


How long does a class C misdemeanor stay on a person's record in Indiana?

If you were over 18 at the time of the conviction, it stays on your record forever.


How long does a class 1 misdemeanor stay on your record in va?

If it occurred after your 18th birthday it will be a permanent part of your criminal history record.


How long does a class C misdemeanor stay on a criminal record in Utah?

It is a part of your permanent record and stays on there forever unless you have it expunged.


How long does a class c misdemeanor stay on record?

Criminal charges committed after you turn 18 (in the U.S.) stay on your record forever.


How long does a Class C Misdemeanor stay on your record in Washington?

They stay forever. Unless it was committed when you were a juvenile.


How long will a misdemeanor theft charge remain on your record in Texas?

If it occurred after you turned adult, it will remain a permanent part of your criminal history record.