Best Answer

Most Second Degree Assault charges carry a mandatory sentence of five years with a maximum of eight years in prison. That's if the defendant is charged as an adult. And even though you are considered to be a juvenile in most states, you still may be charged as an adult. But the law is not arbitrary- the circumstances of the charge weigh greatly on the final ruling. Find an attourney; they will be able to advise you on your situation.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long would you get with 2nd degree assault and im 17?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is 2nd degree sexual assult?

Sexual assault in the 2nd degree means that sexual contact happened with no penetration. This can vary depending on the state.

2nd degree assault Sexual motivation felony class c?


What crimes constitute a class D felony in NY?

Not including "class D Violent felonies", they include Attempted manslaughter in the 2nd degree, attempted vehicular manslaughter in the 2nd degree, vehicular assault in the 1st degree, reckless endangerment in the 1st degree, attempted rape in the 2nd degree, sodomy in the 2nd degree, and promoting a sexual performance by a child. I got this from the NYSED website.

What does 2nd degree sexual assault mean?

2nd Degree Assault is more serious than Simple or 3rd Degree Assault, but not as serious as Aggravated or 1st Degree Assault. This basically means that serious bodily harm had been directly or indirectly inflicted on one person by another. Serious bodily harm would probably be classified as broken bones, dislocations, lacerations/incisions, damaged ligaments, concussions, or anything else that would have a moderate to severe impact on a person's ability to live a normal life.

Can charges be dropped on someone if state fails to extradite?

what is the difference between 1st, 2nd,and 3rd degree assault

What is maximum punishment for assault 2nd degree for adult in new york?

they go to court and get jail time. or they get a fine.

How much jail time will you receive for 2nd degree assault in Alabama?

well not that i am a specialist but i am guessin 20 years why would you want to know. besides just go google it.

The child is 12 but claims to be 16 participates willingly in intercourse Is it 1st or 2nd degree assault?

The burden is on the perpetrator, NOT the victim.

An aquaintance is facing charges of Assault in the Second Degree How much should they expect to pay a defence lawyer?

My friend was charged with Assault in the 2nd Degree in New York City. The defence lawyer wants to charge a fee of $10,000.00 dollars Is this fee too high?

What is the chance on a case being dropped if the other party doesn't show up on a 2nd degree assault and battery charge?

About 90%. No victim no crime

Is second degree assalt a felony in MD?

Yes. Under Maryland law, a person is guilty of assault in the second degree if he/she is found to have caused "physical injury" to another person.Assault- 2nd Degree - maximum 10 years; Fine:-$2,500.

What is Assault - 2nd Degree?

It is important to stay updated on the laws of the state. One definition of attempted second degree assault is defined as a person who tries to kill or knowingly causes, tries to cause serious physical injury to another person under the influence of sudden passion arising out of adequate cause.