How much is sales tax for cars in California?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

Depending where the car is purchased and registered. Cities, counties have different tax bases. If you purchase a car in Tracy (8.750%) or Tahoe City (8.250%) and registered the car in Pleasanton (9.750%) or Oakland (9.750%) DMV would charge the additional monies.
5 people found this useful

Do you have to pay sales tax if you buy a used car from a non-car selling business in California?

Paying Sales Tax on a Used Car Here are opinions and answers from FAQ Farmers: * There are probably different laws in different states, but in Kansas you show the sales tax receipt when you register the vehicle. If you did not pay sales tax to the seller, the county clerk will collect it then. * N ( Full Answer )

Do you have to pay sales tax when purchasing a used car from a private party seller in California?

Sales Tax . No you do not. Sales tax is what businesses use to pay to the state. It's the "state's share" on a taxable item. A private party seller is not a business, so legally they cannot charge a sales tax. For example they cannot sell a car for $2,000 plus tax. However, you WILL have to pay a ( Full Answer )

I'm a Oregon resident buying a car in California Do I owe California sales tax?

Answer . I just called the California DMV and asked this same question. . To avoid the CA sales tax you need to either;. 1. Flat bed the vehicle out of California and then register it in Oregon . or. 2. Have the dealer deliver it to you out of the state of California. (I'm thinking of havin ( Full Answer )

How do you get a license to sale cars in California?

The first thing you should do is attend the dealer class from a DMVapproved education provider. You can get the list of the schools bygoing on DMV's website. In class you should learn everything youhave to do to become a dealer, along with learning the rules andregulations as required by CA DMV. Tha ( Full Answer )

Do you pay sales tax if you buy a car in California with a Oregon driver license?

Answer. I'm not American but I would assume that tax laws in the States are the same as in Canada where I live. It doesn't matter what state you buy your car in, if you have a license from another state, you will still have to pay whatever taxes there are in the State where you purchase your car.. ( Full Answer )

Do California Cities pay sales tax?

California cities are exempt from paying taxes themselves. However,many cities in California have a city tax that residents must payin addition to any other taxes. City tax is often added to thestate sales tax.

What sales tax do i have to pay for a car?

Probably the total price you paid for the vehicle - less the value of any trade multiplied by the tax percentage of your state: Example. $20,000 vehicle minus $5,000 trade value = $15,000 X 5% = $750.00 tax

Where do you pay car sale tax?

If you purchased the car from a dealership, the dealer collects it from you and pays it. If you purchased the car from a private owner, the county courthouse will collect it from you when you get it tagged and titled.

Car sales tax in Oklahoma?

The tax is depending on the purchase price. The sales tax for newcars is 3.25%, and for used cars, the tax is $20.00 for the first$1500.00 and 3.25% on the remainder of the sale price.

Illinois car sales tax?

The sales tax rate in Illinois depends on whether the car is purchased from a private party or a dealer. Assuming the private party transaction the tax amount depends on the year of the vehicle. All 2012 and newer models are taxed at the flat rate of $390 according to the Illinois Department of Reve ( Full Answer )

What is the sales tax of a car in Missouri?

As of January 2008, the state sales tax rate in Missouri is 4.255%. Multiply the vehicle price by the tax rate to obtain the total being charged. If the sale is from a private party that is not a business, the seller will not collect sales tax, but the buyer will pay the tax when the car is licensed ( Full Answer )

Do you have to pay sales tax to register your car in California if you bought it in Oregon?

My wife went through this today. We purchased the car in New Mexico and paid sales tax there. We are not in California and she went to register her car and was charged almost $1500.00. They claimed that this was the difference between the sales tax paid in New Mexico and what she would have paid in ( Full Answer )

How much do car dealers charge on sales tax on a used cars?

Each state and many counties have their own sales tax rate. The tax on used cars is most often at the same rate as general merchandise. That rate is easy to find out -- it is posted in most store and is available online in most counties. Several states have no sales tax. These include New Hampshir ( Full Answer )

How much sales tax will you pay on a new car purchased in California?

State is now 8% but it could be more depending on where you buy it. Different cities/counties add to the basic tax. Some places are nearly 10%. Our registration fees have now doubled too, so if you get a new car think of that. My Pruis will now run me 250.00 for a 5 year old car this is up from the ( Full Answer )

Is sales tax in California fair?

Personally i think not and is going up i can t eve buy a pair of heals with out paying $20.00 dollars of tax. its so unfair honestly were does it go to? well that's my point of view.

What is the Sales tax on cars in mass?

I have often felt that if TSA transfers egnrey and resources from leadership development' to finding/recruiting leaders' who would commit to our mission we would be far more effective. People with a leadership gift are self-led' and find ways to grow. Of course this is a very complex issue given our ( Full Answer )

Sales tax rate in California?

The sales tax rate varies by city in California. 'Sources and related links' below has a list of rates per city.

What is the California sales tax rate?

It depends on the city/county in California. Check out the 'Sources and related links' below for info on the rates there.

Do i need to pay car sales tax in California buying from a private?

Yes, but it is called as 'used tax'. "Use tax is generally imposed on the purchaser of tangible personal property that is used, consumed, or stored in this state. Sales of vehicles, vessels, and aircraft by licensed dealers are usually subject to sales tax, for which sales tax reimbursement is colle ( Full Answer )

If you buy a car in California and live in Washington where do you pay sales tax?

I asked Dept. of Licensing in WA and got this answer: If you pay 8.5 % sales tax in CA, then you owe the incremental difference in WA use tax (additional 1 % for Seattle.) CA insists on dealers collecting the CA sales tax for any car picked up in CA regardless of where the buyer is from... some de ( Full Answer )

What is the sales tax on cars in Massachusetts?

Sales tax on vehicles in MA is 6.25 percent of the purchase price. If bought from a dealer, the trade-in value of your older car can be deducted from the price. If bought from a private seller, the value would be based upon blue-book, regardless of what you two agreed was the value.

What is car sales tax in GA?

Sales tax on a car in Georgia is based on the county you live. Does not matter what county you buy it in. If you live in another state and buy the car in GA some dealers will not collect the tax for your state. However when you register the car your state will collect the taxes owed.

What is ga sale tax on a car?

A car purchased in the state of Georgia is charged the sales tax rate of the county where the purchaser lives not where the dealership is located. If you live in another state some dealers will collect the tax for that state and some will not. If the dealer does not collect the tax then the purchase ( Full Answer )

How much is the sales tax for a new car?

well you need to calculate the average of the tax amount so say the price was 35,000.59 so say the tax was 20.00 so 35,020.59 would be the price in total.

How much is sales tax on used cars in Chicago?

The City of Chicago Wheel Tax is the equivalent of the state vehicle registration tax and is due annually. There are different rates for different sizes and types of vehicles. The City of Chicago rates increased with the approval of the FY2012 City Budget, effective January 1, 2012. The annual rate ( Full Answer )

What is the current rate of California sales tax?

As of January 2013 the California sales tax is listed to be 7.50%, which is currently temporary until the end of 2016, where it will drop by 0.25%. This is the highest minimum state sales tax in the United States.

What is the sales tax in the state of California?

The sales tax in the state of California, which is part of the United States of America, is very high. The sales tax in the state of California is 7.50% but can go as high as 9%.

How much taxes do you pay if i sale a car in NC?

If it is a private sale between two individuals then you shouldn't have to report it on your income taxes at all. If you have used it in business or taken business mileage deductions then you probably will have to report the sale on your tax return. You will use the Sale of Business Assets Form and ( Full Answer )

How much is California sales tax?

The California sales tax rate is currently 6.25% . However,California adds a mandatory local rate of 1.25% that increases thetotal state sales and use tax base to 7.5%. Depending on localmunicipalities, the total tax rate can be as high at 10.0%.