Either 14 if you are working for your family, 15 legally and then you must also get a workers permit and work part time, 16 to work full time and still have to get a workers permit if you have not done so already.
The penalty for an 18 year old driving alone with just a learner's permit in the state of California would be loss of permit. The 18 year old would then have to wait another year, retake the drivers test. and basically start all over again.
I dont think so......But you may possibly get a driving permit that lets you drive to work at restricted hours if you are a teen driver. Check this link.., http://www.dmvsmart.com/california/teen-drivers.html
yeah you do It depends how old you are. In California, if you are between the ages of 15 1/2 and 17 you need to take drivers ed in order to get your permit. If you are 17 1/2 or older, you don't need to take it to get your permit.