If both Alberta and Saskatchewan became provinces of Canada on September 1 1905 why is Alberta referred to as the eighth province and Saskatchewan the ninth?

Simply put it is in Alphabetical Order.
Saskatchewan is in the Central Time Zone, whereas Alberta is in the Mountain Time Zone. Saskatchewan, therefore, being an hour ahead of Alberta, would have become a province an hour ahead of Alberta. Saskatchewan is the eighth province, not Alberta.