answersLogoWhite
Allergies
Wheat

If you are allergic to wheat are you allergic to spelled?

373839

Top Answer
User Avatar
Wiki User
2007-05-11 14:55:19
2007-05-11 14:55:19

not necessarily. spelt is easier to digest

1

Related Questions

User Avatar

* Gluten to a part of wheat so if you are allergic to wheat you are also allergic to gluten. * On the contrary. I have had allergy testing done, and I am allergic to wheat, but NOT gluten. Gluten is a protein FROM wheat/rye/barley/oats etc. I would imagine if you are like myself, you are allergic to something different in the wheat to the gluten protein. * You can be allergic or have intolerance to both. I have.

User Avatar

My son is allergic to wheat and rice and i been wodering if Rye bread was the same thing as wheat?

User Avatar

i have never been tested for spelt or wheat allergy but I do know that after eating a spelt tortilla I developed severe stuffiness. I don't usually get that with wheat only products like freshly cooked wheat pasta (organic). I think I am allergic or sensitive to spelt but not necessarily to wheat. I believe spelt isn't exactly wheat per se. So I would have to say that it's possible to test allergic to spelt but not to wheat. My nose does not lie.

User Avatar

If you are allergic/intollerant to the gluten in wheat you can drink wheat grass as it doesn't contain gluten. yes they can yes they can NO, NO, NO, they can't! Wheat grass is simply premature wheat! Whoever is allergic to wheat is allergic to whatever chemical composition wheat consists of-That composition would be the same or similar to premature wheat. Wheat is to Wheat Grass as Spinach is to Baby Spinach or as Tea is to White Tea Full Grown Plant is to Premature Plant

User Avatar

No, some people are allergic to wheat.

User Avatar

You can be allergic to the wheat, glutens or yeast in the carbohydrates, but I don't think you can be allergic to a carb.

User Avatar

No, you cannot eat wheat bread if you are allergic to wheat. You may or may not (it varies from person to person) be able to eat bread made from other grains (unless you are allergic to yeast and the bread contains yeast).

User Avatar

Well, if you are just allergic to wheat then it would be a wheat allergy. If you are allergic to gluten which does encompass wheat then you have a gluten allergy. You can also be wheat or gluten sensitive or you could have Celiac disease. Definately best to check with your doctor.

User Avatar

It can if you are allergic to glutens.

User Avatar

It depends. If you have an intolerance to oats because you have a gluten intolerance, then you will not be able to eat wheat either. If you are allergic to oats (which is different to an intolerance), you may or may not be also allergic to wheat too. Your doctor needs to do a skin prick test to determine what exactly you are allergic to.

User Avatar

Yes. Spelt is wheat. All wheat contains gluten.

User Avatar

allergic to celery? or if you mean coeliac disease, its when you're allergic to gluten, wheat, barley etc.

User Avatar

is a hexaploid species of wheat

User Avatar

Yes, you can be allergic to vodka. Different people can have different reactions to different foods and drinks. If people are allergic to wheat, vodka can cause a reaction.

User Avatar

Nothing. In fact, those with Coeliac disease are allergic to wheat and can never eat it.

User Avatar

Wheat grass is not actual grass but young wheat plants, so yes.

User Avatar

Spelt is an ancestral form of wheat, that is, modern wheat was bred from spelt. So in a way, yes, spelt is a kind of wheat.

User Avatar

This could mean that you're allergic to something inside the wheat vodka.

User Avatar

Yes, and some people are also allergic to it.

User Avatar

Take a Benadryl and call your doctor.

User Avatar

Yes, as long as you are not allergic to it. There should be no problem.

User Avatar

A person with celiacs isn't typically allergic to spelt.

User Avatar

They're both grains, used in breadmaking etc.

User Avatar

Totally depends on if you are allergic to wheat. If you have a wheat sensitivity then you would want the gluten free, as gluten comes from wheat and is a sticky protein substance comprised of proteins gliadin and glutenin. If you have no wheat allergies then you could eat true whole wheat pizza crust.


Copyright © 2020 Multiply Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved. The material on this site can not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with prior written permission of Multiply.